We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overtly priced for a decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Orchid Resort
Ranked #57 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overtly priced for a decent hotel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The price seems a bit steep for the type of accommodation... but its probably cos of the prime area that its located in.. staff seemed a bit non pleasant... at reception and restaurant... rooms are comfortable .. the pool is great.. good access to all the eateries around

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harshath79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    211
    97
    39
    36
See reviews for
105
178
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel has a great location close to the beach and restaurants. The pool area is very nice and I recommend to pay the little extra to get a pool view room as there is really no view from the other rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biermann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The major plus in this hotel is its location: 5 minutes walking to Ao Nang Beach (the nicer part, not the muddy part) and eateries, convenience stores and shops. Also, the swimming pool! I have a picky 3 yrs old kid who absolutely doesn't like sands and beach. So the swimming pool is definitely a "top destination" for us.
Breakfast is fine. You don't get a lot of choices like in big resorts, but it's adequate enough to start your day. They serve western style (bread, croissant, sausages, eggs etc) and eastern style (rice, noodles, pad thai etc).
The room is so big and I like how they have a sofa bed in each room. My daughter can sleep easily and we could avoid renting an extra bed for extra cost.
The minus: the wifi. Yes, they said you could get a free wifi in your room. However we had difficulty to connect that my husband often end up working at the lobby or at the stairs that faces the lobby.
The bathroom smells like sewer by the end of the day.
But overall, we like our stay at this hotel. With a bit improvement on its customer service and wifi, this hotel can satisfy customers even more.

Room Tip: Pool view room or bungalow style if you want a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmalph12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

3 nights stay on 2th to 5th dec room #216& #217. Found ant nest near the coffee table. No lift not able to bring heavy baggages to our room. Worst view experience facing worker's room. Breakfast buffet is yucky. Charged extra 200 baht each room for extra person even though bed was enough for 3 of us. Bad bad experience. Mosquitoes everywhere. Will nvr go back again. Yucks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet-ow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very disappointing stay. I paid extra for a 'sea view room' and was disappointed that it was in an older building away from the pool with a view of roof tops. I moved to a lower room but had a nicer view of the mountains and the pool. The airconditioner broke, there was no hot water for my entire 5 day stay despite asking 3 times for it to be fixed. The reception staff were not at all friendly, the porter staff actually evaded eye contact, the breakfast staff although polite stood around and stared at you and sniggering to each other. It was not the thai hospitality I had heard of.

I actually emailed them a couple of times and when I asked them to book a particular restaurant for my first nigh, as it was my birthday, they just said they could do it on check in - they did not ask so I am glad I contacted the restaurant directly! Staff had no desire to assist with tours, could not print my boarding pass as their guest computer was broken and would not let me show them how to open it to print it - they simply shrugged and said no. I paid more for their speed boat tour than on the street and on check out they could not care where I was going and did not ask if I needed transport, I was very glad to leave and wish I had not pre booked the room for 5 nights as I would have checked out after the first night.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you wish to be acknowledged or assisted in any way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here 10 nights. It was low season (rainy season) and so were able to get a good price. We stayed in the superior rooms (interconnecting). The rooms are a good size, beds very comfortable, very clean, but are in need of an uplift esp in the bathrooms. We had free Wifi in the room, but you have to get a new access code everyday from reception. Good thing is that you can get as many codes as you like. Since it was raining on many of the days, we were in the rooms a lot. As a result, it would have been nicer to have had a pool view room or poolside villa. The other rooms have no/bad view and therefore not as nice to just hang out in the room. The TV had very limited channels as well (cable TV does not mean much), only 3 English channels (2 news channels and one tele-evangelism channel) and not one English movie channel. TV is the older kind which you can't stick a USB into either. Thankfully we had movies which we watched on our computer, and the kids brought their Wii which they could plug in. Unfortunately the housekeeping service was not very consistent, We often did not have towels for the bathroom or pool towels, no soap or tea/coffee replaced and had to ring for it. The pool was excellent and lovely to hang around. The location is just fantastic - 2 mins walk to Ao Nang beach, boat pier and a myriad of excellent restaurants (see my reviews on all the restaurants we ate at), convenience stores (minimarts/7-11's) and shops right on the road the hotel is on. For my family, this (and the pool) was the real winner of this place. If you're planning to book day trips, there are literally hundreds of places selling tours. Shop around as the prices do vary. Tip: if you have more than 4 people in your party, book the hotel van to pick you up. It should be 600 THB. If you get a van at the airport, you'll be ripped off (they were asking 1500 THB for us (and I speak fluent Thai and could not get it cheaper). The other option is to get the airport shuttle bus at 150 THB per person, but they will even charge this for a young child. Coming back to the airport you can easily book a van for no more than 600THB.

Room Tip: If you're wanting to laze in the rooms or are going during rainy season, get a poolside villa or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

when searching for a hotel through the internet, The hotel was listed as a muslim hotel and I booked it for 1 night. As it turned out the hotel had been bought over by a non muslim since July nad it was not updated. however, the hotel is quite nice with easy access to all the shopping are and also the beach

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#34 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#28 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#37 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#20 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Orchid Resort

Property: Aonang Orchid Resort
Address: 141 Moo.2, Ao Nang beach | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aonang Orchid Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Orchid Resort, which in located on the centre of beautiful Aonang beach, It's a modern resort setting, Luxurious room only a few to the beach. Aonang Orchid Resort is equipped facilities ensure that every guests will have everything they need for the most enjoyable and confortable stay. All rooms are surrounded by pool view and cliff limestone or city view of Aonang area, ensuring total privacy for each occupant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Orchid Hotel Ao Nang
Ao Nang Orchid Hotel
Aonang Orchid Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing