We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent priced Hotel by the beach with best staff in Thailand”
Review of Pine Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Bungalow
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Perfect location and so close to it's on Beach.Staff was fabulous and proffessional for a 2 star hotel that has nothing to envy to most 4 stars hotel I have been too.
Food was also good and breakfast was precise to the point.Also the price in the restaurant was exellent.
One of those good reccomandation not to give just to everyone just in case it becomes too popular and looses it's appeal.

Room Tip: Air condition Rooms by the beach 1 or 9
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valsoldese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Pine Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at Pine Bungalow for five nights at the beginning of January, and it was a wonderful experience. Disclaimer: this is a basic beach spot. There is no luxury here. You get a simple room with a porch - hot water and AC optional. But for less than $20 a day you can get your own clean en-suite bungalow just a couple dozen yards away from a gorgeous beach. (There are very big tides here - for half of the day the beach is sandy with beautiful turquoise water, and for the other half it's low tide and there are rocks making the water unapproachable.) The hotel's kitchen is probably the highlight--some of the best food we had in Thailand. They'd catch fresh fish, for example, and let us pick out what we wanted and cook it to our specifications. Make sure to order the Mussaman curry a day in advance - it's phenomenal.

The staff are incredibly warm and helpful, and speak English very well. They made calls for us all over Thailand to help us plan our trip. They're also very knowledgeable about the area and can make great day-trip recommendations. One of us has a complex food allergy and they handled that brilliantly. A huge bonus is that the hotel has its very own longtail boat captain who will take you out to the incredible Hong islands:

http://www.thailandparadise.com/krabiislands/ko_hong.jpg

This beauty is about 45 minutes away from the hotel. There's great coral reef snorkeling, gorgeous lagoon exploring, and white-sand-beach lounging by the turquoise water. The day trip also includes a packed lunch from the hotel kitchen and visits to two other picture-perfect islands. All for 700 baht a person (2,000 minimum in case you have less than 3 people.)

Another bonus to Pine Bungalow is that it's just a 5 minute walk from Klong Muang beach, which is a real stunner and practically empty even at high season:

http://www.zooadventurer.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Krabi-Klong-Muang-Beach-007.jpg

This beach, in addition to having the scenery of the cliff islands and the long tail boats, has amazing sea shells. And it's the perfect place for a morning jog. There's a few resorts on this stretch, but the inhabitants tend to just stay at their pools and restaurants and seem to avoid the beach. You can grab cheap massages and drinks at several places along the way.

One more disclaimer: Pine is not a party destination. You'll see a lot of families, and it's definitely that sort of atmosphere. You can certainly walk into town for bars, but this is all about good food and relaxing. Ideal for a honeymoon. On NYE, for example, they cooked us an incredible meal, treated us to live music, and gave us Chinese lanterns to send off into the night sky.

Pine Bungalows will pick you up at Krabi airport for a small charge, and also arrange your transport to your next location. They had a van pick us up, for example, and take us down to the ferry for Phuket.

Many places in Thailand are overrun by mobs of tourists and questionable food. So Pine is your classic diamond in the rough. If you don't mind basic sleeping quarters, it's hard to think of a better place in Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Pine Bungalow for 3 nights. We really appreciated the great rate and the on property reliable scooter rental. (Highly recommend renting a scooter, Krabi is a great place to learn!) the restaurant was ok. Food portions were pretty small for the price and quite a few items on the menu were not available... So we ate out for all meals but a few. The beer was a very decent price in comparison to most restaurant in Krabi which was a plus. I was not impressed with the staff member who we booked to take us to the bus terminal the night before, who was 20 minutes late and almost made us miss our bus and connection to the ferry! But I would stay here again in the future.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scrufflepuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you come to Krabi to party, this is the wrong hotel. This hotel is all about relaxation. You have a private strip of beach and lots of empty hammocks. The rooms are simple without hot water. The hotel restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. Walking into the local village is 20 minutes with some good restaurants, massage parlors, money exchange ( only one and closed on Sundays), ATM's and 7-11 plus lots of fancy hotels. Hotel is clean. Staff is very friendly. They do not accept credit cards or foreign currency. You pay cash when you leave. The hotel "taxi" is a pick up truck. No televisions, but free wifi in "lobby". Would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: closest restaurant is Patala - most menu items are 50 baht
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank philgaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed six days over a New Year and had lovely time here. The bungalow was located on the beach and it was AC free which we prefered. The space was abundant although the interior showed marks of time. The beds were on the harder side but we liked them and slept like babies 10 hours a day. The pilows we did not like but were exchanged without a problem.
The food is provided in the dining area. It is delicious and priced b. 2 and 3 Eur we found the pricing reasonable for what we got. The shakes are formidable! Twice we walked along the beach to the local market in the village Khlong Muang nearby /Fridays and Mondays afternoon only/ where we bought fruit and some local sweets which our kids adored.
The beach is yellow sand w. shells. Very pleasant and lots of shade if wanted. The water is warm :), tiding is quite significant so expect that part of the day one can not swim. We did use the cannoo provided by the resort once and had extended walks along the solitary beach. The resort organises day trips to nearby islands with its own boat. We also made some trips w. Green Planet agency located in Ao Nang which were cheap and good.
A great place w. only minor flaws. The service has room for improvement, no doubt. Personnel is kind, hard working if a bit remote and cold. The sport facilities have potential but need serious renovation. Pieces of Glass on the beach are a concern even if deposited from the sea.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ales v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The room is clean, the beach is 7 seconds from your bed. It's wonderful. IF I am to nitpick... then yes, the bed a bit hard, the water pressure wasn't all that and it's a dark scary drive back from ao nang at night. But with the beach, the nice rooms, the fantastic Tanu team who would arrange everything from island hopping to visits to arranging any transportation u need... the cons are trade off I would gladly face again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Haniza_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Although the hotel is advertised as Ao Nang, it is a half an hour taxi from the main Ao Nang area. There isn't really anything there at Pine Bungalows, so it feels like you are confined to the hotel for all meals, which were fine but nothing more impressive than that. I think we would have enjoyed the stay more had the weather been better, but unfortunately it rained the entire time we were there, with little else to do. Most of the other guests sat in the dining area all day, each playing on a different phone, tablet or laptop which seemed very strange to us and produced a very strange atmosphere. The table tennis table did offer us an hour of fun at least.

We booked for 4 nights and only stayed for 1, moving on in search of more atmosphere and things to see and do. However, the beach is very beautiful and if you were in one of the bungalows overlooking the sea, I'm sure you could spend many an hour just looking out. We were perhaps unfortunate with our trip and this may be exactly what someone else is looking for, but unfortunately this hotel was not for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marielu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
4.2 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#59 of 109 in Ao Nang
272 reviews
4.8 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#48 of 109 in Ao Nang
292 reviews
3.7 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#34 of 109 in Ao Nang
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#38 of 109 in Ao Nang
326 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#49 of 109 in Ao Nang
261 reviews
4.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#31 of 109 in Ao Nang
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalow

Address: 99 Moo 2, Nongtalay | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £9 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing