We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huts Were Nicer”
Review of Krabi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Krabi Resort
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huts Were Nicer”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Sunset Bay and Sunrise Beach come together in the excellent views from this resort, which is nicely removed from the party-goers. The national park hides (where you can also sleep) are great for hearing the insects. Also, if a girl was there in around 200? and said "Do you want me to read it to you?" and I responded "It's a party, do what you want with it..." -- I totally apologize for looking like a local.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank matcheydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    434
    206
    72
    55
See reviews for
300
594
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Arriving fresh from a great Bangkok Airways flight (every passenger first class treatment), and using the convenient and cheap bus that conveys people to their hotels from the airport (catch it just outside the terminal- safe and airconditioned), I was dismayed to see resort after resort stuck in the middle of commercial Krabi beachside tourism (not Krabi town itself), with no sight of the beach at all and all looking down on busy roads. Happily, my research paid off and the one resort that claims to have its own private and easy to access beach was mine- The krabi resort. It is dated, shabby and very apparently the grandmother of resorts in the area. Yet it made for a very nice holiday place with its tropical gardens, ocean views and natural well-integrated into the landscape feel about it nestled against a cliff- one of those limestone outcrops that makes Krabi so famous. Of the three place I stayed in Thailand, this was the best but not newest or most luxurious. It had in its favour, the private beach and the ocean at your door step. It has new luxurious "villas" twice the price but worth it and from the top floor, a maginificent view of the limestone formations in the oceans and the mountains of Krabi. I was lucky to be upgraded to the luxury bungalow rather than the standard one which would have been as other reviews have said. It was spacious with a very nice bathroom (separate shower and bath) but somewhat dank and smelt of mildew and at night, the roof and ceiling came alive with wildlife. I got used to it and slept with the windows wide open to get fresh air and the sound of the sea. Breakfast was non-descript though they made an effort to vary the fare with some Thai inclusions. The pastry chef from Yangon is quite a character! He made breakfast interesting but don't know about the pastry! Get there early or the fruit selection gets ordinary.

Room Tip: Don't go for the standard bungalows, pay a little more for the luxury ones but expect to pay mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

In terms of food, cleanliness the place was good. The location is great.

But, in terms of service - we booked a garden view delux room and all we got was standard room. The reception also tried to convince us that the room they were giving us was better than what we had booked.
So finally ended up paying delux room charges for the standard room, and we are still waiting for the refund!

That seemed to be the only problem to the almost perfect holiday at krabi resort. Hope you get a better deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We initially booked this place for 3 days as a stop over before going to phi phi for 5. However the hotel in phi phi was so bad that we decided to come back here for the last few days in ao nang before heading to Bangkok. The hotel is pricey and I would not ordinarily have stayed so long but after our bad experience we deserved a treat ! The hotel is lovely and the sea front view at breakfast is beautiful. The hotel is near l the local shops and bars but set in its own expansive grounds so has plenty privacy. The pool side masseuse is fabulous and does the best foot massage ever the swimming pool is lovely too. I would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulineb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had booked this hotel in February 20th 2013 After reading the reviews and looking at their website. The reviews were pretty good and we figured the bad ones were because the guest were high maintenance. Looking back now the negative reviews were spot on. We had booked this hotel from our house online for six night and 7 days, But we only ended up staying there for four nights before transferring to another hotel. We asked the front desk if we could get our money back for the two remaining nights but they said no and they wanted us to pay a hotel transfer fee from the airport to their hotel. We were not advised that there would be a transfer charge when booking and it cost us 800 baht. The room was very shabby and felt unclean. The overall mood of the resort was very glum. Our shower head had zero water pressure, you can actually take a shower without closing the curtain. You can actually get a better clean with the spray beside the toilet. We woke up early to go to the beach because we read reviews that there were limited sun beds. After seeing the beach and how poorly kept it was, we decided against spending any time at the resort beach. The landscaping sucks the gnomes around the "spa" are an eyesore, and there is a big open area by the restaurant that is bald of grass. Basically don't book thinking its going to be pretty, the pictures on the website are misleading. This hotel would maybe be good for backpackers passing through who want a step above a hostel. Don't book thinking its going to be romantic and clean. We were glad to get out of there and our trip to Krabi was salvaged once we checked out. Flying 26 hours to get to Thailand we wanted a place to feel homey but it was honestly anything but. If you are thinking of giving this hotel a chance think again and look through the traveller photos because that is the reality.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else this place sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dannythecanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Never having been to Thailand before, my wife booked our stay without knowing much about the place.
The intention was to 'chill out' after a couple of hectic days and this place fitted the bill perfectly.
Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff, even if they did disappear for a couple of minutes to find an English speaking colleague.
Restaurant not brilliant, but I've stayed in 5 star hotels where they have been worse.
If I had to be critical, the place looks a little shabby in some areas, but it was clean and tidy and I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

What a terrible hotel!
I booked this hotel after reading good reviews on tripadvisor, it’s promoted as a 4 star but giving it 3 stars would be generous, I booked a deluxe bungalow but there was nothing deluxe about this accommodation. The room had large tinted windows which overlooked the bungalow next door; it felt like we were living behind a shop window with the neighbours looking in.
The only way to get some privacy was to keep the curtains closed all day, the room was very old and in desperate need of a refurbishment. (Check photos) the cleaning staff told us the whole block was getting demolished in April 2013, good idea!!!
There is a new block of accommodation being constructed nearby at the moment!

The bungalows are to far from hotel facilities, 4 mins walk accross a dusty car park to reception and 5-6 mins from breakfast restaurant and the beach, directly in front of the bungalows is a big lake with stagnant water which is a ideal breeding ground for the many mosquito’s that invade your room as soon as the cleaners open your door!

The reception area is the newest a best part of this resort but very hot and stuffy with no air conditioning.
The hotel pool looked nice but I didn’t use it because of the shortage of sun lounges!

The breakfast buffet was horrible with the same bland food every day! Disgusting coffee is made in large batches and kept stewing in hot water urns. Thankfully they had some cereals and toast to keep me going!

These hotels core customers are package tour tourists from Russia, you can see the large double Decker buses ferrying them to and from the airport on a regular basis.
This wouldn’t be a problem if they were nice pleasant people, but the majority are rude and arrogant which creates a bad atmosphere around the hotel, Krabi and many other parts of Thailand are being over run by Russians which is a shame for the lovely Thai people who have to endure them. The land of smiles is fast becoming the land of frowns!

The best and only good thing about this resort is it’s location, it has direct access to the lovely ao nang beach, this big plus point does not make up for it’s many other faults. The hotel has no security at the beach so we had tourists walking straight from the beach to use hotel sun loungers, this left paying guests with no sun loungers! when i reported this to hotel reception they didn't want to know and just asked me to speak to the restaurant manager near the beach.

Don’t waste your money on this dump; there are much better hotels in Ao nang.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lpool63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Resort

Property: Krabi Resort
Address: 232 Moo 2 Ao Nang Beach | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krabi Resort is located right on Ao Nang beach and is the only resort in Ao Nang that has a private beachfront area. Ao Nang beach is the most popular beach in Krabi, with its white sandy beach and interesting array of shops, bar, and restaurants. Krabi Resort is only 30 minutes away from Krabi International Aiport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing