We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a great, central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Krabi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Krabi Resort
Ranked #16 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great, central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

We stayed in Krabi Resort for 1 week in March 2010. When entering the hotel exhausted after a long flight, we were welcomed with a somewhat lazy reception. We had to wait for quite a while for a car to pick us up to our hotel building. The area is quite big so they operate guests with a car to the rooms. After this start the service got better for the rest of the week.

We had our room in the newest 4 story building furthest away from the beach. The room was clean and nice with a balcony and a view towards the hills. The air-conditioning was positioned away from the beds, so during the night it was nice. The beds were in normal thai-style quite hard, so that reduces the sleep quality points. I just don´t understand why they don´t understand, that many of us travelers would simply favor a more comfortable bed. But you can´t have it all maybe. The room cleaning was always done well.

The walk to the beach / breakfast restaurant was around 400 meters. The breakfast was a quite standard thai breakfast buffet with a chance to sit either indoors or out at the bank of the beach. The service for eggs or pancakes or for filling the coffee cups was a little varied. Sometimes really charming and friendly, sometimes not. Also the food variety was maybe a little limited, so towards the end of our stay we had the breakfast elsewhere.

We did not have lunch / dinner at the hotel. There were numerous food stands for lunch just outside hotel gate and they served a great, cheap local dishes. There was also a local food market for dinner on the opposite side of the road with great food.

The massage services inside hotel area was not too attracting. There was good alternative massage stall at the very end of Ao Nang beach beside the hotel.

Krabi Resort is the only Hotel in Ao Nang that has a somewhat private beach. The beach was relaxed and not crowded at all, which was nice. But Ao Nang beach is a bit dirty and you have to be careful when walking in water. Luckily there are gorgeous beaches a short boat trip away.

The Hotel has a perfect location at the end of Ao Nang beach. Most of the restaurants / bars etc. were on that end of the beach / Ao Nang. All the walking distances to Ao Nang were relatively short. Boats to railey beach and the islands leave 200 meters from the Hotel.

As a resort the hotel is good, but when considering the great location and what Ao Nang has to offer, it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jar670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    427
    204
    72
    54
See reviews for
295
589
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Stayed here 3 nights, am writing this during check out.
Enjoyed the stay, on arrival we were given complimentary upgrade to one of the grand room luxury villas. The villa was quite nice and spacious though it was a bit of a distant walk from the main exits to ao nang. I wish we stayed with our standard rooms and got a room closer to the streets.
The resort is quite big so getting around can be tiresome. Buffet breakfast was satisfactory and having stayed at the Banthai & Patong beach hotel in Patong,Phuket i would have to say Krabi resort breakfast would have to be the least favorable.
They do have a "private beach area" but this is more to do with the fact the resort is situated right at the end of the beach so they get the end patch. Sand is rough and full of shells so its ok...but the view during sunset and sunrise is MAGNIFICENT!

overall enjoyed the stay, appreciate the upgrade but the Grand villa's are too far situated out the back for our liking, good for peace and quiet but a pain to walk to and from.

would i stay here again? No because i would prefer somewhere more smack bang in the middle of Ao nang. Oh and they do have an on site sewerage plant (though i doubt they will admit to it) the stench is very yucky.

Stay here if you want some peace and quiet. Staff were good except some of the Breakfast staff. They were a little slow on the service and just boring and unlively.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_and_liz_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Supposed to have its own beach but was merely coarse sand pied on top of sea walls.Beach chairs were few and thin,old mattresses but when we had asked for more a few times more were produced. Eating was painfull as service seemed to be provided by a bunch of school kids on a weeks work experience.At breakfast the "egg "man was often nowhere to be seen and always waiting. Service was a laugh.
Good job the outlook and situation on Ao Nang beach made up for iy.
THe beach itself though was terrible all the way along with dark grey mud from the boat pollution at low tide.
Good base for exploring Phi Phi and many other islands.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed at the Krabi Resort for our honeymoon for eight days. We booked a luxury villa which was decent priced in the low season, about 100 US dollars. However, we should have spent a bit more and booked a better hotel.... The check-in process was quite quick and the golf buggy drove us to our "luxury villa" located in the hillside. The problems started here... There was no light outside due to the system (you had to put the card attached to the key in the slot on the inside of the door to switch the AC and lights on). Hence, it was really hot inside the room and still we couldnt see anything when walking up the stairs.

The room was a good size, but the bed could easily have been better. The bathroom was also big with a big bathtub, big enough for two people. There was also a balcony with two plastic chairs and a table, they should be cleaned more often as they had a grey layer of filth covering them. The cleaning of rooms was nothing more than ok, they didnt always clean the bathtub every day so some days we could find sand grains from the day before. Bed linens and towels were worn out with holes, something we pointed out to the management during our stay.

The breakfast buffet can only be described by one word: Disgusting. We had paid for it, but opted to eat in cafes outside of the hotel after they served some kind of liver stew without putting a sign telling what it was. The bread was dry and the fruit was covered in flies.

Two positive things with the hotel was that it was really quiet and the location. Just outside of the hotel there was a line of small food stands which sold typical thai food like pad thai noodles, papaya salad and pancakes. The banana pancake with chocolate was amazing :) It takes 3 minutes to walk to the "centre" of Ao Nang which is nice, lots of restaurants and shopping opportunities.

The beach is not really private, it's not closed off, but has a few sun beds. Be aware of jelly fish though... I got stung by one, but got great service in the reception as they called the kitchen and got vinegar and used some local plants that they put on it :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I have stayed at this establishment previously but always enjoy coming back back.
The sea front bungalows are my personal favourites with the sound of the waves on the beach it is all thoroughly therapeutic. The resort itself is rather dated compared to anything built in the last 5 years but the place maintains a certain dignity earned through age and still looks good. The grounds are meticulously manicured, the rooms a bit dated though perfectly functional and the views out the front absolutely to die for.
The breakfast set-up is varied and changes daily. Plenty of selection of both Thai and European fare with really good omelettes cooked to order.
Still one of my favourite resorts in Thailand, looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthseaRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

This hotel is very good in service, staff is nice. But the property look very old and not cleaness some area. The location is great because it is very close to the beach. Air condition is not working well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Krabi resort is one of the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed at. Upon check-in, my friend and I were given a complimentary room upgrade. This was a great gesture to welcome our stay at the resort. Not to forget is the tasty welcome drink. The staff is very friendly, and they gave us directions to places we wanted to visit.

The room was very clean. The toiletries were very well stocked. The bathroom had a huge bath tub to laze around. They had a balcony to laze around as well. The room had a television which aired paid channels (and wasn't billed to us). The beddings were great, and we had a peaceful sleep that night.

Next morning, we headed for breakfast, and they had a selection of delicacies in their breakfast buffet. After breakfast, we decided to laze in the private beach. The view of the beach from the hotel is beautiful. Krabi resort, is the only resort in all of Krabi which has direct access to a beach. We had a wonderful time at the beach. The resort has a small swimming pool as well. Before I forget, the location of the resort is great. It is in the center of Ao-Nang, and around the resort you have all kinds of convenience stores, restaurants, shops, ATMs etc. The hotel has complimentary wi-fi in the lobby area. The wi-fi usage within the room is charged.

We got this room for S$80. I think it is a great deal. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yofobubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Resort

Property: Krabi Resort
Address: 232 Moo 2 Ao Nang Beach | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krabi Resort is located right on Ao Nang beach and is the only resort in Ao Nang that has a private beachfront area. Ao Nang beach is the most popular beach in Krabi, with its white sandy beach and interesting array of shops, bar, and restaurants. Krabi Resort is only 30 minutes away from Krabi International Aiport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing