We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Small, Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Small, Krabi
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

2nd time staying here. Came here 3 years ago and came back again on 6 may 13. And still find the place clean and comfy like the 1st time it opened. Room aminities was complete and room is spacious. A good 5 mins walk down to ao nang shops. View wise is nothing special. 2 food vendors on bikes are always just outside the hotel for you to have some good and cheap thai street foods. Clean, cozy and spacious room..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidahafeiziSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    206
    64
    14
    11
See reviews for
57
235
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had a room with direct pool access - this was just awesome. Nice and comfortable furniture in the room, bathroom was very big with a very nice shower. Totally clean. The hotel is located a little bit outside of Krabi Town (5 minutes to walk). Very high recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lainerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Krabi itself was gorgeous and we had a spectacular stay, the Small Hotel was super central and close enough to the beach strip for a nice walk. The on the ground floor was great because the water was nice and cool (The rooftop pool cooks, very pretty but super hot!!) and we needed to cool off after a long day of snorkeling in the sun. Stunning spot :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor which was lovely, but the pool suites looked very pretty as well. (For gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celest L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

This is very good hotel. It situated on the AoNang road. Going by it, you'll be on Ao Nang in 10 minutes. We are living on the second flor under the pool. And here is very quietly. Hotel is very beautiful. View from the pool on the roof is really great! Espesially when the sun is going down! In rooms: TV, dvd player, hairdryer, refrigerator, conditioner of course, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner for hair, beach bag with mat and beach towels (that especially comfprtably because of there are no sunbeds on beaches). Here is laundry, but we use laundry on Ao Nang road. It cost 35 bat for 1 kg.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Perm_RussiaKseniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We wanted to stay in a place in Southern Thailand that was in the center of things. The Small fit that bill. It seemed like many of the resorts we looked at online in Southern Thailand are miles from the nearest town and are very isolated. We wanted a place where we could basecamp for our snorkeling adventures and be able to walk around afterwards and shop and sight see. We were not disappointed. The Small is a couple minute walk from the boardwalk that runs all along the coast in Ao Nang. The sunsets were amazing. The hotel was really comfortable. The breakfast was nice. The room was awesome. Spacious and clean. We loved it. We were on the second floor and looked over the rooms that fronted directly to the swimming pool. They lend you a little hand basket with extra towels which came in handy for our snorkeling. Overall, we stayed here three nights and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodySueF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed in the pool access room which was very spacious and clean. The pool just sits right outside the room and there is a mini jacuzzi for 2 which can only be switched on from your room. Bed felt hard on the first touch, was a little worried being someone who cannot sleep on hard beds. Surprisingly, I slept well for all 3 nights.

Hotel provides basic hotel amenities, however, they didn't provide razors. There is also a beach bag with 2 beach towels and a beach mat which is very useful if you are going out on island trips. Beach towels can be replaced, just inform housekeeping. Slippers and umbrellas are also provided.

Breakfast is normal, not fantastic I would say. Did not like the pastries and bread but everything else was fine. Omelette/fried eggs can be found at the back which are cooked and served on request.

Location of the hotel is great. Turning out from the hotel on the right, it takes about 5 mins to walk to Nopparat Thara beach. Around the area, you can find restaurants and also street food. Turn left from the hotel, you'll head towards Ao Nang beach. There are many restaurants and shops along the way where you can buy clothes, bags, etc. Tuk-tuks can be conveniently found parked just outside the hotel. Down the alley behind the hotel, you will also find some convenient stores if you need to grab some food.

Staff do not speak much English but they will still try to help and always have a smile on their faces. I would recommend to download a thai speaking app if you're gonna ask alot of questions. Wi-fi worked well, probably because we were on the first floor.

Downsides: The mosquito netted screen door was closed but the balcony door was left opened when we first entered the room. Found some mosquitoes buzzing around. Do remember to always close the balcony door and to be on the safe side, bring mosquito coils like us. Did not get bitten at all in the room.

Drainage of water in shower is slow. Had a minor flood in the bathroom on a day when I showered for too long. The water in the swimming pool outside the room is quite cold. We also couldn't figure out how to lock our balcony door from the outside.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as the downsides are quite minor. Would stay again if given a chance!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

If you are looking for a beach hotel this is not it, in fact it is on the side of the main road from Krabi to Ao Nang and only 10 mins walking to Ao Nang centre/beach.
Rooms are well equipped, mini bar and also big bottles of good quality shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, no need to buy them which is handy, flat tv with HBO and other main EU channels. Beds are rock hard, takes some getting used to but once you do very comfy.
Room we had was ground floor facing downstairs pool, while pleasant, there is never much sun and people walking to get to pool can see directly inside your room, water is quite cold.Air con works well although a little noisy and free wifi is on-off.
Pool on 3rd floor is much nicer although there are few lounge chairs and you can order drinks by calling reception. Breakfast is ok, nothing to be too excited about, lacks variety, omelettes are good tho; it would be nicer to have breakfast in a quieter room, not facing the main road with traffic noise and fumes.
Staff speaks little English but they are kind and make up for this if you are patient.
This hotel is good to spend a few days but lacks a bit charm. Spa was closed when we were there, you can book tours and transfers too but shopping around gets you better value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ieily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#14 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.2 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#11 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small, Krabi

Property: The Small, Krabi
Address: 167 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Small, Krabi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asian Chic Hotel, Located on beach front road, a few steps to Noppharatthara beaches and 300 meters to Ao nang, the small hotel enveloped by the warm atmosphere of its Asian Chic architecture with a smooth blending of rustic simplicity of the furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Small, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
The Small, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing