We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things come in Small packages :-)”
Review of The Small, Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Small, Krabi
Ranked #24 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good things come in Small packages :-)”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Me and my group of girlfriends were quite skeptical of this hotel - it wasn't our first choice and settled for it only because our travel agent said it was the only one available at that point in time. We were just praying it wasn't some tiny and cramped little thing, as the title suggests.

We weren't disappointed. We got the standard-sized studio rooms and they were super spacious. Located on the second floor, it came with a little balcony furnished with a table and two chairs, together with a gorgeous view of the pool on the ground floor. The bathroom was large as well - came equipped with a rain shower and normal shower head. The only downside to the room was that the lock on our bathroom door didn't work ; it could still shut, it just didn't lock. However, this didn't prove to be a major hassle.

As read from the previous reviews, the rooms come with this really handy rattan beach bag equipped with two towels and a beach mat! An essential if you were to go lounge around the beach or head for the island-hopping tours! There was also a hair-dryer, safe box, laundry basket and mini-fridge. The beds may seem a little hard but none of us had any trouble falling asleep. The staff control the air-conditioning, which was a little weird.

House-keeping was really effective. They came to clean and change our towels every day.

The breakfast spread was modest. Nothing really stood out or was particularly memorable but good enough to keep us full and energized for the day :-)

I must say the location of this hotel is A+. It's located right at the mouth of everything in Ao Nang. On the first afternoon we headed right from our hotel and walked down Nopparat-Thara Beach ; there was honestly nothing much there. So we headed back and walked down towards Ao Nang beach(left from the hotel) and were greeted with rows and rows of little shops, restaurants and bars.

If you walk a little further down, there are almost 30 massage and manicure huts located right beside Ao Nang beach. All offering massages for about 200-300 Baht. Crazy good
massages for an hour!

Overall, it was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and I'd definitely hit this hotel again for a good time of rest and relaxation :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shalinisarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    213
    67
    15
    12
See reviews for
59
244
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

If you're staying in Au Nang, The Small is a chic, budget friendly hotel, with a great location. It's minutes away from the main tourist shops (nothing special) and Seafood Row (the stretch of sea view restaurants which are pretty good). It's also around the corner from the pier to all the island excursions, and a mini mart for random essentials. The boat pier has an excellent outdoor seafood restaurant called Wang Sai, which is much cheaper than Restaurant Row.There's a strip of shops behind the hotel, including a gem of a boutique called Joy. If you like high quaity Thai decoratives, jewelry, antiques, and gifts, this is the place.

Request a room with direct pool access which means a ground floor room that has a plunge pool. Rooms are Thai chic, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is basic but fresh. The rooftop pool has gorgeous views and a great alternative to the beach. Staff is lovely but do not speak English very well. The nearby Hilltop restaurant offers amazing views, but mediocre, overpriced fare. On the other hand, the nearby cluster of street food vendors that appears daily is AMAZING. We'd hit them every day after the beach for fresh grilled catfish with a side of addictive chili sauce, excellent fried chicken and the best made to order papaya salad. Oh, and nutella rotees. Seriously worth it.

Room Tip: Request a room with direct pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had rooms with direct pool access and it was great to be able to jump in after a day out in the sun. Room is clean and bathroom is big. Had a problem with the shower (no hot water) and they fixed it promptly once I brought the issue to their attention. Great value for the price paid!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

2nd time staying here. Came here 3 years ago and came back again on 6 may 13. And still find the place clean and comfy like the 1st time it opened. Room aminities was complete and room is spacious. A good 5 mins walk down to ao nang shops. View wise is nothing special. 2 food vendors on bikes are always just outside the hotel for you to have some good and cheap thai street foods. Clean, cozy and spacious room..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidahafeiziSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had a room with direct pool access - this was just awesome. Nice and comfortable furniture in the room, bathroom was very big with a very nice shower. Totally clean. The hotel is located a little bit outside of Krabi Town (5 minutes to walk). Very high recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lainerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Krabi itself was gorgeous and we had a spectacular stay, the Small Hotel was super central and close enough to the beach strip for a nice walk. The on the ground floor was great because the water was nice and cool (The rooftop pool cooks, very pretty but super hot!!) and we needed to cool off after a long day of snorkeling in the sun. Stunning spot :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor which was lovely, but the pool suites looked very pretty as well. (For gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celest L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

This is very good hotel. It situated on the AoNang road. Going by it, you'll be on Ao Nang in 10 minutes. We are living on the second flor under the pool. And here is very quietly. Hotel is very beautiful. View from the pool on the roof is really great! Espesially when the sun is going down! In rooms: TV, dvd player, hairdryer, refrigerator, conditioner of course, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner for hair, beach bag with mat and beach towels (that especially comfprtably because of there are no sunbeds on beaches). Here is laundry, but we use laundry on Ao Nang road. It cost 35 bat for 1 kg.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Perm_RussiaKseniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#16 of 108 in Ao Nang
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#11 of 108 in Ao Nang
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#21 of 108 in Ao Nang
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small, Krabi

Property: The Small, Krabi
Address: 167 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Small, Krabi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asian Chic Hotel, Located on beach front road, a few steps to Noppharatthara beaches and 300 meters to Ao nang, the small hotel enveloped by the warm atmosphere of its Asian Chic architecture with a smooth blending of rustic simplicity of the furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Small, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
The Small, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing