We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary hotel-scary experience”
Review of The Small, Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Small, Krabi
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Good location near Ao Nang and Nopharatthara beaches. Clean breakfast area with decent spread. Clean rooms - minimal décor - hard bed - very good room rate.
Booked/paid for a king size bed and was given twin beds at check in, insisted and was moved to a room with a king size bed after some reluctance, by the staff on duty.
Our room was 2 doors away from the ground level reception desk.Had a scary experience on our first night-someone was trying to force open our door at around 4a.m., started rattling and shaking the door, they couldn't get it to open, I could hear voices in the corridor, all speaking Thai, called reception --no response, didn't open the door as we were unsure what was happening, finally at around 4.15am the reception phone was answered, asked why they were trying to open our door, the girl asked if we were in the room and hung up, within a few seconds they started rattling and shaking the door again and this went on till 4.30a.m.
We didn't want to open to door because we didn't feel safe, one of the voices sounded very drunk or possibly high on dope.
Finally at 4.30a.m. this stopped--couldn't sleep through the rest of the night and felt very unsafe.
Went up to the reception all bleary eyed in the morning, the girl said that the hotel had moved us to a different room but the night reception staff were not aware of this and a guest was trying to enter our room. She didn't seem too concerned and was very casual about the whole thing. No explanation from her about why the guest/hotel staff were trying to force open our door from 4a.m through 4.30 a.m. even after we called reception and confirmed that we were inside the room.
Asked to speak with the Manager, very nice lady, she regretted the incident and proffered an apology.
I hope this doesn't happen again to another of their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Daytripper1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Daytripper1on1

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at The Small Krabi. I have to say that I am sorry that we let you down. Your detailed information can only help us improve. Your first night experience is something that we have to make immediate improvement regards to the skills of our staffs about safety and security for our guest. I and the rest of management team apologize for this incident on that night.

Thank you for your candour and hope that you still managed to enjoy your stay in Thailand

Warm regards,
Petcharat B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I checked in about 11 am and went out for lunch and walked around in Ao Nang beach with mom. We went back after 2 pm, they gave us key card to the room but we found that the room was not cleaned yet. There were other guests waiting for their room too. My mom was tired and needed shower. That made me not really impressed.
We checked out on the next day and left the luggage with them as we went on 1 day trip. They asked if we want to take shower when we come back to get our luggage. I felt better about their service.
The room and shower room were the same as I saw the pictures. That was good. I like their shower room. I chose here because of it. And my mom liked their mattress.
Our room was on 3rd floor but because the hotel is located on the corner of the street, we could hear noise of big trucks at night.
The roof top pool was opened from 8 am to 8 pm. Opening time was too late for me. I like to swim in the morning. It would be good if they opened it at 6 am. The pool on the ground floor was closed that day. I did not know if they opened it at the same time though.
The breakfast buffet was average. It was not much variety but enough. But I like their pineapple juice. They served it as welcome drink also.
The hotel is located near Noppharat Thara beach and Ao Nang beach but we had to walk about 10 minutes to get the beach. It was not a problem though.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank may_vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear may_vs

We are sorry that we could not live up to your expectations during check in processes at the Small Krabi and thank you for your feedback, your detailed information can help us improve. The Small Krabi is located by the main road which is convenience to access to the entertainment place, beach and the shops surrounded but might have some noise from the traffic for some time.

We are all very pleased that you like our pineapple juice provided and the refreshment room after you’re checking out.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Petcharat B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This modern intl styled hotel is a delight. Why wouldn't you stay here? Apart from the amazing price for what you get, (unbelievable really when u compare this to the UK and Europe), the location is ideal it took us just 2mins to walk to the beach (Ao Nang). The hotel has two swimming pools, with one on the roof top so u get plenty of sunshine and great views. The room was good. All the mod-cons including cable TV, WiFi, safe, minibar and of course your own en suite bathroom. Friendly staff and pool access from our balcony (we had a ground floor room) were a bonus and the decoration and colour scheme was bright and comfortable. Overall I give this place good marks. Talking to a few couples over breakfast it sure was a hit for honeymooners.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Bkkblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Bkkblueeyes

It’s great to read that you had a delight stay with the hotel style and reasonable price offered at The Small Krabi. Our resort is furnished with Asian chic style with comfortable room amenities provided for most convenience of our valued guests and we are so happy that you really liked it. Thank you for your comments about the Pool room quality and the friendly staff.

Again, we thank you for your review and hope that you will come back again on your next trip to Thailand.

Warm regards,

Petcharat B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is located near Ao Nang and Noppharatthara beaches. It has 2 pools - on the ground level and at the roof top. It is the sister hotel of Krabi La Playa Resort across the street. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. Umbrellas, beach towel and rattan mats in a beach tote were provided to hotel guests (on loan). We were particularly impressed by the staff courteousness and helpfulness which made our stay and trip very enjoyable. Not a large spread of breakfast dishes but good. Hotel guests can access the pool and gym facilities at its sister hotel as well. Stalls selling local food like pad thai, banana nutella pancake and tom yum available near the hotel. 24hours convenience store and vending machines also nearby. You will not go hungry. For those who like to have a drink or two, an assortment of bars are located along the beach. Bargain/souvenirs hunters can shop and haggle at the stalls selling various trinkets, bags and t-shirts along the beach as well.

Room Tip: Pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank surfreak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear surfeak5

Thank you for your kind comment and so glad to know that our staffs could make you impress of their courteousness and helpfulness which made you an enjoyable stay, I will share it with the rest of team. Our resort is located next to Nopparat Thara Beach which is 5 minutes’ walk that is so convenience for getting to entertain area such as Ao Nang downtown or even the nice beach as the Nopparat Thara Beach.

It’s great that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Krabi.

Warm regards,
Petcharat B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 3 nights here and were very lucky to be upgraded to a pool access room. This was our first time and we really enjoyed having our own Jacuzzi seats, you can swim any time you like. The room was very modern and spacious with a little seating area next to the pool. Breakfast was much the same as all Thai hotels and hit the spot. The staff were very welcoming and sweet.

Room Tip: ask to be away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaputtachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Anaputtachai
It’s great that you had a good time while staying with us at The Small Krabi and congratulation that you were upgraded to our lovely Pool Access room with Jacuzzi. Thank you again with the kind words regards to our staffs service which we intend to keep it up forever and I will not forget to share it up with my team.

Thank you again for your next visit in your next vacation time

Warm regards,
Petcharat B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

happy to stay in the small for our 4days 3 night tour in krabi. every thing is good here. my room internet is fast , but my son room the internet is slow. breakfast is good, but there are some flies on the table. The air con is cold & the bed is comfortable . thanks the small for preparing beach basket which have towel & mat . if has tuk tuk service to ao nang beach will better. cleanest is ok only, i drop a small piece of biscuit under the table, after house keeping, the biscuit still there.

Room Tip: ground floor room exit to the pool. but have mosquito at low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sblai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear sblai

Thank you for your review for The Small Hotel Krabi. We are glad to heard that you had a pleasant stay with us especially the wifi signal and room provided.

Sorry to know that the housekeeping did made you feel comfortable as left behind the pieces of biscuit after her cleaning processes that I will pass to the responsible person to focus on it.

Thank you for suggestion and we do hope to welcome you back again in your next visit.

War regards,

Petcharat B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location and easy access to two different beach, night street and great food. Hotel room is clean, with modern design. We only spend about RM 400 for 3 nights stay, booked through airasiago package, relative cheap and yet enjoy great hotel with basic facilities. Breakfast is provided for everynight stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yee Sien Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Yee Sien

Thank you for your kind feed back and great to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is stylish one with 2 pools for your relaxation.The most privacy one is at the rooftop of the building which you may enjoy sunset moment there.

Once again we do hope and looking forwards to your next stay in Krabi.

Warm regards,
Petcharat B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#21 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#13 of 111 in Ao Nang
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#23 of 111 in Ao Nang
332 reviews
0 mi away
Ananta Burin Resort
Ananta Burin Resort
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
BlueSotel Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small, Krabi

Address: 167 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Small, Krabi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asian Chic Hotel, Located on beach front road, a few steps to Noppharatthara beaches and 300 meters to Ao nang, the small hotel enveloped by the warm atmosphere of its Asian Chic architecture with a smooth blending of rustic simplicity of the furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Small, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
The Small, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing