We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
293 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here for five nights in feb 2012. Clean rooms and quiet location. Friendly staff. Beautiful surroundings with direct view to the cliffs, nice pool area. Breakfast is satisfactory and the other food we had by the pool or in room also good and tasty. Easy access to city life or beach by the hourly shuttle bus.
But note: some of the Villas are shared and two of them more roadside than hill/pool side. I would go for villa #121 #122 which have the best location and are single villas . If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable place in Ao Nang, I would not hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebbDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear our beloved guest:

We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. That is what we want to hear from our beloved guests and it does make all of us relief from any exhaustion from working. We are also very appreciated for your recommending us to others.

However, please let us clarify some villas that you mentioned. The villas that you stated of sharing, it is not really sharing but are called adjoining room, called Gloriyo Hillside and Poolside Villas. That is almost 57 SQ.M. include balcony, more than big enough to accommodate with two people. For poolside, the villas face to pool but they are not pool villa, for hillside, they face to mountain. We have only 25 villas; some got the best view, some might put on the villas with fair view. It is a bit hard to allocate all into the villas of the best view. For the single villa you stated is Majestic Suite Poolside Villas, a unit of 72 SQ.M. include balcony. More expensive and face with more exotic view than the previous mentioned two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    339
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
181
579
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I couldn't agree more with the many positive comments on this resort hotel. It is lovely and the rooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable. I have 2 complaints. First the rooms need better lighting in general, but specifically, its so dim in the evening and night its almost impossible to read in the room.
Second, there seems to be a huge number of babies under 1 year old here with their parents. If u are unfortunate enough to be in a bungalow with one next to you you may have to listen to the crying. We had a baby on either side one night and it was like stereo baby crying.
Pool and grounds are beautiful. Breakfast is buffet with an egg station and okay. We ate the first night in the dining room and found the food to be not so great.
If you stay here request a room that doesn't have a unit next to it, at least that way you won't be subjected to crying on both sides.

Room Tip: if you choose a hillside make sure your room fronts the gorgeous cliffs behind the hotel. Some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear our valuable guest:

Thank you for your positive comments. For other complaints, let us clarify each.

1. The rooms need better lighting
Thank you for your comments. We are in our plan to fix it soon.

2. Huge number of babies under 1 year old in here.
Aonang Phu Petra Resort is claimed to be on high ranking of family friendliness and the best honeymoon resort. There are sometimes that our guests are parents come with little baby. We normally put parents who come with their babies in adjoining rooms. There are some chances that our villas are full and it is pretty hard to choose which villas our guests prefer. Please note that we try so hard to put our guests in the best available room at that time.

3. Found the food to be not so great
We apologize for this. There are sometimes that our guests comment about the taste of our food. However, some of our guests fall in love with many Thai and European dishes at our restaurant and they had them everyday, all day all night.

We will not only keep it up to our standard in both taste and quality but we will also maintain its quality consistency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My boyfriend (29) and I (22) stayed here for 4 nights and didn't want to leave! The hotel was beautiful and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was TO DIE FOR! The best bathroom I have EVER seen in a hotel! The breakfast was lovely and their bananas fritters were delicious! They had movies for rent (free) so it was nice to be able to watch a film after coming back in the evening. They had a free tuk tuk service every hour into the town which was ideal and only 5/10 mins away. They had some lovely places to get gifts from too. The pool area was lovely and quiet too and the view of the cliffs was amazing. We done some excursions here which included seeing 5 islands and also the James Bond Island. Both were full days each and we had a lovely time. All in all, our stay here was wonderful and we will definitely recommend to others and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pav_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Me, my wife and our 2 year old daughter stayed at the Ao Nang Phu Petra for 6 nights in December 2011.

6 months earlier, upon searching around for a nice hotel to spend our honeymoon we came across the Ao Nang Phu Phu Petra. The reviews were very positive so we decided to get in touch with Nat and book. This was the start of our fantastic customer experience, every email we sent to him was replied to in 15 minutes.

During our transfer from Krabi Airport we were slightly worried that the hotel might be really nice but not in the best of areas (how wrong could we possibly be ?).

From the moment we checked in it was pretty obvious that we'd found somewhere truly special. When we walked out from the reception the cliffs were right in front of us, We couldn't believe how amazing the setting was. The photos just don't do it justice.

Justin opened the door to our room and it was another gasp in amazement. He then preceded to give us a guided tour of the room. We thought why don't all hotels do this ? We'd stayed at a 5 star hotel previously and they didn't provide as much attention to detail as the phu petra. The room was lovely, clean, cool and decorated in flowers.

The staff at the restaurant were excellent with my 2 year old daughter. They were all so friendly. If we had one slight and we mean a slight negative. It would be the way breakfast was served. we think the buffet should be served inside. At the moment its served outside so if you don't get down there early doors items like the fruit can have flies on it. On a positive note it was a refreshing change to find a hotel that didn't want to rip you off at the first opportunity. The mini bar was really reasonable and the restaurant food was nice and competitively priced.

The location is a little out of ao nang town but to be honest we couldn't be happier that it was. Ao nang town itself is not the greatest of places its pretty touristy and not the cleanest. Whilst walking around I noticed some other hotels that we'd looked at. They were right in the thick of it and some wanted more money than the phu petra. This cemented out opinions about the phu petra. At the resort We were pretty sure there are more staff than guests at the hotel. The place is pristine, the gardeners are out every day.

To summarise about our experience it was so good we are looking to go back for our years anniversary. If your in Ao Nang you'd be mad to miss out on the experience of staying at the Ao Nang phu petra. On 2nd thoughts don't come and stay here because its ours and we want to enjoy it all to ourselves. :) Seriously hats off to the guys at the phu petra it was the best hotel of our honeymoon and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it 5*

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quigley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I'm not easily pleased and quick to find faults so it means alot for me to say this really is a lovely place. Lovely feel and design to it, great views from pool, staff are very helpful, rooms are tasteful and spacious. The best thing is it is quiet - a major thing for us as we've just come from noisy Phi Phi Don. People say it is out the way - it is a bit but that is what makes it great. You are only 5mins from the town area and there is a free shuttle every hour. In any case a rickshaw is only 100 baht. As they often do good cheap deals - we are currently in a large suite for £50 a night, I would highly recommend the place. My only slightly negative remarks would be that food and drink is a little pricey but to be honest what you would expect from an upmarket hotel, breakfast isn't fab for the price and if you are in a semi detached bungalow the adjoining door allows a lot of noise to come through from your neighbour. We're currently in a detached one and all I can here is birds and the very odd car as we're right by the road which shows you how quiet it is round here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a new place that is trying to be a boutique-style resort. The problem is that is really isn't comparable to a 4-star, but they think it is and they charge like it is.
I had to negotiate to get a 30% discount, but even then, I was paying too much in my estimation. They have this policy of tacking on the VAT and a 10% service charge onto everything. So if you start with a 450 baht massage and add on the extra taxing, it still is double what you would pay in town even with their 10% discount. Same applies to the food. After the first day we only ate breakfast there and went elsewhere for lunches and dinners. I recommend the German deli/cafe that is just down the road about 1 minute (turn right from the lobby).
The "villa" is quite spacious, but it's just little things that detract. The bathroom rooms are smoothed concrete -- it looks like they ran out of money and couldn't afford to tile them. There are lots of lights and light switches, but none of the lights do the job properly. The lights in the bathroom and dressing area are not effective. There are no good reading lights for the bed. Also, the satellite TV never had a good signal on any channel. It was very hard to watch.

The pool was lovely, clean and well-maintained. The grounds are coming into their own.

The breakfast was just okay. Some funny choices, including a Thai dish everyday that I felt was left over from last night's dinner service. The gentleman making the eggs couldn't understand English, so I just gave up. But the biggest disappointment was the nasty orange juice. Up to then, I always got fresh squeezed juice, but not here. It really wasn't very good. Also, one day, the papaya was so hard it was was almost inedible.

The shuttle is suppose to run into town every hour on the hour, however one day we had to wait a half-hour in the lobby as it was picking someone up from someplace.

So, the place is nice. It is quiet there and you rely on the shuttle to get to and from town, but the whole experience doesn't warrant what they want to charge and what they think they are.

Room Tip: The Majestic Suite Poolside Villas are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUHCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear our beloved guests:

As I read through your complaints, please give me a space to clarify some of your points.

1. The policy of tacking on the VAT and 10% service charge onto everything.

Please be noted that most resorts or hotels in Thailand especially 4 or 5 star tacking on the 10% VAT and service charge on room rate, food price or some items which is very normal but be marked that this is not include some certain services. One of them is massage, which is net price already, no VAT and no service charge


2. The Bathroom are smoothed concrete – looks like the resort runs out of money and could not afford to tile them.

Please let me point out in this area. We, of course, do not run out of money. It is, actually, a “Design”. You may not learn our theme of the resort before. We are Thai contemporary style blending with southern scent and we are inspired by something comes from nature. It is a raw concrete that we intentionally leave it like that. Most of our guests love this style so I doubt it depends on individuals’ perspective.


3. The lights in the bathroom and dressing area are not effective.

A bit of our explanation is that we at the beginning tired to make it in the way of romantic touch and sensation. However, you may call it is ineffective because it’s hard to read. We received some pieces of this focus and on the plan to fix it soon.


4. The satellite TV don’t have a good signal

Normally, TV signal are clear and cause no problem at all. Our guests can watch all channels without any problem. Yet, it is possible at the time you stay, it might have some rains or some other factors made it happen. This is; however, can be easily fixed by only informing our front desk. According to our Standard of Procedure, our engineering team will run to your villa not later than 5 minutes.


5. A feeling of left over breakfast from last night’s dinner service and our staff could not understand English very well plus a disappointment of orange juice

I guarantee for fresh food; not a left over dish from the night before. However, it is possible that our menu on that day look dry and not in good decoration. We will try to fix in this area.
We are sorry for that staff whom you spoke with. Since he started working with us as a Cook for couple days before and he still needs an English class training from our team. We also apologize for orange juice that disappointed you. We try our best to figure it out and make the taste lots of better in the future time.


6. Wait a half-hour in the lobby as it picked someone up from some place.

We believe that our shuttle bus service is on time according to our stated timetable Yet, there are sometimes of huge numbers of guests who want to go out or in as scheduling. In that case, we need to pick them up two times. (A driver would drive back and forth for two times) Making it possible of some guests who need to wait that they can not go out on time. This seldom happen and we always inform our guests of the late picking up and give them a reason.

For your information, our shuttle bus limits to 13-15 pax at a maximum.

I say thank you to give me a space to explain from a part you may misunderstand or see it differently. However, for some of other bad experiences you met here, we accept from our heart and promise to solve it to initiate even more excellent service for your next returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel is situated in a beautiful location surrounded by limestone cliffs. Beware: it’s not close to the beach, at all. But, they offer a free shuttle to the main strip and beach and we couldn’t have been happier to be farther away.

The rooms are large and well equipped (except for toilet paper and soap!) and the staff very nice. The free breakfast was average, but did the job. The pool, while small, has a lovely landscape backdrop. Overall, this was a great base for spending four nights in Krabi. Granted, we didn’t sit at the hotel, but rather were out exploring the areas. If a full-blown resort with amenities is what you seek, perhaps you’ll want to look elsewhere. If you want a tasteful, clean, nice hotel room, this is a great place. I’d recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CloudSwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing