We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgeous setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Georgeous setting”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We booked this 27-room boutique resort for our first visit to Krabi following the rave reviews on TA. The beauty of the setting dawned on us only at breakfast as we had checked in the night before when it was all dark. We were upgraded to a poolside room which was of similar size to the cliff-view room - spacious but it is true that bed-side lighting is too dim. The placements of the room's lights meant that we were staring at three bight lights affixed to the opposite wall when we laid in bed but had only one small bedside lamp to read from. The bathroom with large tub and separate shower stall was comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet spread on the first morning and subsequently became an a-la-carte "buffet" for the last two mornings due to low occupancy but it was alright for us. The resort screwed up our airport pickup although it was confirmed by email days in advance, we ended up getting an airport taxi ourselves - hence the room upgrade as compensation with the reception apologising profusely at check-in. To add salt to the injury (no pun intended!), our room service order of stir fried rice noodles (rad-na) was way too salty the chef must have forgotten to taste his cooking - but we were too tired from the hassled arrival to complain. The natural setting of this resort is its prime asset.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChuJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Our Beloved Guests:

We thank you you choose us. We are very appreciated for things you enjoyed and perceived the value of your stay here. You mentioned our spacious room, large tub, comfort of separate shower stall, asset of our natural setting. We are very glad for what you loved it all here.

As read through the end, I note for some negative feelings upon your arrival and stay with us. Please give me a space here to hand over my regrets to you and of course I will give it settled as soon as possible.

1. Light

As earlier promised to all guests that we would fix it; as planned, it should be finished by now but some technical problem arise made it a bit delay. Plese extend us a time to make it fixed. For your reading friendliness, you can ask for a lamp at our front desk 24 hours. Not more than 5-10 minutes, our staff will get it for you.

2. A-Lar-Carte and Mini Buffet

It's true if our guestrooms occupied less than 10, we will serve our guests with A-Lar-Carte plus Mini Buffet. Still, there are varities choices of food to choose from the menu.

3. Salty Food

We discussed with our Chef already. He actually cooked really dilicious Thai dish but he said "sorry" for Rad Na he made it for you on that night. He did improve its taste for other guests who also ordered this menu.

4. Airport Transfer

For this one, I must deliver my "Deepest Apology" to you. It was really our mistake. The error fell into our Reservation staff that she forgot to print transfer information out. She examined all guests folio three days before guests check in but with her faulty of not printing it out made it an ineffective working process. Nothing to make an excuse but accept it. A matter like this was really what I discussed with team member before and seriously this one was a fatal error that she must take it to a quick improvement in her working steps. Hopefully, to upgrade you to Poolside Villa and offer you glasses of cocktail would make your first arrival not too bitter.

Please give us a chance to best serve you next time and very thank you for your kind understanding.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    339
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
181
579
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Had booked 7 nights but only stayed 3. The room was spacious bed a little hard , and it was clean . There were problems with the septics and there was a smell in the room.The lighting very dim in fact came back 1 night and it was pitch dark the lighting on the steps was very poor. The shuttle went to town every hour , but it is very isolated. I was very disappointed and moved to the Vogue for the remainder of my stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear our beloved guests:

We are so sorry you felt a bit of disappointment while staying with us. I have been reported of your early check out and only reason you gave it to our GSA is "A bad smell in room" I feel a bit disappoint too that we have no chance to explain or to assist you. Without prior complains until you you made dicisssion. May I give this space to explain each of them.

1. A smell in room
We accept that some of our villas have a smell. We have history of them all and we fixed them already. The room you stayed, since opened, we have never been reported of any bad smell before. However, it's possible that our guests can feel a smell. Please Please inform us suddenly and we will straight to your room not more than 10 minute to fix it. (FYI: our technician went to your room after you checked out but they found it had no bad smell. However, this can be happened that a smell comes and goes so quickly. Our technicial already listed it to his worksheet and he will follow up a matter)

2. The light was very dim
I'm sorry for the light in room made you feel uncomfortable. We are fixing it. Actually, it supposed to be finished two months ago but with technical matter, this has been delay. I will be back to the matter and will find a way to fix it as soon as possible.

3. Isolated
We are not "on the beach" resort. We are very clear about this. We are far enough from a hustle-bustle but close enough to go to the beach. Our shuttle bus is available free of charge every hour and it takes only 5 minutes by shuttle bus to go to the beach. I must say Aonang Phu Petra Resort might not be your choice. We are a small 4-star boutique resort underline to a real relaxation and resting. Such that, no messy stuff or louder noise you will face while staying with us.

We are so sorry that we could not be your best or right choice . For everything you felt unhappy, we must again say "sorry". Thank you to give a space for us to explain. What we can do or serve you in the future, we are more than grateful.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

As part of the second leg of our Thai adventure over the Easter of 2012 we stayed at the Aonang Phu Petra Resort Krabi. We booked this hotel as a bit of a gamble, one I’m glad to say paid off. It is close enough to the center of Krabi to ensure you enjoy all that the town has to offer, whilst far enough to take you away from the noise and hustle-bustle that can overwhelm you at times. Our villa wasn’t one that overlooked the cliffs, as some other guests had suggested you go for, but no matter. It was spacious and comfortable. My only reservation would be the lighting level at night. I like to read in bed and found it very difficult to do so even with all the lights in the room on. Next time I’ll take a reading light with me to attach to my book. But this is only a minor criticism. The breakfast was good, plenty of choice and very attentive service. We had one evening meal at the hotel, and were the only guests to do so, but this made it special, as the staff looked after our every need, the food was top class and the cocktails to die for. The swimming pool was just what you wanted after a long day our travelling to one of the many local islands on a long tail boat. There were always sunbeds and towels available, so no problems here. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel provided bus (a truck with benches in the back) which was a great way to ride into town. We decided to have a spa treatment at the hotel and are so glad we did, it was only a little more than you would pay in Krabi, but was done against the backdrop of the pool and the cliffs beyond. It also lasted far longer than the one hour promised. All in all I would certainly recommend the Aonang

Room Tip: Go for their cocktails, and try the spa (not at the same time though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FreddyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

We thank you for your very positive review. We are all happy to hear that and eager to do it to a step ahead and beyond our guests' expectation.

For the overall lighting in room, we are fixing it. For the reading lighting, you can ask a handy one at the Front Desk.

We thank you once again. Please come back here in your next return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have stayed there with my wife for 4 days. We were welcomed by receptionist, Nat and were taken straight to our room. He can communicate English fluently and explained everything in our room and the benefits that were available to us. This was fantastic service that we had upon arrival. Honeymoon Deco was set up which included flowers and elephants shape towels on the bed. Villa is a beautiful, spacious and well equipped, All staff were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, helpful. The area surrounding the resort is in the tranquil settings. Just taking free shuttle service to busy center only 3 - 4 minutes. We stayed here by knowing what to expect. I can understand that you guys may be disappointed if they expected direct beach
access and a sea view room, or a large sprawling resort with full facilities (gym, club, etc.) If those things are important to you, you need to look elsewhere, but you will miss a real gem for who want wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Hillside is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear our valuable guests:

Our appreciation in serving every valued guests. We are delighted hearing that you found our Aonang Phu Petra resort as a gem. Our privacy and serenity are our prioritize determinants.

With world class 5-star hospitality, we try our best to create our service in such unique characteristic to deliver an exceptional and unforgettable experience to all guests.

Once again, we thank you for choosing us and please come back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I just had our company staffs retreat at APPR. This is an awesome resort, very suitable for couple or company retreat. Spacious room as seen on website. Beautiful scenery!! We had games and fun time in the spacious dining hall, and near swimming pool. Staff service was great and they are flexible and prompt in service too! However the swimming pool isn't as fantastic, a bit small and simple designed. Nevertheless we had a great time there!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leannehly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear our valuable guests:

Thank you for your good review. We appreciate of having a chance to serve your group. Management team and all staff were cheerful that our personalize services touched your heart and made it an exceptional and impressive experience on you and your group.

In you personal vacation, We hope you also give us a chance to serve you again and hope it in this nearest future.

We promise to keep working hard in a professional and expertised manner.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had our church staff retreat on 28 - 30 May 2012 @ the resort. It is an absolutely beautiful place with fantastic view, huge and clean bedrooms and spacious bathrooms. Kudos to Nat and the team from the resort for your hospitality and great service, and for allowing us to use the resort as if it were our private place! All the logistics, admin requests and buffet dinner were greatly prepared according to our requirement. I only have 1 improvement point for the resort: at least 2 of the rooms had red ants crawling along the shelves, dressing table, and even the beds. Some pest-buster treatment to the rooms will help!

Nevertheless, overall it as been a great experience! It was quite a challenge to organise a fun retreat for a group of 45 including some kids, but you have definitely been a great help for me and the committee in running our programme smoothly and pleasantly at your resort. So thank you once again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luwisfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

Thank you for your confidence and credit on us. we are so pleasing you found everything in good shape as we prepared it well in every single details. We also had so much wonderful and enjoyable time in serving all of you.

For red ants you found some crawled along the shelves and somewhere else in room, I will share this information with my team and see what alternatives we can do for our guests. For your information, we normally do fumigation 2 times a month but in reality this usually can not get rid of it for 100% especially when our guests take some snacks or sweet stuff in room. However, please place your trust on us that we are right here to listen and solve it for you to the best as we can.

We hope you will come back here as your personal trip. Look forward to serving you once again in this nearest future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We planned a staff retreat in this resort. My staff team of 40 of us had a good experience here. The hospitality was very impressive and the staff were always willing to accomodate requests. Location is a bit challenging and we needed to take the transportation service out in order to get to the civilised areas.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your compliment and as you mentioned we are willing and always be right besides our guests to serve and accomodate all requests.
It's possible that some are beyond our authority or can not be fulfilled for our guests but please note that in every situation we will listen and try our best in a professional and attentive manner.

Please accept our gratitude toward your review and please come back in your next personal vacations. We are all eager to serve you!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing