We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure soft and peaceful pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pure soft and peaceful pleasure!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located away from the town, which is very good to have peace and rest.
The spacious rooms decorated with taste are pleasant for a long stay.
The staff is very kind and friendly, looking after you without bothering you to consume whatever tours or drinks, or snacks.
We were so lucky that we were gratified with a "special dinner" right beside the pool!
The complimentary shuttle to go to Ao Nang beach is very practical too.
We have really enjoyed our stay with the family and found at the Phu Petra what we were looking for to end our holidays in Thailand: peace and privacy!
Warning with Barracuda tours, not as good as the hotel, despite the recommendation!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Didier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear our beloved guests:

We thank you for your nicest review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the whole things, as you raised a location, rooms, staff, dinner, shuttle bus service and so on, at Aonang Phu Petra Resort to the end of your holidays. Yet, please accept our apology for choosing the wrong agent for you. Please note that we already informed them your complaints regarding their unpunctuality of picking you up on the way to the Island. They said they have lots of guests and of course this can not be an excuse. They finally took it for further improvement. Apart from their unpunctuality, we are please if you will let us know other areas of improvement regarding to their service unstandardization. We will definitely have a talk with them to push them to the state of correction.

Last but not least, we are happy to serve you and of course look forward to your next return. Please come back this soonest!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    339
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
181
579
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was a pleasant surprise indeed when we arrived at the resort itself. As it was a business trip, we had well over 60+ people and the staffs were very accommodating, providing us with personalised guide to our room and also being very friendly over-all.

The rooms are simple, chalet-style and very clean. We had the family room which comes with a shared living room and to put it simply, the sight of the chalet itself was very relaxing. Waking up in the morning, taking a step out into the verandah,you would see the hills behind the resort and a fair bit of rooms are facing the pool too.
Although it is facing the pool, the pool is actually on a little of an elevated ground, so privacy is still maintained.

Tours could be arranged by the hotel for a very reasonable price. The resort also provides a free shuttle to-fro the town center every 30minutes or a minimal fee if we would want to go out at any other time.

We rented some scooters and it very convenient indeed to travel to-fro town.
However, we had some "sewage/toilet smell" at times and apparently one of the rooms had toilets where they are not supposed to flush excessive or any toilet papers at all. Perhaps if the management could do something about improving the sewage/toilet system then it would be fantastic.

Air-cond was cold and the room services was great too. Overall, Ao Nang Phu Petra would still be a resort in my list when i do go to Krabi again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazyForHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

We thank you for your very positive review. This is our biggest reward proving that our dedication and hard working in every detail fulfill your needs. Your satisfaction are our topmost priority and your review is more than good enough to make our days fill with smiles. Thank you for your trust on us. Thank you for choosing us.

Upon your observation about sewage smell. We are working hard on it. This happens in only some 2 or 3 villas and we have all history recorded. Other villas else are just fine.

Thank you again and please return in your personal trip. Hope to serve you this soonest.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Luckily we only booked one night. The place has the potential to be wonderful!!!! HOWEVER,,, The room was large, but had a distinct toilet smell. The AC just didn't quite do enough to chill the room down and it was noisy. The lighting was poor and coming back to the room at 10pm in total darkness was a little daunting, fumbling with keys as my family waited patiently as I tried to unlock the door. The staff were all quite friendly, but clearly had no service training.

The "hilltop view" room we had booked, looked straight at the road down the side of the property, which also caused us a concern of security, hence why we took all our valuables with us to dinner that evening and to breakfast the following morning. Which brings us on to breakfast; the fresh bread was great, but they said,,, "due to the lack of guests, there was no buffet" and so we were served a very average American breakfast that could have been served in any average side street restaurant.

Relaxing by the pool with the stunning mountain view still made the resort choice worthwhile. But at 90 THB for a banana shake, it was no wonder, nobody was seen with a pool side drink. The place desperately needs a good GM, but he or she will have his work cut out trying to turn it into a true 4* resort. Feeling generous, I give it 3* at the moment. Will we be back? Not for a while!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GnT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear our beloved guests:

As read from beginning through the end, it really made me feel miserable. I regret you felt upset and uncomfortable during your only one night stay with us. Please give me a space here to go each of them.

Voice, Darkness and Safety

I note which villa you stayed. Our resort definitely prioritizes peace, privacy and safety. I know you were so worried since the villa you slept in could see over to the road. I will take it to my team and solve it ASAP. Regarding to darkness at balcony during night time that you barely see where to unlock the door, I will of course bring this issue to management meeting. Stuff like these take sometimes to get it done.

Buffet

It's true that we will not have full line of buffet if our guests less than 20 pax but there is still a mini-buffet placed for you and you can also order A Lar Carte. There were still many choices for you to choose. As traced back, our Assistance FO Manager already advised you at the time you checked in.

Price of Milk Shake

Please be noted our price are the same standard as other 4-star hotels/resorts. We were sure that we did not overcharge it.

Smell

Your villa has no record about bad smell before. Yet, as it came from you as our valuable guests, I will check by myself and keep a record everyday. (FYI: I will sleep in the villa you stay for tonight and tomorrow night)

Not reach 4-star and GM should pay attention more

I thank you for your comments and recommendations. Really it made us do better and serve our guests one step beyond. We just depress that you decided not to tell us at the moment you were with us but you made up your mind to write it in here instead. It's good if we have a chance to settle it while you were right here and you can spend rest of extending wonderful days and nights with us.

With your only one night stay, we didn't meet and talk. As you mentioned that GM can do a better job to make this property as a real 4-star, I have to let you know that I am doing those jobs and I of course care all guests' comments to fulfill their needs.

Please place your trust on us that we will do our best in professional way. Even we can not do everything in good shape. We are trying to do so. We listen to our guests’ voice everyday. We really ask for your kind understanding and our highly appreciation to welcome you back here again this soonest in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed there July 2012, nice resort, nice location, everything is excellent EXCEPT they have a big problem with raw sewage smell in the bathroom. We stayed in one of the poolside bungalows, and the smell was so bad that we could not use the bathroom. We emailed the hotel before we booked about this smell after reading about it on tripadvisor, but the manager told us that they had no problem....this was a lie..We informed the hotel about the smell several times and was promised a new bungalow, but this never happened...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rune190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear our valuable guests:

We honour your trust on us and of course appreciate your good experience in most of the areas at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. Yet, I'm very sorry in sewage smell you experienced during your stay with us. We pride our own dignity and have never thought to tell our customer a lie. I; however, don't deny it is an "error" that we do need to take real fast action.

In your case, you asked before reserving our room about sewage smell existence but we confirm for "not having that smell". We said that because we were so sure, not because we wanted to sell a room and told you a lie. I were reported during your stay regarding a smell and our Head of Housekeeping and Engineer came in to your room to fix it at the fastest manner. Honestly as our team came in to you, they found no "smell". This could be happened. Smell came and went so quickly and it didn't exist all the time. Assistance FO Manager did inform you that if you still found a bad smell of the day after, please informed her again. In that situation, she would instantly change a room for you. Without your information, we assumed "no such problem exist any longer". I now know that it was so wrong. We granted it as our experience to rather ask our guests...not wait for the guests to inform. So please accept our apology for our unprofessional service in this matter.

I, as a General Manager, also missed a step of real deep checking and inspection. After I read your review, I stayed two nights in the same exact villa you stayed but honestly, I found no bad smell. Not try to make an excuse, we believe in our guests and as mentioned we notice that smell happens but not all the time and happen only in some few villas. We now try to figure it out what is the real root problem of it. Please give us sometimes to fix it.

Last but not least, we are deeply sorry for the matter you endure but please note in you heart for our honesty and sincerity in our hospitality delivering to you. We are delightful if you still prioritise us in your next trip plan.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Lovely little hotel peaceful and quiet. Great big room only problem the lighting was very dim could not see very well come nightfall. Staff were nice so was breakfast. Would be very happy to stay here again, I would not recommend it for families, as it is only small as is the pool but for couples perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear our valuable guests:

Our greatfulness to hear that you are happy staying with us. Regarding to the lighting, we are fixing it. Please give us a bit of time here.

We look forward to your next returns. Hope it is this soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 10 days. Liked everything, free wifi in room, nice and big led-tv with choice of chanels.
Inside of room is little bit dark

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shenarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear our valuable clients:

Our gratitude to note that you were happy during your long stay with us. For the lighting, we are trying our best to fix it. The room gives a feeling of romantic sense but as we listen to our guests, we understand their need in the aspect of more visual functioning in room.

Thank you once again for your trust on us. We look forward to your coming back in this nearest furture.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Phu Petra-The best service we had in Thailand was at this superb little resort a couple minutes from town. Much like Phu Pi Maan, free transport was offered to and from Ao Nang. Phu Petra is a little more upscale, with its huge suites and setting at the base of a stunning limestone cliffs. Breakfast is included in the price and is more than adequate. The front desk is a fountain of knowledge on the area and can make just about anything happen for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear our valuable clients:

Very much thank you for your good review. I am happy really to note all that. All very little details and observations, we care and listen to make it a real one step beyond service. I will definitely pass along your compliments to all staff. They must feel really great to hear this.

Your compliments fills our hearts to ahead to 5 star hospitality resort. We promise to keep on working hard and best and make it happen for our lovely clients.

Please come back hear in your next returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,422 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing