We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise at Phu Petra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise at Phu Petra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

- Beautifully presented resort with a stunning cliff background set away from the town centre amongst the greenery.

- Stayed 7 nights for honeymoon where we were kindly upgraded on arrival from a Gloriyo Hillside Villa to a Gloriyo Poolside Villa.

- Room was excellent and roomy with a very big bathroom with shower, toilet and deep bath tub. Other amenities included a fridge, safe, couch and outdoor setting on the deck patio.

- Service was friendly and of an excellent standard.

- Everything was clean and of a very good and high standard.

- Enjoyed cooling off in the pool and relaxing on the sunbeds.

- Buffet breakfast was very good.

- Restaurant food quality was excellent.

- Massage service on-site but for double the price for what you would pay at the beach but will still recommend the hotel massage service as the treatment was excellent.

- The resort is in a quiet location away from the town centre but away from the beach, however, the hotel's hourly shuttle takes 5 minutes to drop us off in the main street which was then a 5 minute walk to the beach.

- If you do not like mosquitoes, we recommend getting some mosquito repellant or insect spray.

- We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Buy some mosquito repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear our beloved guests:

We are very glad that we can make your 7 days-honeymoon trip a wonderful and memorable one. Anything that we can do to make your days and nights full of joys and happinesses, we will do.

We are cheerful really to note that you will come back here again.

It is our highest honor to serving you again in this nearest future. Please let us know whenever you will return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    334
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
179
572
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Chose this hotel after reading reviews and booked through an online booking agent.

Received a less than welcoming reception by the male (non Thai) staff who was on duty when we arrived.
We arrived at 5 or 6.00pm and he advised our room was not ready.
He then demanded a passport. I live in Phuket and had driven so did not bring a passport.
I offered him my drivers license ID and my credit card. He said it was hotel policy to require a passport. A strange concept as most Thais travelling would not have a passport with them. He then also demanded my wife’s ID card. I thought this was unnecessary and having travelled extensively throughout Thailand for the past 5 years this was the first time it had happened.
We advised we would be staying 2 nights and after 20 minutes he escorted us to the room nearby the swimming pool.

We went out for dinner in Ao Nang and when we returned the reception informed us we would have to change rooms the following day. This was annoying after having unpacked and we were leaving for an island trip early the following morning. They then requested we pack our bags and leave them in the room

We returned that afternoon and checked in to our new room. I asked the same gentlemen to organize the delivery of our bags to the room as we were going to have a swim.
We return 30 minutes later after swimming to shower and change and found the bags had not been delivered

I called reception and spoke to a very accommodating young Thai male who delivered the bags within 3 minutes.

Overall the Thai staff were fantastic but the hotel is let down by non Thai male staff member who did nothing to ensure we had a pleasant and relaxed stay

The rooms were very nice, a good king bed, a large bathroom all 5 star and all sparkling clean

The breakfast buffet was at the low end of hotel buffets and if it’s an option I would forget it and eat out

The hotel pool and garden are very nice and a relaxing area to read a book or just chill out.

Had it not been for the experience with the unprofessional staff member and his inability to check the availability of a room for 2 nights I would recommend this hotel although by Thai standards it is expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear our valuable guests:

We do thank you for your big praise on a great room and most of our mindful and attentive staff. At the same time we are taking this chance to say we all regret for any causes upset you while you stayed with us. Please, your listening to note our information is our appreciation.

1. Passport
Not to mention of our policy, this is a worldwide standard and it is very normal that we asked the passport from you. Your passport (or Identity Card for Thai people) will be your identification for us to record into system. With many usual reasons why all 4 or 5 stars ask your passport that we may not explain it here. Of course, any other identification can be possibly substituted if no passport presented. Refer to your reply that you did not have your passport with you, our Assistant FO Manager asked your other identification and you gave your International Driving License to him and at the same time asked for Identity Card from your Thai friend. We will more than welcome to evidently make it clear for all your doubts but you seemed to understand it well. No such words or your body language made us note for your questionable doubt.

2. "2 night stay" and Not deliver your luggage into a new room
Please to be informed that we are so certain this is some ways of misunderstanding. You booked for only one night through Booking.com and you were last minute booking. At that day, the room type you book was full, we upgraded you to higher category that available for only one room and only for one night. Upon your checking in, you mentioned that you might extend stay but would confirm it later on. So we said nothing of moving room for the next following day unless you confirm. Later, you came up and affirmed of your extending more one night, our GSA informed you that this was possible but you needed to move to another room on the second date. You seemed to be happy and said something like this was fine for you. In the morning you showed up with your anger mood and complained that why we did not tell you at the time you checked in that the room on second night was unavailable. The morning shift GSA had not been informed the situation before, she then did not explain anything to you but only asked whether you still wanted to stay one more night with us. You said that you would go out for one day trip; you wanted to checked out now and would decide again if you would prolong a stay. Our bell boy came in to your room and took all your luggages to the Luggage Room at lobby. With this kind of situation we could not put them to your new room; we could only waited for your confirmation. After you came back from tour, you wanted to see your new room we had assigned. After seeing the room, you did decide to extend a stay. You might mention it to someone that please deliver your luggage to the new room. Honestly, We were really sorry not deliver your luggages to your room instantly. It was our error in this matter. But as you said, we made it on your second call.

3. Our Buffet
We are so sorry that our buffet might not reach your expectation. we'll keep improving it. We thank you for your observation in a matter.

4. Unprofessional Non Thai Staff Member
We regret that he made you felt in that way. As asking him what really happened that he made you felt uncomfortable, he was a bit confused since he perceived that you were happy; he observed you smiled most of the time. Honestly, as worked with him, I have noted for his attentive and helpful manner. It was possible for a miscommunication both with you and him and with himself and another shift in FO department made it turned out to be this kind of circumstance.

Not to make an excuse but sorry for the circumstance made you were unhappy in some areas. For the part that we did it wrong, we will improve. For some certain event as mentioned above, we wish for your kind understanding.

We really thank you for your remarks. It do help us see ourselves, and grow in good reputation. However, it will be really nice and our appreciative honor that you will let us know how you feel at the time you are with us. This give us a chance to explain, fix it promptly and make you feel better right away.

If you still believe in us, please make your return here again. It will be our highest honor receiving your trust again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

The perfect choice if you prefer tranquility, peace and quiet. A well sized and well decorated rooms with friendly and attentive staff who are ever willing to help. However all this came at a price...location. Resort a distance away from the main road and even further from the main Aonang Beach. Hotel do provide hourly shuttle, but do take note of the last shuttle back to hotel is around 9.30pm. Best alternative is Tuk-tuk or rent a scooter like we did. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Perfect for couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rezz_shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear our beloved guests:

We do appreciate your recommendation on our property. Very happy we are to note that you spent your good time with us.

We will keep working hard to deliver our Thai hospitality and smiles to all of our lovely guests.

Please come back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed in the resort for 6 days as part of our honey moon trip to Thailand. The resort is at a great, quiet location in the hills, a few minutes of the busy town AoNang. We really enjoyed the quietness and privacy we had in the resort, as well as the spacious rooms, the satisfactory pool and the great panoramic view. Downtown AoNang can be reached using either the free hotel shuttle service, that runs every hour, or by scooter (rent is 150 Baht a day when booked in AoNang).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demeuse81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

We are very pleasure to note that you spent your days and nights with your fullest happiness at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. Anything that we can do it more to best serve you, we will not hesitate to do so.

We promise to keep it up for a good work.

Please stay with us again in your next returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2012 and had a lovely time. The location is beautiful and the villa itself was lovely. The staff (apart from the boy driving the transfer into town) were all very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms could have done with being better lit, and the swimming pool is reasonably small, but overall we thought it was very good value.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

We are very appreciated for your compliments on us. For two drawbacks regarding a light in room and a driver, please note that we already resolved the first one by putting more light in every room now. For a driver, we are uncertain what kind of thing you encountered but now we got a new driver who is much more potential, friendly with his service minded. Please accept our apology, if any, for a case that our driver might fail his duty to deliver his hospitality in appropriate way.

We promise of keeping everything in good shape and not stop to develop and come up always with outstanding services.

Please do not hesitate to stay with us at Aonang Phu Petra Resort again in your nearest returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

This is a very good value small hotel on the outskirts of Ao Nang. Very relaxing place with large rooms good bathroom reasonable food all at very good value

The front office manager Khun Sriluck was particularly helpful

This is a good place for couples and small families . There are less than 30 rooms all close to the pool which is very clean and overlooks the very attractive limestone cliffs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spinner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

We thank you really to rated us the highest ranking scores. This is the most precious thing hard working people as us want to see. Your happiness is really a heart of the thing.

Your compliment on Khun Siriluck was passed on to her. She smiled and said "thank you" to you.

We will keep up our greatest work, we promise.

Look forward to your coming back here.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

stayed at phu petra end of september '12 for 2 nights and it was what i expected. Resort style with beautiful cliff backdrop. Tranquility with lots of greenery. For us city folks it was a nice change waking up early in the morning hearing the roosters and hens and frogs.

Spacious room and bathroom. Love the huge bathtub. Airport pick up service was prompt and driver was nice and friendly. Waited for us while we shopped for groceries and even drove us to places with halal food.

The only problem is the location. Its much further in from the main tourist strip. While this makes the place quiet and tranquil, travelling is a tad difficult. But the hote provides cars and motorbikes for rental if u do not wish to wait for the shuttle service. We rented a motorbike which was good and cheap that is if the wether is good.

Unfortunately for us it was pouring and our room is right at e back. We had to carry umbrella and shopping bags and a baby walking in the rain at night from the lobby to our room which had no shelter and with stairs along the way. Only realised on the day we were checking out that they used buggy to get around the resort. I wished a staff had approached us and offered to send us back to our rooms in a buggy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marrissa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear our dearest guests:

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that you had nice experience staying at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. During your stay, it rained. This might cause a bit of troublesomeness for you and your family but as you mentioned we have buggy to serve our guests. The possibility can be that we were neglectful to notice our guests' needs. Since some guests don't wish to sit on the buggy and prefer to walk by themselves as our property are small and in walking distance. However, we will be much more observant and attentive toward our guests' expectations.

In addition, we are very welcome to help and support all guests' anticipation to the best capacity that we can do.

We promise to keep it a standization and improve our imperfection. We love to know that you will come back here again in your nearest future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing