We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resort !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Good place this, booked it as the second stop on a great tour of the region booked with Andaman Sky, who put it all together for a brain free fortnight for us, good job done by them and also by this resort in taking care of us really well for our stay. The resort nestles underneath the crags that the region is know for, made out of limestone and looking most peculiar, well I haven’t ever seen anything like them before. I got so into the scenery that I decided to really get into the scenery and go rock climbing on Railay, which was a stunning experience and one I would recommend to anyone, as I would recommend this hotel for its location (quiet away from the bedlam on the main drag) and staff friendliness.

Room Tip: Book withg Andaman Sky as part of an island hop round the region
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

We feel very pleased to serve you. It's our highest honour to know that you enjoyed everything at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, especially for the scenery and location, while received an outstanding service from us.

Please come back next time. We promise to take care you well as we have always done and we ensure to give the kind of best services you deserve.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    334
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
179
572
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 days(Dec 15-17, 2013). We stayed in hillside villa, very quiet atmosphere. The hill side view was restricted due to trees in the front, our room was on the back side. Staff was quite friendly and always ready to help. The room was clean and tidy and pool was great. Room was quite spacious and beds were comfy. Our bed was laid out with flowers on arrival which we liked and also loved the welcome cake.
Loved the shuttle service to the beach and it was quite handy also. Most of the times we preferred walking down as the view was great. Breakfast was also good.

Couple of things i didn't like was, the staff couldn't solve the WiFi problem for 3 consecutive days. They asked us to come to the lobby area to access the WiFi which was not that convenient. Also when we tried that, the speed was too slow and my GPRS connection was better. Also there was a dinner for 2 included in our package which could have been laid better and since it was a honeymoon special we were expecting something other than ordinary. But it was just like having dinner at any other restaurant.
Apart from these 2 things i would rate this place quite good as you get to stay near aoNang but still enjoy the calm and serene atmosphere here.

Room Tip: Try to find a room from where you can have a clear hill view. Pool side was little noisy for my tast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

We are feeling great to note for your satisfaction and that we can fulfill all of your expectation except for two things as you mentioned. First, wifi...we provide free wifi throughout the resort and it was true that it did not work so well at the time you stayed in even we tried so hard to fix it in fastest manner. It has been fixed now, FYI. Sorry for this inconvenient caused to you. For your honeymoon occasion, you can give us a prior notice that you want to make it special for dinner that included in package. We, of course, can always do that. Everything you want us to do, it can happen. Just to let us know. As per your expectation, we ensure to deliver the best experience to you.

Again, thank you for giving your trust with us. We look forward to your many returns to our home, Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have not even step into the resort but I am already very disappointed. I am planning to visit krabi from 13-17-Feb14 and have decided on this resort after doing extensive research on our itinerary. From the resort's website, it shows it still has available rooms and I am able to go through the full booking process and payment. We are so happy after 'booking' the rooms and already have an idea on what we plan to do. However, a couple of hours later, I receive an email from the resort saying that they are fully booked and have cancel our reservation!!!! Why do you even allow your own website to allow people to continue booking even though you know you are already full??? We are sooooo disappointed and angry, and now we need to start looking for places all over again. Will we ever try going to this place again in the future? NEVER!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan_sg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to our booking system. We are deeply sorry that we have no even an opportunity to serve you as our beloved guests. All of our guests are very important. Should our room is available, there is no reason for us to reject our guests to stay in. There is an explanation for the case you have experienced. As the time your booking has been successfully accepted and the time we close the allotment is simultaneous occur or overlap just in minute. Once we received your booking, we tried our best to contact you and letted you note the situation as soon as possible. We void the whole amount of payment you have made instantly to return it back to you. (As you mentioned for couple of hours later, you received an email from us) please believe that we sincerely take care our guests and we also care for pre-arrival guests. We tell it the truth, we make it a quick response so our guests would not waste their time and, especially, have enough time to find for another hotel. We note for your fury and can touch that you have so strong intention to stay with us. Kindly understand us and think in a way around. We insist you are important and we hope for a chance to serve you with our warmest and Thai smile welcoming next time. We hope you will give us that chance again.

We hope this message can release your anger and make you understand us more.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Phu Petra was just what we needed at the beginning of our Thailand break. It is out of the way and peaceful allowing us to relax.

Don't be put off by the distance from the beach and shops, There are hourly shuttle buses to the town and a tuk tuk is only 100 bht (£2) to get back if you miss a bus or are out later than the bus runs.

The food at Phu Petra is fine but not the best in Ao Nang. Breakfast was good but we ate most other meals in town.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank padi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

We are so please to serve both of you as our beloved guests at our home, Aonang Phu Petra Resort. Your peace, privacy and refreshment at our property is our top priority. We are glad to note that your everyday stay with us is a memorable one.

We value your trust and we will do our best to meet your service expectations whenever you come back to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, which we look forward to.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived I knew we'd made the right choice in picking Phu Petra for our accommodation. The staff were so kind and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. We were lucky enough to arrive on the King's Birthday and felt so privileged to be included in the celebrations with the whole Phu Petra team.

The location is stunning. We were a bit apprehensive about picking a resort a little further away from the beach in Ao Nang. However, I'm so glad we did. It was so peaceful compared to the location of some of the other resorts. The shuttle service was reliable and regular so we never felt like we were waiting around to get down to the beach. We walked back from the beach a couple of times too and it's probably about a 25 minute walk. Even if you do miss the last shuttle home (after a few cocktails haha) it's not very expensive to get a tuk tuk back to the resort.

The room was wonderful and extremely clean. The whole resort is really well looked after. From what we saw, the pool is meticulously cleaned every morning.

Overall we couldn't be happier with our stay. A very big thanks to the whole Phu Petra team for making our holiday so special. We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

It has been a pleasure to take care both of you. We are overjoyed to receive your appreciation message. Your happiness, privacy and relaxation at Aonang Phu Petra Resort is our job. Thank you very much for leaving us a wonderful review and the best high scores.

We appreciate your trust, and we will do our best to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve, we promise.

Please make your many returns here whenever you come to visit Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great resort with friendly, smiley staff, excellent service from the moment we checked in until we regretfully had to leave. Booked as the higher-tempo destination as part of a (really cool) island hop with Andaman Adventures (great service from them too, many thank for putting together the best family holiday we’ve ever had). The kids were kept busy with daytrips almost every day, all of which I went on too (my wife skived off a couple and lounged by the pool instead). The resort has well-maintained and clean gardens and benefits from superb mountain views.

Cool pool with no shortage of loungers and never too many people in it, which was a plus, especially compared to the manic packed-out resorts down the beachfront, we were very happy to be away from all that bedlam. The Phu Petra, in contrast, is a quiet oasis of calm and tranquility, with the villas dotted rather than crammed into the landscape. You’re not supposed to use the pool after seven, a rule my son decided to ignore on several occasions, but thankfully he didn’t get caught. The resort lays on a regular free shuttle service down to the beach, meaning there is really no point in staying down there and paying higher prices for way less space. The rooms are huge and we enjoyed having a living room in addition to the 2 bedrooms, so the kids could gawp at DVDs while we read books in peace and quiet.

All in all a good hotel, the breakfast wasn’t the best we had, but I don’t want to end of a bad note, we didn’t come to Thailand to eat fancy breakfasts. The coffee was fresh and the bread was brown, which is good enough for me, although I had noticed before booking that some people moaned on this website about the breakfasts. My advice is forget that, unless you are a massive eater who has to have gourmet food 3 times a day.

Room Tip: book with andaman sky as the first stop in thailand before going on an island hop
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judeedee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We wanted personally to let you know how gratifying it is to receive your kind note of compliment.
We have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the other members of our team. Your words were visibly heartening to them. They, as much as we, deeply appreciate your every word of praise. We work hard to deliver the best services to our guests as they deserve the very best. All exhaustions are vanish just that we have noted for what we do make you happy until the date of departure.

For your observation on breakfast, please believe that we are adjusting the buffet line to meet all expectation. Thank you very much for this kind remark.

Thank you again for your trust you put on us. We hope your family will give us many returns whenever you come to visit Krabi. Please be assured of receiving the same standard of property and warmest services and welcoming staff.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

we really enjoyed excellent and relaxing stay at this resort. Though the location is little far from the AoNang beach, resort do provide hourly free service to a nearest McDonalds. You will have to walk 500m from there to reach to the beach. Food and service areexcellent. You may have some issues with English as all staff are not good at it but somebody will definitely help.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pushkar_moghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We appreciate your positive review and feel so delighted to hear that you had an excellent and relaxing stay at Aoang Phu Petra Resort. We are so sorry, however, for some of our staff's English weakness bothered you and made it rough in commutation. Those are new comers which we have hired for a month. Please believe that we are giving them a training session and on the job training and look forward to their improvent in English conversing this soonest. You can definitely ask to see Assistant FO Manager in case you find it slow in communication with those newcomers. Just a minute, she will come to assist. Thank you.

Thank you again for choosing us and thank you for your very useful remark that we always take it as very value piece of comment for us keep it up to our standard.

Please make many returns at Aonang Phu Petra Resort whenever you come to visit Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing