We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil luxury hotel away from the hustle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil luxury hotel away from the hustle and bustle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Loved this hotel and absolute bargain at £46pn through Expedia! Plus we got a free upgrade to a stunning pool-side room (117) when we arrived. Particularly loved the huge bathroom. Nothing too much trouble and even a minor confusion over breakfast was efficiently sorted out by the lovely receptionist.

The Thai banquet evening was worth doing - great food, live traditional music and releasing Chinese lanterns around the pool side.

We hired a scooter through the hotel which was great value and well organised. Delivered to the hotel in 10 mins with helmets for 300 bht/day. Well worth doing - we had a great day exploring Khao Phanom Bencha national park. Other amazing trips included Kayaking in the mangroves at Ao Thalane, Krabi Cookery School, 5 island sunset boat trip, Railay beaches (by longtail from the beach). We booked ours in advance but the hotel will arrange this for you. Also Ao Nang is a nice town to explore with monkeys on the beach at the far south-eastern end. The Beach Bar serves great cocktails and has good live music.

Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely pool. Beautiful rooms & bathroom. Stunning gardens & mountain backdrop. Perfect if you like to be out of the way.

Breakfast expensive at 350bht per person. Good selection but we don't eat much for breakfast so it wasn't worth it for us and we gave it a miss. There are other great options (Thai Food Centre) within walking distance if you prefer a light breakfast like us.

Around 2km from beach, stunning mountain location. Distance no problem as free shuttle runs all day & only 1/2km from edge of town. 100bht for tuktuk late at light.

Only minor criticism was that the piped music seemed to be the same CD played over and over again! Hardly an issue!

Thank you for a wonderful end to our spectacular holiday :)

Room Tip: We had room 117 which was fabulous. Huge, great bathroom, quiet and near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

We appreciate your very kind review. Thank you too for placing your trust on us. Words can not express the attitude we feel toward such confidence in us. Your pleasing moments and marvelous experience are our success.

Your notice on repeat music at the lobby is very appreciated. We will change CD more frequency for a day. Thank you.

We continue to deliver you an exclusive hi-class services. Please do not hesitate to make your many returns at Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    336
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
179
575
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I with my wife stayed here for Two days in Dec'13 . Every thing was so nice here that i cant even express in my words. The ambiance of resort, room sizes, toilet sizes, swimming pool everything was more than perfect. Staff was very friendly in nature. I would lyk to mention about "NI" the lady at reception. She was very helpful and very friendly. We were coming from Phuket and we love Ao nang jst becoz of this resort.When we checked out and reached Bangkok we really missed this resort and realized that we sud have planned one or two more days in Krabi so that we could have fully enjoyed the facilities at Phu Petra. Next time when i will be travelling to Thailand i willl sure plan my trip through AO Nang and will stay in this resort. One thing i would like to mention here is that WIFI quality was not up and it needs to be improve.

Room Tip: Pool side villas are better than hill side villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ar_abhishekgautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

We thank you for your generous compliments. Your encouraging words will certainly help to strengthen the conviction and motivation of all staff at Aonang Phu Petra Resort. You mentioned to Ni here which we already passed on your praise to her. We are so glad that our services meet your expectation and you are overjoyed to everything at the Resort. Thank you for saying that staying at our Resort is "more than perfect". With our hard and sincere working, this fills our spirit really.

For your remark on wifi weakness, please to be noted that it's during our improvement. Thank you for such kind information.

And thank you for saying that you will return. We look forward to that date to come soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Phu Petra for two nights on the way home from Koh Lanta. After our stay we wish we had decided to stay longer as it was truly one of the most relaxing places we have ever stayed. The rooms were very large and the bathrooms were well equipped with a great shower and bath. The pool area had a beautiful view of the cliffs and was clean and well cared for. Breakfast was just run of the mill but had most things you would want.
The distance into town wasn't a problem for us. We caught the hourly shuttle which was more than adequate and on one occasion just walked back as it really wasn't that far (although the heat might make it more difficult).
The staff were friendly and very helpful. We probably weren't there long enough to find much wrong with the hotel but the time we did stay there we thoroughly enjoyed. Ao nang is a busy tourist town and by staying at the Phu Petra you get the opportunity of visiting the hustle and bustle but being able to go back to peace and tranquility. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

Thank you for rating us such a very high score in tripadvisor. We appreciate your comment so much. We are overjoyed to know that you spent the very valuable and perfect moments with us.

Thank you for saying that you will come back. We look forward to that time to come soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, fresh and clean. Nice and quiet hotel location. The internet was not working so well but it was not a problem for us. The restaurant was really good. The free shuttle bus was a big advantage!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

We appreciate your review. Thank you for placing your trust on us. For your observation on wifi, we are sorry for your inconvenience. Please to be noted that it has been fixing. However, you can, of course, find a strong wifi signal in public area like lobby and swimming pool.

Thank you for saying that you will come back. We look forward to your many returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a small hotel with semi detached bungalows . The rooms and bathroom are massive and to a high standard . There is a free shuttle to the middle of the high street which is not far from the beach .There is one problem with this hotel there are not enough sun beds and to us this was a problem when we come back from the beach. Having said that this is a good hotel and the staff very good with plenty of smiles and I would go back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear our valued guests:

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note that you had a very good stay at our resort. For your remark on sun lounger, please to be noted that we are considering to buy more to facilitate our guests' needs. However, should you find you can not occupy sun lounger, please do not hesitate to inform our staff. They will immediately assist you. They are actually around there to observe what you need but there are cases they don't recognise your needs. Your asking for help is always welcome in every case.

It's our pleasure to note that you will return. We look forward to welcoming you back here with our warmest Thai hospitality as you ever received.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay at phu petra even though we didnt really like ao nang. Very touristy and given that generally foreigners are rude and unfriendly compared to thai people this seems to have rubbed off on the local thais.
Anyway the hotel was great. Room was spacious and well maintained by staff. Bed sheets were changed every day and fresh towels and water provided. The pool was nice and the backdrop of the surrounding cliffs very beautiful. The free transport to town was a nice touch. Getting back to phu petra was 100 baht which is about 4 times what you would pay outside ao nang. Prices are crazy here.
My suggestions for improvements: Some of the walls and the curtains were dirty. We were accosted by mosquitos each night so a mosquito net might help.
I used the complementary massage service. It was by far the worst massage i have had. The masseuse would massage with both hands and then about every 20 seconds she would pick up her phone to check something. At one point i opened my eyes to check what she was doing and she was digging in her ear with her finger. Then proceeded to massage me again. I asked her not to massage my head or face then politely asked to finish early so that i could have a shower. I know it was complementary but i would have paid her to stop. She was the only masseuse who has pulled at my skin during a massage. It was like getting a chinese burn back in primary school :)
Many staff were very friendly and helpful however most had a very lacklustre approach to service. There was one particularly helpful and friendly young man who was very quick to help and always smiling. His name was Lungpiras. Get some more people like him :) Apart from the massage it was a great place to stay. 4/5.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stonkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

Thank you for your kind review. It was our honour to deliver you the best Thai hospitality. We delight to note that you love the major parts of us. Your suggestion, at the same time, are very valuable and appreciated.

As you suggested 1) the walls and the curtains were dirty. It's in our schedule to repaint the wall and changed the new set of curtains. For the curtains, please to be noted that we replaced the new ones in some rooms already. Some other rooms are in queue to do in this green season. For the wall, it comes from untidy painting rather than dirty spots, please to be noted. 2) You were accosted by mosquitoes each night so you suggest for net. As tropical rain forest country, especially with nature surrounded, mosquitoes are unavoidable. However, we do insect fumigation twice a month but can not get rid of it 100%. We wish for zero mosquitoes in our resort really as there are numbers of complaints regarding this issue. But please understand us that it is not possible. In your case, thank you really. You are so kind understanding us and please to be noted that net are available upon requested. 3) Bad masseuse. Please accept our apology for this unpleasant experience you receive from us as this event is unacceptable. We have outsourced therapists outside and we ever told them not ever to pick the phone during massage and always maintain the same high quality of massage to our beloved guests. It has nothing to do with "complimentary" because no matter you pay or it's include in our package, the standard should be maintained the same. In this case, we already advise her boss and insisted that this kind of event won't ever happen again or else we will end the contract, FYI. The last notice is that many of our staff were very and helpful however most had a very lacklustre approach to service. We are deeply sorry. This event should not be happened. We always teach them to initiate services with their enthusiasm and eagerness. We promise to investigate the situation and retrain them again since our services delivered to our beloved guests is what we always emphasis.

All in all, we feel very honour to receive lots of praise from you and very appreciated your useful information and suggestion. We promise to improve things to remain the same standard while continue to create "one-step- beyond" services to our beloved guests. Thank you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Phu petra was lovely from the moment we checked in until the moment we left. The staff couldn't do enough for you. The villa rooms themselves are huge, great value for money. The pool area was gorgeous, never had a problem getting a lounger and the view of the mountains surrounding were breathtaking, id go as far to say it made the hotel. Breakfast was so so, but had a great egg chef preparing any type of eggs you like. Ao nang itself wasnt what we expected, really touristy and even has a starbucks on the main street, this made us even more pleased that the hotel was amazing as we could retreat back there to relax. would highly reccommend Phu Petra.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoiltlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear our beloved guests:

We are very pleased to know that in your opinion, our resort was lovely from the moment you checked in until the moment you left and it's also our happinesses to note that you take a real relaxation while staying in our resort.

We thank you for recommending us to others and we do hope you will also come back too.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#16 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing