We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Thailand
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ao Nang Pearl(Ao Nang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
625
369
97
38
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
369
97
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourhourly shuttlepoolside villahillside villashuttle servicetuk tukrooms are hugehill sidelimestone cliffsour honeymoonswimming poolegg stationthe main streetrelaxing staymountain viewquiet locationthe hotel offers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2010

The hotel is only a few months old, and is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main street, which makes for a very peaceful and quiet holiday. We were in a Majestic poolside villa. Huge room, beautifully decorated in a traditional Thai fashion, with a big verandah, complete with two wooden loungers that unfortunately had no cushions and were therefore extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom, whilst being decently-sized, appeared unfinished as far as decoration is concerned - most of the walls were finished in a cement render, and not painted or tiled, which lead us to think that keeping the room clean was not the main consideration! Smelly drains were reported, but remained smelly. Take care in the shower, because the water can occasionally come through scalding hot, just when you're not expecting it! Don't arrive late at night and expect to sleep in and have breakfast in your room - that is not available, and breakfast in the restaurant is packed up and cleared away promptly, some days by 1015. Some of the hot food available in the food-warming dishes was patently not acceptable, by virtue of being dried out and stuck to the bottom of the pan, while the noodles were sometimes just a congealed mass - not good enough. The specials board in the restaurant had two meal options, which have now not changed for over a week.The in-room tea/coffee making facility is replenished each day, and was limited to the supply of ONE, yes 1, teabag and two coffee sachets per day. The Phu Anda lounge does not appear to be in use - it contains a couple of chairs and tables and seemed to be used as a dining area for hotel management.
The whole hotel, despite being a very striking collection of buildings, lacks any imagination in planting to complement the buildings. There are no flowers in the grounds at all - lots of trees, but no colour just to set the place alive. There are many other hotels in the area that fully warrant a 4* rating both in facilities and price, which sadly can not be said of the Aonang Phu Petra.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magalan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

If peace and quiet is what you are looking for then Phu Petra is for you. The main reason that drew me to this resort was it just opened...no need to worry about poorly maintained properties which was usually what you find in this region. Phu Petra being very new was very clean and very nicely done up. I stayed in one of the hillside villas and did not regret not topping up for a poolside villa. The views of the cliffs are amazing especially at night. The resort is very small and so the pool was only a few steps further away. It looks much bigger on their website as the new building was not even being constructed but I think they are starting construction and so the hillside villas might no longer be so quiet and peaceful in a couple of months.
The rooms are huge. The bed is huge and so is the bathroom. You could fit a London ensuite room into their bathroom lolz. Its got a nice bathtub and separate shower area. The deco of the room was modern thai with lots of space for you lounge around in. I spend alot of time on the private patio as the pool was really too hot even with the sun shades. I just walked a few steps to the pool for a dip when it gets too sweaty :) Please wear your shoes or risk burning your feet.
Although it was not located within walking distance to the main beach area, I don't mind as it was really too hot during the day to walk around town. I much prefer to enjoy the resort and go out only in the evening. The resort provides hourly shuttle to the beach which was really useful. Similarly I wish they could provide hourly return shuttle to the hotel. The only time I took a taxi back it costs me only 60bht.
The breakfast provided was adequate. The local dish was the worst ..some dried out fried noodles (yucks) but I like the eggs and bacon station which they prepare for you upon ordering. Use those and make your own bacon and fried eggs sandwich....yummy. Their coffee was very good, really strong and thick.
Overall the resort met my expectations. This is the 3rd time I visited Krabi and Phu Petra has the best rooms but the worst location. If you like convenience, look for a hotel near Ao Nang beach otherwise Phu Petra will do very well for a nice, quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyFeet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We were lucky enough to be among the first to stay at this wonderful hotel. The staff were friendly, attentive and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were probably the best we have stayed in, and great value for money. We could not believe how big they were! Having travelled extensively throughout Thailand we would thoroughly recommend a Stay at Phu Petra and Krabi in general.

The scenery is terrific and the pace on the street is not as hectic as in Phuket. Everyone is still fairly laid back and we found the shopping cheaper than at Phuket.

The food we had at the resort was always fresh and great quality. The kids had a great selection and the prices were very reasonable.

The location was just a short (2 minute) drive from the main shopping area. You could walk it if you were keen but we took advantage of the free shuttle into town. It was close enough for convenience but still able to be private when needed.

We really could not recommend this hotel strongly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

When we chose the Phu Petra one of our main criteria was peace and quiet and the Phu Petra certainly delivers on that score. We really enjoyed our 10 day stay there. As has been said if you are after a hotel with activities and entertainment this one isn't the one for you. I think the "resort" in the hotel title may be misleading to some who see a resort hotel as a self contained complex offering all sort of activities on site.

Firstly our poolside suite was very spacious and comfortable with everything you would expect. There is a large fridge in the room and bottled water is provided daily.

All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful at all times and I could not fault them in any way. I was very surprised to read criticism of them in a previous review.

During the day it was great to relax by the pool as it was wonderful and quiet with no problems getting a sunbed but as has been said a few more parasols would be a good idea.

We alternated between eating at the hotel and going into Aonang for the evening, we found the food at Phu Petra to be excellent and not that expensive as you might expect in a hotel. They do a couple of set 3 course menus at 700 Baht for 2 people. The breakfasts were adequate and could do with more variety. The place was kept spotlessly clean and extremely well kept.

There is an hourly taxi service down to the beach which takes about 5 minutes. We walked back on a few occasions and it took about 15-20 minutes to do so. It would be useful if the taxi service back was every hour as well rather than just the 3 times offered. Once you leave the main road there is no lighting for the last quarter mile or so to the hotel so isn't ideal for walking at night. A tuk-tuk back should cost about 50-60 Baht if you haggle.

Having just opened and being subject to continual improvement it is difficult to really assess this hotel. In out 10 day stay there was real evidence of the management listening to suggestions and making improvements on a daily basis. Having stayed in many hotels in my time I can assure you that The Phu Petra Resort is fantastic place to stay, they do all the important things well and make your stay very relaxing and comfortable, with the level of commitment shown by management I am sure this hotel will continue to improve and become even better as a result.

If you want to be pampered and enjoy a truly relaxing stay I would highly recommend the Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

I would like to thank Mr Nattakorn and all his staff for making our stay there so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

we were in krabi for our honeymoon for 4 nights... the ao nang phu petra was the best part of our stay... the staff was extremely courteous and helpful.. i am a vegetarian and they remembered that each time they suggested me a dish.... the room was fabulous.. we were in the hillside villa... a very private deck and lovely views.... their restaurant was very moderately priced according to krabi standards and they have a very efficient shuttle service to the main market area. for those who would want to be closer to the beach phu petra is a little away.... but if you are looking for a relaxed leisurely stay.. then you must stay here.... and their Thai massage was wonderful too... if we ever went back to krabi... then aonang phu petra is where we would stay....!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neha_duggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews