We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best boutique resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
1 review
“The best boutique resort”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

It was a very nice hotel 4 star but I would give it 5 star. Phu Petra is the perfect boutique resort for a holiday if you are not very fussy about the locations. This place is definitely for couples.

The staff are beautifully mannered, fast and efficient. All have good English, we never felt like they could not understand us.

Cooking class here was very perfect, got many ideas how to cook them!

Overall.. would love to go back.............

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprmarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    339
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
181
579
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We moved to 3 different rooms and everywhere were many many ANTS.
Only in the last room not in the bed.
Shuttle service to Aon Nang beach, every hour, but to go back it is difficult because that is not every hour. Strange...
Breakfast is OK and swimmingpool also. The view is GREAT!!
Beware this hotel is NOT on the beach. We know that but many people didn't.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
To clarify some points, here are:-

1. The ants that our guest found in room
A: We have to say that everytime upon guests arrival, our room attendance will have last 5 mintues to recheck every detail in room to make the best room for them. The ants are normally found during the stay of guests, that not oftenly, sometimes from the sweetest stuff guests bring or eat in room, sometimes from the rains (it ususally comes with rain)... and one of the real reason is that we are located in truly natural scent made it realy hard to control of it. However, everytime our guests inform us, we will just in time rush in room to make it all clear or even changing the rooms for them. We are appreciated for your understanding our side of effort to deliver super best experience to all of you.

2. The Shuttle service on the way back to resort not every hour
A: Base on our survey through questionaire, we are pretty sure we, in general, provide enough way back of shuttle bus to the resort. We usually inform schedules to all guests during their checking in and we, normally, add up the way back during high or peak season when the needs is increased.

3. The resort is not on the beach
A: Yes, We are not on the beach but it takes only, approximately, not more than 5 minutes to Aonang Beach which we provide free shulttle bus every hour. We are the 4 star resort discovered lying just ahead of panoramic stunning mountain view on Aonang Beach area and we really never ever describe ourselves as "on the beach resort.

We promise to carry on our best part of warmest services, at the same time our continuous improvement and development to the best of our hospitality will be with all of our loving guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
German
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Really best place for relaxation, No crownded of people around the resort. Not difficult to go to the city because we rented motorcycle with them. Anyway,they normally provided free shuttle bus to the city hourly. Other guests could go with them also. Staff were fantastic, awesome, vey helpful and friendly. Hope to see all of them for my next visit

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AronC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed five nights and were just amazed at Phu Petra. The staff could not have been more helpful, the rooms and the facilities were beautiful.
The mountain setting, slightly away from the noise and tourists of AoNang beach was perfect. The views from the hotel were quite stunning as the sun rises and sets against the mountain. Beach lovers can get to the beach on a free shuttle, and back for almost nothing in a taxi. The best food is to be found 500m back from the beach in the fish resteraunts.

The holiday was made so much better by all the tours arranged for us by Justin at Phu Petra. Each day he had something new for us, island tours, diving, riding elephants, hot springs, kayaking.... and after a day of adventures there were very reasonably priced massages and cocktails in the hotel. Just perfect.

Thank you to Justin for all his help, and to Ot for the breakfasts, the cocktails, and finding us binoculars so we could see the monkey in the jungle.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Phu Petra Resort is fantastic resort. It is zen-feel, out of the town, between mountains, very quiet. Cleanliness flawless, both inside the room and within the resort.

It was during off-peak session and I brought my parents (>70) and kids (<6), so we had practically the oldest and youngest groups of people. They were well taken care of, the staffs are very friendly and helpful, with great attention to details.

My kids love the swimming pool, as it is clean and has strong jacuzzi. My room faces the lime-stone mountains, a relaxing environment, and the view is great. The room and its furniture are made by beautiful wood.

Location however is a little inconvenient but the hourly hotel shuttle offsets that problem if planned properly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinWencheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a fantastic stay.
The rooms are huge, big bed, great bathroom! We had a hill facing room and it was fantastic - If you are staying here I would suggest getting one of these.
The location was ok, it takes about 10 mins to get to Ao Nang beach by taxi/scooter. They have a shuttle service which operates every hour. Walking from/to the main Ao Nang street can take up to 20 mins.
The staff were very helpful and around whenever required.

I would definitely stay here again.
J&B

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We two stayed in their Hillside Villa for 4 days last week (mid-July 2010). We enjoyed the stay and here are what I like about it, and also some minor areas for improvement:

Like:
- The room was spacious, the ceiling was very high.
- The two beds were comfortable, linen was clean
- It's quiet both in daytime and nightime.
- We didn't get any mosquito bite thoughout our stay (but got some ants "attacking" my pack of dried strawberry left on the desk)
- Air-con was cool enough and no particular noise
- An in-room safe with digital lock is free for use (clear instruction and demo were given by the manager when he was showing us the room)
- Got both shower and bath tub in the washroom. The water supply was good, no problem with hot water supply. A bit strange to have a wardrobe in there too though.
- A free standing airer is available in every room.
- The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The manager, Justin, spoke English very well and was always able to provide prompt service, from fixing the problem with our toilet to borrowing us some band-aids.
- The restaurant staff were also very helpful and flexible. On our second day of stay, the pick-up van for our day trip arrived 30min early so that we couldn't sit down and have our breakfast before leaving. The restaurant was able to prepare some sandwich for us in just 5 min. On another day of excursion they were also able to satisfy our order of packed breakfast.
- Free in-room wifi was provided but we didn't bring our laptop so we couldn't use it. But they do have two desktop computers available free of charge at the reception area. The internet connection was fast :) Printing is available at 20Baht per page.
- Free hourly shuttle from the villa to the beach is provided (you may refer to my uploaded photo for the schedule). Returning shuttles are also provided, but only at four time slots throughout the day.
- The pool was not big, but I like the hill backdrop :)
- Phad Thai (thai fried noodles) was served in their breakfast menu and it was really yummy! Much better than those we had in the food stalls along the beach road :P
- The welcoming drink was great :) (though it was simply a glass of apple juice, it was perfectly chilled!)

To improve:
- The only thing we did not like about the room was the occasional bad smell coming from the drainage of our toilet. It wasn't too strong and wouldn't affect the sleeping area as long as the washroom door was closed, but it certainly wasn't very pleasant when it came. The staff did help us to their full extent to fix the problem. The house-keeping staff came and tried to get rid of the smell a short while after we told the front desk staff about it. But the smell just returned in the afternoon and evening. Later at night the manager asked us if the smell was gone, and offered us to transfer to another room when he knew it was still there. But since we had already unpacked our luggage and the smell only came occasionally, we didn't change to another room. Hope that they will find out where the smell comes from.
- The schedule of the returning shuttle was a bit weird. It would pick up guests outside the McDonald at 11.20, 13.20, 17.20 & 21.20. It would be better if one or two more shuttles could be provided in the afternoon & evening?
- The corner where the two desktop computers for guests' use are located is kind of hot and stuffy. Maybe they could consider setting up a fan there?
- Plastic bed corners should be considered to be added to their wooden beds. My friend's leg just got hurt one night accidentally when he was getting off the bed (that's why we had to ask for some band-aids :P )

Remarks:
- Based on our observation, the poolside villas did not have pool access. But it's closer to the pool and got a pool view.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratchaphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing