We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rare gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rare gem”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed 3 nights in Phu Petra. Was upgraded from a hillside to poolside villa. Service was excellent as expected for a boutique hotel of this standard with around 32 rooms.

Great things about this hotel:
They've very good bed and I'm very picky with beds. I've a good night sleep throughout my stay in Phu Petra. The whole hotel was very clean including the room. Staff offered me DVDs and I took up their offer. They even helped me to hookup a DVD player in my room.

I booked a taxi to the airport from one of the agents along Ao Nang beach. Taxi arrived 45 mins late. I got one of the staff to assist me in calling the company to check on the status. Staff was willing and keep apologizing even though its not his fault since I didnt went through their travel desk.

Hotel staff were very helpful. The place was very quiet and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davekiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    339
    88
    33
    11
See reviews for
180
578
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The best thing about Phu Petra is the staff - they are friendly yet proffessioinal and sincere. Nothing was too much trouble - even did the toast at breakfast !!
The hotels location is fabulous with stunning views of the cliffs and just 5 mins free shuttle bus to the centre of Ao Nang - 50 to 100 Bahts return in tuk tuk.
Rooms are huge with loads of storage space and very luxurious as are the equally huge bathrooms and balcony. Pool area great with plenty of loungers and attentive staff to help with towels and parasols. Restaurant / bar was very reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard so we visited many times for meals or just drinks.
Whole 8 days were fabulous thanks to the standard of accommodation and especially the customer service. Already planning to re-visit in Feb 2011 !!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Numptyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

really love this place to bits. the room was huge (my new found frens who came over for a chitchat was amazed to see us having such a beautiful room) and with a HUGE bathroom + bathtub. :) customer service was superb, the place was slightly off the main road, but thats what we need, a break from the noisy and bustling citylife.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I was there to celebrate anniversary with my gf. Before the trip, I sent a couple of emails to the resort for enquiries and all were replied very promptly. The 1st impression was great. All were as promised. The staff were great, always saying hello and very helpful.

The room was fabulous! It was spotlessly clean and well maintained. We stayed in one of the villas with mountain view and it was just perfect for privacy and relaxation.

Overall, we highly recommend this resort, especially for honeymooners or those who want a quiet, tranquil and luxurious place that is affordable and is away from the hustle and bustle of the rowdy areas.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Me and my gf just got back from Krabi this October. We stay in this Beautiful hotel from 10 until 13.10.2010. The only words i wanted to decribe about this hotel is super SATISFIED!

This is a secret & suprise trip arrange by my girlfriend to celebrate for our 5th anniversary of our love journey(i do not know where we are going until i reach the airport@very surprise!). This is the 1st time we visit Krabi,this hotel help my girlfriend to arrange everything & its all perfectly arrange.And the price they charge are very very worth it!

Let me share something about why we love this hotel so much! The hotel is located nearby to Auonang beach and there is alot of nice affordable restaurant around it.It will be very convinient if u rent abike to go around(only cost u THB 200 perday). The hotel is just in front of a beautiful mountain, apart from the busy side of Auonang beach but yet near enough to get there.They provide 24 hr free internet usage at the lobby!

The challet is very new & i rate 5 star for its cleanness! Its very spacious & has everything we needed. Everything in the room is working fine & the supersize bathtub was amazing! It has a very natural tropical environtment but we encounter totally no problems with bugs! One very important things is we feel very safe while staying with them.I had never leave my belonging when we goes out in any other hotel before except for this hotel.The bed was so clean & comfortable!

The service provided by the staff here was Superb and totally better than what we receive in some 5 star hotel we stayed before.All of them can speak in English & they respond very fast when we need something.Thier manager Mr.Nat personally gives us a warm welcome, thier assistant manager Mr.Justin help us to arrange other things perfectly.Not to forget all the other friendly staff especially the staff from thier restaurant!

The island hoping tour provided by them was also very good.The charges is same like others offering but seems everything better.We were on a very new speed boat,Free flows drinks for whole tour,nice lunch & experience tour guide!

They also perfect gives me a secret surprise birthday dinner in thier restaurant .It was very well plan and thier food is excellent! They even give me a few surprise planning & bday gift(without knowledge of my girlfriend).

This is a hotel which gives me a feeling of a warm home stay.....I will definitely stay here again & many thanks again to all the Auonang Phhu Petra staff !!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesphannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDANSK POLEN
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2010

When we arrived to Krabi airport after long long flight via Moscow we couldn't know that we are in paradise. We took taxi to Phu Petra. When we arrived to the hotel we knew that we are in a right place. Hotel stuff as always charming in Thailand. The boy show us our small villa hill side. The room was clean well prepared. Looks like in picture on website. Food was variable. Taste good like an American breakfast :). In spite the hotel is not located close to the see and beech there was no problem to get to the center. Every hour there is a free shuttle bus from hotel to center. Even if you stay long time eg. at party in center you co always return to hotel by TUC-TUC believe me amazing experience ... Krabi is well located near amazing small Thi-island from center you can buy speed boat trip to Koh Phi Phi - woow I've never seen the place like this. Phu Petra is optimal accommodation for young family with children. Hotel is peaceful and quiet. Nice place to stay for diving. Krabi is not so popular that's why traveling there you don't have to worry you will spend summer holiday with half of Europe like in Maiorca eg.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Breakfast & skimming pool are horrible. Staff is nice bit do not understand English with much proficiency. They have DVDs available to lend but strangely no DVD player in the room. The view of the mountain is impressive but the view of the neighbor property is an eyesore. Bathroom smelled of sewage from the drains. The shower was hard to turn on to overhead mode  The room is a good size. The shuttle service is not frequent enough to come back from Ao Nang. We were on of the only guests and the hotel did not have any motorbikes to rent, which was good as they are cheaper and plentiful in town. 

If I were to stay in Ao Nang the Vogue hotel looked good, but I did not see the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
1. Breakfast & Swimming pool are horrible
A: We already brought the breakfast thing into our discussion and todate it has been adjusted to be much variety and tasty. We thank you for your feedback in this area.
For swimming pool, we found a bit of bias of information that most of our guests fall in love with our swimming pool especially with its stunning view and relaxing moment. It really depend on each individual's poit of view.

2. No DVD in room
A: I must say this is wrong information that our guests might misunderstood. We have both DVD player and DVDs available upon calling out at reception counter 24 hours.

3. The view of neighborhood property is an eyesore
A: It's possible that the room we assign for guest at that time is not the best view; they might saw unpleasant view of neighborhood's property in opposite side. We adjust it now by planting more beautiful colorful plants. Thank you for this useful information.

4. Bathroom smelled of sewage from the drains.
A: We, nowadays, fix the problem of unpleasant smell in bathroom and everytime we receive information regarding the smell from guests during their stay in with us, we are sure for our promptness in fixing the problem. We are sorry if we know this a bit too late, made the stay of our guests turned to be not memorable one.

5. The shower was hard to turn on to overhead mode
A: It is really not hard to turn on but it has a way to turn on. It must be that our guest did not recognize how to. It happens sometimes for unfamiliar material in our property for some of our guests. Please note that we are 24 hours in helping; we are 24 hours with you. Our utmost appreciation for all assistances needed during the stay with us.

6. The Shuttle service is not frequent enough to come back from Ao nang
A: Base on our survey through questionaire, we are pretty sure we, in general, provide enough way back of shuttle bus to the resort. We usually inform schedules to all guests during their checking in and we, normally, add up the way back during high or peak season when the needs is increased. However, we will take this complaints to the meeting for a better change that might soonest happen.

7. The resort did not provide motorbikes for rent
A: If our guests meant we did not provide this service, we must say it's completely wrong information. We have motorbike for rent. Upon our guests request for a rent, it takes not more than 20 minutes at maximum to receive the motorbike. If our guests meant the motorbike is not good or it is expensive, please note that the price is normal rate and we always request for newest motorbike from our outsource agents.


Your kindness of understanding that we don't mean to make any excuse, but we try to inform you the truth and we, at the same time, accept unperfection that we vow to continuous improve and develop in all functions to deliver the best hospitality to all of our loving guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Property: Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 10 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, DVD player and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing