We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overated”

Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant after reading the positive reviews. At 9 pm it had only 2 tables.
We got one with the sea view but the smell of sewage was already ruining the experience.

We noticed the nice bbq and we ordered a whole fish which came baked rather than bbq'd and a 400 gr lobster which was nice. The lobster price wasn't on the menu but the waitress advised it was 250 baht per 100gr. On the bill it was priced at 350..

Final bill including a bruschetta, a gls of house wine and a vodka lemon was 3090 (3% visa charge)

We won't go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turistapercasoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    94
    28
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sea breeze and good food”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

While in Ao Nang, I looked for highly rated Thai restaurants. While I could not find some of them, I did manage to find Sala Bua. Good location by the sea and great chicken dishes (had had too much sea food while in Krabi).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nomadicexpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The worst experience we had in a long time”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Nicely located in the seafood street we got a table for 5 with great views. And that's how our journey begun...The Belgian owner received us friendly, took the orders and then disappeared. We saw him during the next hours sitting with friends or family at another table laughing and drinking...where everything went wrong is his restaurant. We ordered a menu (should not be too complicated) and the kids bruscetta and lasagna. The kids received their bruscetta's, we did not get our starter (also bruscetta). After 20 minutes and a lot of complaints...yes! We got our second course, not bad, Thai specialities, the kids got nothing. Just when we finished the Lasagna arrived. Very average. 45 minutes (..) later, our main course. Well, the prawns for me and the uneatable crab for my wife..but not the fried rice we ordered. 20 minutes later and numerous complaints, I decide to walk to the laughing and drinking table where the owner sits since 2 hours. Complain, he listens. We get the rice now and some more prawns....the rice arrived 10 minutes later...20 minutes later still no prawns. The owner was back drinking and laughing at his table, no interest anymore. We decide to go. The owner wakes up, sorry sorry, I give you a discount. The bill arrvives another 10 minutes later....no discount. Back to the owner again at his table, he gets angry. He is with his friends! We leave and will never get back. The poor guy has no clue what happens in his restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ao Nang, Thailand
2 reviews
“Bad service”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Visited the restaurant on christmus eve. When we got there they told us the pizza oven was broken or didnt work that evening. We were 4 of us that visited the restaurant. 2 of us got our food after 1,5 hour and the other 2 after another 15 minutes. But they hade made the WRONG DISH. So we had to wait another 20 min for our food. To be honest it was the worse christmust dinner ever. After we hade complained they gave us a 10 % discount. But i cant recomend any body to visit the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gustavjakobsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pricey but lovly see view”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is one of the restaurant that located by the beach where you can enjoy your meal while looking at the sea view. However i ordered 5 dishes and 1 soup and i am quite disappointing as i felt they are too salty and not as delicious as what i expected they should offer. Price is abit steep which i spend 1900bath for its. Despite this, i still like the ambiance of this restaurant

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ylSG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing