We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very far away from beach and very terrible customer services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandawee Resort & Spa
Ranked #97 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very far away from beach and very terrible customer services”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Reserved early two rooms for 1800 Baht each at Mandaweee Resort & Spa on 17JAN2013 and arrived 5PM and planned to go to see sunset at Ao Nang Beach. Hotel door server, counter and boys did not greeting and no help either to carry belongings. At information counter 3, 4 girls are sitting but rooms are not ready and needs to wait about 30 min again. We have to carry our backpack and stuffs ourself.Rooms are nice layout design, but did not clean well. One room AC is working and other room is not. We request to change the room and asked to room service boy but he said they can fix AC. At counter service did not offer to replace with other room and need to wait about 1 hr again. Finally we have to ask to talk with manager and get another room and wasted my time about over two hours on simple thing for customer services. my Sunset time was passed and very disappointed. We have our own transportation rental car, so no problem to go to beach, Hotel is very far away to walk to beach and need about 5 to 10 min driving time to get the beach. If you think to use shuttle bus or taxi bike or walking distance , you should not stay in this hotel because very far away and can get the same price with better place with walking distance to beach and markets. Breakfast is so so and not variety of foods available to order.

Room Tip: Website advertising photos and reality are different. Hotel is look like condo apartment.Very far aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    37
    26
    12
    29
See reviews for
23
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon in Thailand. We booked online and the hotel looked really nice.
When the taxi dropped us off we soon realised its in the middle of nowhere! Luckily we always hire a scooter so this wasn't too much of an issue, but if we didn't I'd have no idea how you'd get to the beach it nearest shop.
The 'resort' consisted of bungalow type accomodation and concrete blocks 7 storeys high. This is where we were! We discretley said we were on our honeymoon, so were given quite a nice room! We were on the end of the block si we actually had a really nice view!
The room hadnt been cleaned particulary well, the bathroom and kitchenette we a grubby.
Breakfast wea pretty poor and we only went the once even though it was included!
The wifi only worked in the main reception.
This place could have potential but it's in dire need of refurbishment! The place is old and very tired looking! The bungalows sleep 6 and have their own pool, however our view looked over one of these and I did not like them. The pool was tiny and although it sleeps 6 only had 2 sun lounged. They were extremely run down!
The entire place could do with closing down for 6 months whilst they refurbish!!! I wouldn't stay here again!! No way near worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michellehulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

I personally think that this place is not so bad. Stayed in the villa for 3 nights. Definitely am impressed with the design layout of the villa and the little details added to the interior design. The aircon installed are working perfectly fine. Rooms are clean and they have beautiful toilets- i would think they added moroccon touch to it. The buggy drivers are friendly and they have a really nice pool area at the bar. The meals provided can be improved and free wifi is only available at reception area, if you want wifi in your villa, you gotta pay a certain amount. The resort may be far from many places but it is still accessible and not too far if you decide to rent a bike for 250baht per day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyeshrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Unfortunately the hotel made my trip to Krabi a lot less pleasant! We had booked the hotel as a package which included a tour to some islands, two meals and drinks and I got very disappointed in the hotel and the staff for the following three reasons:

1. The hotel was very far away from everything and we needed to wait for a shuttle bus which only went a few times per day. There was a schedule for the bus but it was always delayed with at least half an hour so we spent a lot of time waiting for it. They didn't have any information on this on their booking sites.

2. There were a lot of limitations in the package that we had bought, which we only got to know once we had arrived. For example the food that was included was only a few low-budget choices from the menu and the drinks that were included were merely a choice of the three cheapest ones that weren't even on their drink menu. Furthermore, the staff were always kind of condescending when informing us about this and we felt like we had done something wrong any time we showed our drink or food coupons.

3. The place itself has a nice pool but other than that there is only concrete buildings and ground and the environment is kind of depressing. The rooms followed the same dystopian style with concrete walls and empty rooms.

Therefore, I wouldn't recommend anyone to go to this place since there were places with the same price and much higher standards right by the beach. I am really sorry, I have never been disappointed in Thailand before since the places are usually really nice and the staff at other places always been the most helpful and kind people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Bad location, bad room, hotel website shows way too unreal photos and descriptions. Disappointed. Had to cancel my reservation and moved to another hotel.
There are many hotels in krabi that are in better location, room, service, food and about same price as Mandawee.
I moved to Aonang Prince Ville, 2,000 bht per night. A lot better of everything.
Already put Mandawee on my black list, will never come back, not even if I get it for free.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pd1452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have just returned from staying at the Mandawee "resort and Spa" and need to share some of our concerns to prevent people from going there. Apart from the size of the deluxe suite everything else was well below standard for a 4 star hotel. The website pictures are sooooo far from the truth it should be banned!! The staff are lazy and have lost the will to work and have no respect for the hotel or the guests which is such a shame. The breakfast was awful so we didn't go after day 1 and went into town every morning rather than sit in the depreseeing room looking at cold food and many ants!! The pool at the front of the hotel was green and the free WiFi is only in reception and not in any other part of the hotel. There are so many other options in the Ao Nang area that are closer to the beach and have a much higher standard and hygiene.

Room Tip: Don't go there at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
57 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Dirty Sheets, dirty kitchen, dirty bathroom,junk left from last people staying Gym room was just a few weights very poor and air con was poor, Ants all over breaky ''disgusting''service not good no tea and coffee in room had to beg for over $400 a night i became very upset, had to ask for refund for breaky to eat up road, terrible what a bad start to my great hoilday with my partner..
we will never stay here again far to dirty for me and service was very poor. I dont reccomend staying at this place. we are very unhappy customers and non returning customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank Amazing_Detox_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
2.9 mi away
Lux Family Villas
Lux Family Villas
#11 of 108 in Ao Nang
68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#37 of 108 in Ao Nang
629 reviews
1.5 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#13 of 108 in Ao Nang
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pimann Buri Pool Villas Ao Nang Krabi
1.2 mi away
Chaya Resort
Chaya Resort
#74 of 108 in Ao Nang
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andamanee Boutique Resort
Andamanee Boutique Resort
#67 of 108 in Ao Nang
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandawee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandawee Resort & Spa

Property: Mandawee Resort & Spa
Address: 173-4 Soi Moo 4, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandawee Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mandawee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandawee Resort And Spa
Mandawee Hotel Ao Nang
Mandawee Resort & Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing