We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scary, dirty and smelly bungalows”
Review of Lake Side Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Side Bungalow
Ranked #109 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This entire bungalow resort is a FAKE. First of all; lake side???? I don't even think you can call it a lake.... Anyways the room is old and the bathroom is infested with big ants. We could even see the nests. They were crawling in the toilet. The smell of the sewer is terrible!!!!

We stayed here two nights and every night around 6 am, we heard screams and they we're knocking and pulling on our door like crazy! I was afraid, turns out they wanted to ask if we we're the ones who needed to be picked up for other trips. But the way they we're asking us, was really weird and scary. Especially when you are sleeping and suddenly these people are screaming like crazy!!!!

The people who own this place are weird.... and NOT polite at all.

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Lake Side Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

I feel bad when I write a bad review and this is probably the worst. We booked Lakeside Bungalows for the 11th to 13th Feb 2012 for £59 but only stayed the one night as we were so disappointed. The 'block' is quite a distance from the beach and bars and is just so far away from anything Thai we just couldn't stay. The room was big and clean and the bathroom was fine but we were on our Honeymoon and it sort of felt like we were in jail. Lakeside is probably fine for people who don't care about the location and if the rooms had been prettier we might have stayed! We came from Samui and got to Krabi at 3pm as soon as we had a shower and refreshed we took a tuk tuk to the busier strip and had an amazing day/night. We went to a place called Eden restaurant and sat on the roof terrace and watched the amazing sunset and enjoyed a brilliant meal with lots of wine. We were too drunk to care about the room when we got back and left for Railay first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayqueen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Like other people in here we booked at what we thought was an official tourist office in Bangkok. I'm sure now it was fake due to us being sent to this terrible place.

The room was like a time warp with disgusting dusty furniture and painted in school toilet pink.

The lake is in fact a filthy pond that attracted numerous mosquitos - not good when there are loads of holes in the mosquito screens in your room.

We were so disappointed we opted to spend as little time / money there as possible - spending a day in Railay and booking a 2 day jungle trek - therefore I can't comment on the food /restaurant.

The final straw came when the sink in the bathroom fell off the wall - narrowly avoiding smashing the bones in my foot. As I was wiping blood off my cut feet the owner (Cooper) was very sympathetic and apologetic but when we came back that evening and noticed the sink had not been fixed he informed us that we would have to pay 1500 baht fine for 'damaging the sink'!

Needless to say we refused and luckily left the next day for an overnight jungle trek. On our return the sink was still broken.

Avoid this place at all costs! I cannot emphasise how bad this place is!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Had a 5 night stay here in late jan and found it great for a short stay. 10 minute stroll to the beach and not much further to the town. Its backpacker style accomadation so dont go expecting luxury. We found the staff very friendly and had no cause for complaint.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaughan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

When I read the reviews (after booking) I was horrified. But fot no reason. The staff was very friendly and assisted us (two elderly ladies) in everything. We stayes in a 4 apartment bungalow with AC. The room was very tidy and the bathroom seemed like new. Big towels changed twice during our 4 night visit.
The breakfast was served of choice of 4-5, modest, but sufficent. It"s a fact that the bungalows are far (maybe 600 m) from the beach, but Lakesides provides a tuktuk to take there (back costs only 20 THB). The Nopparath beach is quiet, no sunbeds etc,, but if you dont want to be in a noisy environment, thats your place. Local bus to Aonang center is 20 THB and to Krabi town 50 THB.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suomitytto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We arrived from Bangkok with the nighttrain and bus and just wanted to sunbath and swim in the ocean. We did the big mistake by booking four nights at Lake Side Bungalows in bangkok at the railway station, do not do this! We paid 1000 baht a night for a fan bungalow, and the view of the "lake" was a just some dirty water.

Lake Side is really a bad place to go to. We were very unhappy with our visit because the bungalow was dirty, alot of mosquitos, broken in the roof and everywhere else, old, the handbasin was broken and the water ran down on the floor, the toilet was leaking and dirty and it was mole everywhere in the bungalow. We tried to stay the four nights but we couldn't do it, so we just stayed 2 nights. The beach was far away and it wasn't nice, Ao Nang is better and we recommend you to get a room in Ao Nang instead.

The staff wasn't polite. One guy who stayed at LakeSide fell on the slippery stones and peeled his toenail of and maybe even broke his toe. The staff refused to help him toa doctor and the whole situation was weird. At last one nice guy who worked at at LakeSide helped him and I think he went to a doctor at last.

We don't recommend this place to anyone. Don't go there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

That one word sums it up quite neatly really! Looks rather unlike the brochure given to us in Bangkok at the Thai Backpackers travel agency - where we had the misfortune to be conned into booking this place. On a side note - the Thai Backpackers Agency charged us 1,000 baht a night - these bungalows are actually 500 baht a night - so beware Art and Dave at this travel agency.

The lake seems to be no more than a drainage pit, very far from the beach at Noparrat Thani - and also far from the conveniences of Ao Nang. Everything about this place just doesn't seem quite right - to the owners and staff and the bungalows themselves.

The bungalows smelled really bad - looked like there had been an electrical fire in ours, the walls and ceiling were all bowed and water stained - the bathroom was quite funny actually - one of those sinks that wets your feet at the same time - and super easy to hold a conversation with your fellow traveller whilst on the toilet - seeing as there's no ceiling - or wall that continues up to the top - so you could theoretically play a game of catch with one in the bedroom and the other in the bathroom (why you would, I don't know - it's just a suggestion).

My partner and I were fuming at the situation we were in and simply decided to leave (so I gave a sleep rating of terrible even though we didn't stay the night - but can't imagine we would have slept well as furious as we were with the Thai Backpackers Agency. We rearranged our transfer to Surat Thani and changed our tickets for an overnight back to Bangkok to that very same day.

Don't recommend the area either - mostly half knocked down, smelly and a lot of half-hearted construction going on.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
3.5 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#29 of 109 in Ao Nang
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#32 of 109 in Ao Nang
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Krabi Thai Village Resort
#55 of 109 in Ao Nang
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#48 of 109 in Ao Nang
292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aonang Cliff View Resort
Aonang Cliff View Resort
#26 of 126 in Ao Nang
483 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ao Nang Friendly Bungalow
Ao Nang Friendly Bungalow
#92 of 142 in Ao Nang
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Side Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Side Bungalow

Address: 119 Moo3, Ao-Nang, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range: £7 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Side Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Side Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Side Bungalow Hotel Ao Nang
Lake Side Bungalow Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing