We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience at Sabai Mansion”
Review of Sabai Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sabai Mansion
Ranked #46 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good experience at Sabai Mansion”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January 2014. The staff were very helpful and arranged transport to Krabi Airport and laundary service. The location is good with lots of resturaunts close by. The pool was not terrible warm, but for a couple of Canadians in 30+ C heat, it was quite refreshing.

Room Tip: Street side can be a bit noisy in the late evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    82
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
25
95
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We were desperate given that there were very few rooms available in Aonang and they took advantage of that. The room was $60 per night. That's the most we've paid on this trip and the worst value we've got. The room wasn't what you would call clean and proper and the wifi never worked during our stay. We informed the staff about it several times but they never did anything about it. Eventually one just forgets about it and lets it slide. No point in ruining our short stay in Aonang. It was our first visit there and later on we realized that we could have done much better had we prepared in advance.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was a cute place, but the rooms were small and old-looking. Not impressive considering we paid over $100/night. No safe. Also, the bed was by far the smallest we slept in out of the four hotels we stayed at (all at about the same price) and the bathroom was a little ghetto.

The staff was very friendly, however. The didn't give us grief over being 10 minutes late for check out, and they arranged a cab for us to the airport and let us leave our bags there for 7 hours.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

* My wife and I stayed in Sabai Mansion for 2.5 weeks over Xmas 2013 /New Year. I shall start with the description of the hotel and services, but there is also some info about restaurants, markets and Tesco below.

* THE SHORT VERSION: (1) Good location | (2) Very friendly & customer-focused service | (3) Decent value - swimming pool, balcony, basic rooms (don't expect a 5 star hotel) at a reasonable price (Note: the price is relatively high for Thailand and excluded breakfast. However, it was reasonable given the season (Xmas) + location + the fact that there was a swimming pool).

* EASY BOOKING /COMM'S: I had booked a room via email (check out their website for contact). The Dutch owner Jan had also provided some helpful advice on currency exchange in Ao Nang (plenty of options). I had paid 10% deposit by PayPal and the rest (90%) at the end of our stay. Too easy! :-)

* GOOD LOCATION: A short walk from the beach and a short walk to the other side, where one can find more authentic local restaurants (closer to the backpackers' area).

* GOOD SERVICE: Very friendly team at the reception /management. A couple of examples demonstrated excellent customer focus:
(1) When we arrived, I found out that the in-room safes had been removed and the only option was to leave the valuables in a locker at the reception. I wasn't happy about it, as I carry my work laptop and it could have been inconvenient for me. Security wasn't a concern (it may actually be safer at the reception). The Thai manager offered an option of giving me a safety box, but anyone could have carried it out (not much of a safety box, really). I had no option but to use the locker option, but I wasn't very pleased about it and let the manager know. The owner was overseas, but the manager sent him an email and after two days, they sent someone to install an in-room safe. Well done for being so attentive to customer needs!
(2): We were given two options for the room. We took the one by the corner, as it offered more privacy and windows on two sides. The bed was the downside, as it were two separate single beds. The other room had a double bed, but we preferred the extra privacy and windows. The Thai manager said that within a few days, he should be able to change the bed to a double bed. We didn't really count on it, as we had had other experiences with such promises in Thailand. A couple of days later, without us mentioning it, he followed through on changing the bed and we had a double bed for the rest of our stay, which we were very happy with.

* BASIC, BUT COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN ROOM: Booked the Double Room Balcony for Baht 1,950 /night (before discount due to long stay). The room is basic, but clean. Old TV, not flat screen (re: reception, refer Infrastructure below) + fridge. No coffee making facility (but one can get an electric kettle in Tesco for ~Baht300). Size okay, not too big, not too small. Shared balcony nice to sit on in the evening (morning too hot, as the sun strikes straight in your face).

* BREAKFAST OPTIONAL: Breakfast was not included, but there is a restaurant downstairs. Not sure about the food, as did not try.

* GREAT CLEANING OPTIONS: In addition to the 2 conventional options of 'Please clean my room' and 'Please do not disturb', there is an option of just changing towels, toilet paper and water. I reckon all hotels should learn from that. When we left the 'Please do not disturb' sign on the door, the ladies left us fresh towels, toilet paper and water on the seats outside the room. Very considerate. Given that I believe in leaving them a tip only at the end of the stay and they continued to do that for 2.5 weeks, I can confidentially say that this is driven by standards of service rather than chasing tips. Well done.

* AVERAGE INFRASTRUCTURE: (1) TV reception - The TV is old (analog, not a flat screen and not big) and the reception is awful, with static noise, which was not resolved within our 2.5 weeks of stay; and (2) Internet signal - mostly okay, but on and off sometimes. Better than many other experiences I have had in Thai hotels, though.

* POOL AN ADDED VALUE: The pool is okay, probably around 15m (as a rough estimate). Cleaned daily 8-9am and generally speaking, quite clean. As it is an outdoor pool surrounded by vegetation, it is impossible to avoid the insects floating around in the water... However, I used it daily and had no issues. It is also great to have a pool to sit by in between walks to the beach and dining.

* CUSTOMERS - DUTCH DOMINANCE: Mixed clientèle, with some Dutch dominance, which I liked. Generally speaking, the Dutch guests were very polite, quiet and considerate.

* NOISE LEVEL: Okay. Not the 'party type' hotel, more couples and families with kids.

* VALUE: May be considered over-priced for Thailand, but one should consider that the hotel has a pool to maintain (and maintenance costs..) and also, it was over the Xmas-New Year period (when prices soar).

* NEARBY RESTAURANTS: It's all within short walking distance. The local restaurants away from the beach and not too far on the other side of the road. The ones on /close to the Beach Road are over-touristy, over-priced and over-ranked. If Thai food is your thing, stay away and walk up the hill (away from the beach) for a couple of minutes. If you like Indian food, you can cross the road and walk for 2 minutes towards the beach to Bombay Palace - great Indian food, a bit expensive for Thailand, but in line with other Indian restaurants in the area. We have tried Cleopatra as well, the Arabic one not too far (on the way to the beach) and were very disappointed. Azzurra, an Italian place by the beach was not bad, but not great and over-priced.

* MARKETS: The Markets in Ao Nang are small and disappointing. Check out You Tube videos to see the markets, which operate on different days of the week in different locations. On Friday-Sunday in the evenings, walk away from the beach on the opposite side of the road after ~10 minutes walk, there is a (small) local night market, where you can find some food stalls. If you like spicy fish, you may want to try the wicked Homok fish (steamed in curry souce inside banana leaves). The steamed little 'dumplings' are great as well. I had about 15 of them in one evening and couldn't get enough... ;-)

* TESCO: Tesco Ao Nang opened not too far from this night market in November 2013. It is a relatively small Tesco and focused on food, but you can find some additional products there (e.g., kitchenware).

* OTHER COMMENTS: Judging by the sign outside the hotel, it is for sale (in case you are interested in making a local investment...)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TomGMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Jan at this hotel treats people who book with Agoda as second class guests - so bad that I cancelled my stay in November/December 2013.

I first booked two nights. Then decided to extend my stay four nights. Normally, you'd think a hotel manager would welcome such a decision. Manager Jan, however, emailed me to say that I could not be guaranteed that my second batch of four nights would not necessarily be in the same room as my first two nights despite it being in the same class of room and being made months in advance.

His advice was to cancel the bookings and redo them through Agoda.

"Booking with Agoda means that room preferences can be requested but not guaranteed," he wrote in an email. "It means that any room vacant is to be accepted as on check in is available. Be sure that your booking is just 1 and not 2 separate ones to AVOID CHANGING ROOM AFTER THE FIRST PERIOD OF BOOKING.

Best regards

Jan"

With such a simple request being too much for him to accommodate, I doubted his hotel's service would be any better when I arrived.

So, I cancelled and booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a really lovely stay - the hotel is clean and the room was a very good size, and easy walking distance to everything in Ao Nang. It does take 10 minutes to get down to the beach front but there are so many shops and restaurants along the way that there is lots to look at so this didn't bother us.

Our room was in the poolside building so there were a couple of flights of stairs to get up to - this didn't bother us but others may want to request a lower room if stairs are a problem. Also, wifi did not reach our room - this may have been again due to being high up.

Another thing to mention is that we found day trips and onward travel to be much cheaper in the many tourist agencies outside the hotel than the ones being advertised in the hotel reception - so my advice would be to have a look around for the best price before booking trips from the hotel. If booked elsewhere, they still pick up from your hotel so you don't lose anything!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marielu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at Sabai Mansion for 2 weeks in the beginning of December. Reservation via e-mail was smooth and Jan (the owner) very helpful and quick in answering all questions.
Staff very friendly and helpful (broke the room key in the lock and it got repaired within 1/2 hour), hotel is nice and clean. I recommend room 27 (best view) on the upper floor. pool is very nice and taken care of.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JariMa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#57 of 108 in Ao Nang
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#44 of 108 in Ao Nang
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#43 of 108 in Ao Nang
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#49 of 108 in Ao Nang
220 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#32 of 108 in Ao Nang
235 reviews
0.9 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#29 of 108 in Ao Nang
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabai Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabai Mansion

Property: Sabai Mansion
Address: 249 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#18 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabai Mansion is located at Ao Nang beach 17 km From Krabi Town and 30 km from Krabi airport. Small 24 room hotel built in 2002 and extended in 2003 with a restaurant and swimming pool including Jacuzzi. All rooms with balcony, safety boxes, big beds, free wifi, sat-cable TV, hot water, fridge and air conditioning or fan as choice. It is managed by a Dutch owner who lives more than 20 years in Ao Nang, Krabi already. Very quiet location next to the mountains and about 5 minutes walk from the nicest part of Ao Nang beach. 24 hour reception, with phone, fax and internet facility, travel agency, airport pick up, pool bar and garden, parking, laundry, lockers, car/motorbike/boat/bike for rent. Travel agency with T.A.T license for all local and inter local tours and travel by car, boat, train, bus, plane to all destinations. Many things to do in our area like Island hopping by long tail or speedboat, Jungle and elephant trekking, Canoe, kayak, rafting tours, Diving, Snorkeling, Mountain biking, Rock climbing, Big game fishing and lake fishin. Other things of interest: Botanical garden, catfish farm, orchid farm, waterfalls, hot-springs, crystal pools, Thai boxing, snake farm, fossil shell beach, jungle temples and many other items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabai Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabai Mansion Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing