We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it and returning 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Long Beach Villa
Ranked #34 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it and returning 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

April 2012 .We intended to stay 2 nights but stayed 7. Hut was basic but acceptable. Open windows with mosquito net was fine. We didn't bother with the menu, just asked Ae what she was cooking. It was great. 4 other resorts to walk to on the huge empty beach. Fantastic. We hired a moped which was OK once I had put air in the tyres. We are not as slim as we used to be. Explored lovely beaches and swam in 5* hotel pools. Wrinkly gatecrashers. You need a moped or taxi but Ae will arrange that for you. Cannot wait to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterG9883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Came into town with a plan of staying 3 days, stuck around for 7. Great food, really nice hosts, perfect out of the way beach, a hidden gem.

The only drag is the power outages which made the room pretty warm at times.

If you are looking for some action, this is not the place. Town is a long tuk tuk ride away. We walked in once, had to hire a water taxi to help us across at one point, so its doable, but overall it was about relaxing, reading, and walking the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our weeklong stay here. It's definitely off the beaten path and it was off the grid enough for our liking. You have to work to get here or to Ao Nang so we were mostly away from all the tourists. The villa we stayed in had its own bathroom and shower inside. The mosquito net over our bed was great for keeping out flying bugs. The food was amazingly good so we rarely left the property. This place is about being able to relax and feel like you're at home.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get your own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed with Ae, Pae and there family and they couldn't have been anymore accommodating. The bungalows are very basic but this gives the feeling of being back to nature. The food Ae makes is amazing and the best Pad Thai I tasted anywhere in Thailand. The hotel has its own private beach which makes this place the perfect to get away from the crowds. The only thing I would suggest would be to arrange to Pae to pick you up from the airport or get a taxi from Krabi town straight to the bungalows as the longtail boats cost more than are car. Take a map if you are travelling from Krabi town as the road is new and some people don't know where it is. I'll be going back so as it was so good!

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are the same apart from one which is the family room with is a new building. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Kilometers from Ao Nang beach and then a few more from the main road. Quiet, secluded beach where you can relax and get away from everything.

We arrived in Krabi via bus around 7AM and arrived at the resort around 8AM. It's somewhat secluded so bring a telephone number in case the driver needs directions. It's past the most popular beaches and somewhat out of town, but from the bus station in Krabi to the villa was 300 Baht for two people, which the other local riders remarked was a good deal as taxis cost 400-600 Baht.

Don't get the first offer to your hotel from those unscrupulous con-artists at the bus station who speak English, they will overcharge you by a head. Instead walk a little away from the bus station and you'll see trucks with seats in the back; this is what the locals use, 60 Baht to Ao Nang for each person. If there are locals and you need to get to your hotel, ask if they can barter with the driver to get you there for a discounted price. It's fun to do a bit of work instead of taking the easy way with cash.

It's the off-season in Krabi and we were the only tourists at the place for three whole days, save for a few demanding Indians who came and left because there was no daytime AC. Living in seclusion from town, walking thirty steps to the beach, seeing only a handful of people football fields away, listening to the waves throughout the day and the thunderstorm at night made this a special stay.

It is a little rough to be honest. The hut we stayed in had several leaks during a thunderstorm, which explained the mold spots on the ceiling, but these leaks did not drip onto the floor. There is electricity from 6PM to 6AM that they provide via a generator. There is an AC that you can use at night but we only used briefly. There was no hot water. You'll get sand on your bed regardless of measures you take to prevent it.

If you're open to rustic camping in the woods with slight inconveniences then you'll like this place. If you're looking to be pampered with AC all day, want WiFi internet service, hot water showers, walk outside and see many restaurants, or want to see other tourists, don't come here. This is the exact opposite of that.

We rented a scooter (200 Baht/day) and drove to town and back everyday, sometimes multiple times a day. We drove in at night when it was completely dark on the road except for the shine of the full moon and the scooter headlights. We took a map and drove up and down the coast; exploring the area at our own pace during the day. There are many gas stations around and 150 Baht will fill your tank.

We walked to the nearby island during low tide and noticed all the organisms in the water, the crabs on the beach, the fireflies at night. No light pollution and only a few people around when it gets dark. It's quite eerie since I've never been in an area with so few people at night, but it was like camping in the forests of Colorado.

The caretaker was a wonderful woman who speaks Mandarin Chinese, Thai, and English. She made us food when we sat down in the dining area and we felt special and privileged to be there. She helped us get our scooter, didn't charge us an arm and a leg, provided us with everything we needed and then some.

Overall I liked my stay. It might not be for everyone but if you're into this stuff you should come for a visit.

Room Tip: Look at the bungalows yourself and pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Long Beach Krabi Villas is located west of Ao Nang on a secluded beach of about 1km (2/3 Mile). It has about a dozen stand alone huts and 1 bigger villa type, aircon apartment just off the beach. I had an excellent time reading, walking, swimming and eating. The facilities are simple but sufficient. Nice beds with musquito net, clean bathrooms with cold water only and electricity between 6PM and 6AM. The owner cooks you delicious meals and has a transport service to get you around in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaldwinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
1.4 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#26 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sandbeach Bungalow
Sandbeach Bungalow
#61 of 296 in Krabi Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Emerald Bungalow
The Emerald Bungalow
#174 of 296 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pan Beach Bungalows
Pan Beach Bungalows
#83 of 296 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Krabi Klong Moung Bay View Resort
3.0 mi away
White Sand Halal House Krabi
White Sand Halal House Krabi
#3 of 7 in Nong Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Villa

Property: Long Beach Villa
Address: 155 Moo, 4 Nongtalay | Klongmoung Rd, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful restaurant, with free WIFI, overlooking the gorgeous landscape of the sea which serves traditional home-cooked Thai food and a large selection of Western food. We also have a beach bar that sits on the still waters of the Andaman Sea. Our beach is paved with tiny sea shells and was formerly called Hat Khlong Haeng (which means dried canal beach) by locals, because the beach dries up during low tide and the area turns into Long Beach. You can even walk to the small islands during low tide. You can also witness stunningly beautiful sunset views in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Sawasdee, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Long Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Villa Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing