We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb villa in a fab spot”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alice

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Pool
front view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
bob o
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb villa in a fab spot”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Me and the family just came back from a superb holiday in Krabi. We are very happy to have found this pool villa, it effectively cost us less than half if we had stayed in a hotel and here we had our own pool, a tropical garden with full privacy and views over the limestone peaks this region is so famous for. The villa is in a residential part of Ao Nang ( the beachcommunity of Krabi ), you ring up the villa's taxi guy to get you to the beach & town center or other destinations. A phone was provided during our stay, and the taxi guy was very attentive & quick. I recommend choosing the option to visit a local market with your own Thai cook, choosing the ingredients with her, and cooking a true big Thai meal at the villa at least once, it was great fun and so tasty. All about herbs and spices ! The villa was spotless throughout our stay, and very comfortable. The most surprising thing was the price, which is absurdly low for what you get. It's like, when we arrived, we spent the first coupla days waiting for the catch, but there wasn't one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The help from friendly Simon and his team
Liked least: was a little out the way but that was also so clearly its charm anyway
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrymark...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in February 2013

I like to give you some feelings about villa Alice. The villa is located about one mile from the busy Ao Nang. The villa distinquishes itself by its perfect beauty, not only the house but also the flowery garden with its blue coloured pool. The special beach of Nopparathana, un usual relaxing with its shadowy trees is in walking or cycling distance (I know nobody walks in Thailand, you will have a motorbike, but sorry I am dutch and dont't ride a motorbike, but cycle). Romance is another feeling I have about this villa: clean aircon bedrooms; you get rid of your jetleg in one night. Other nice memories: Endless lingering around the pool making yourself a delicious thai dinner in the kitchen with its good cooking facilities (of course take-away dinners are easier and very cheap) Other feelings I remember is the perfect stillness, no noise at all, which feels very good after a busy day climbing, snorkeling, or sight seeing. The owner Simon can recommend you all the adventures in this area. But first of all the villa is the perfect way to get rid of the stress and the busy life you will probably have and really enjoy your stay in Thailand. Have a good time, I miss this villa, and will be glad to come back next year. I stayed in the villa the week before Christmas 2013 with 8 people, plenty of space!!! Have fun, bye Thailand, thanks Simon, till next year. Truus, back in the cold city of amsterdam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money in a great location”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We came here as six friends looking for an affordable holiday house and found the Villa Alice. Firstly, the location is absolutely fantastic. It is a very secluded spot that is indeed not far from the beach but a mere 5 minute scooter ride. Due to the very quiet location you have to keep your stuff locked up when you are out, which the owner Simon showed us how to do. There are 3 layers of security, firstly a perimeter wall with a lockable gate, then the house itself has deadbolts all over and 2 locks on the main door, then one of the bedrooms has been equipped with a steel roll-down shutter and window bars, so making the place like Fort Knox. Simon asked us to follow the lock-up instructions carefully as there had been thefts from guests who had not followed them, so we did and had no trouble. I note that the previous reviewer complained about security, yet had nothing stolen, how does that work ? How can you complain about something that didn't happen ? Obviously a glass-half-full type of person.
The villa is a U shaped house with a swimming pool at the back with a spectacular million dollar view of this majestic mountain. There are three bedrooms, with the master bedroom having its own wing and bathroom. The two other bedrooms have to share a bathroom. There is also an outdoor bathroom for pool users, so as not to get the villa all wet. There is a massive TV in the living room, which is in the middle of the house and overlooks the pool. There is a media player attached to the TV with scores of movies, including lots of latest-release ones, in HD, plus half a dozen TV shows first seasons, plus kids movies too.
There are two kitchens in this house. An indoor conventional European style kitchen and an outdoor Thai style kitchen. Admittedly, we did not really bother with cooking so much, but we did use the BBQ pit that is provided near the swimming pool and the yard. We did have lot of fun eating, drinking, and lazing in or around the pool. The biggest winner for us was how much natural lighting there was during the day and if we open all the windows and doors, the cross ventilation is absolutely fantastic.
Simon was there to greet us when we checked in and gave us a full lowdown on where to eat, where to party, and where to go for sightseeing or any other activities. He was also nice enough to drive us around to show us where everything is. We were provided with a phone that we could use to call a shuttle at anytime or if there was a problem, we could just called the operations line and they would be there to solve the problem. This villa will comfortably fit 6 to 8 people and for the price of one luxury hotel room, this is totally worth it.
The maid Nan came in every second day and kept the place spotlessly clean. One of the nice things about having a second kitchen is that you can dump all your dirty dishes and not have to look at them until they get washed up for you.
What a brilliant villa, and at an incredibly low price too, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very nice place, has everything one needs for a relax holiday-
Liked least: Going back home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klllh
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice villa, let down by location and security worries”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in November 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Our family of 7 decided to stay at Villa Alice following the reviews on tripadvisor and the great price offered for what seemed to be one of very few 3 bedroom villas in this area. We arranged airport and ferry transfers to the villa through Simon the owner which went well.

Please be aware this villa is secluded, found at the end of a pot holed dirt track in an extremely quiet, badly lit area with a few local houses nearby. Despite the advertising of a short distance to the beach and Ao Nang town it really is not practical to do anything other than to call for a tuk-tuk each time you want go anywhere, please bear this additional cost in mind.

Simon greeted us on arrival to the villa and showed us around, it is a nice spacious Thai style villa with open plan kitchen/living/dining, high ceilings, lots of natural light, 3 good size bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a toilet, the outdoor shower/bath in the master bedroom was lovely.

Then he gave us a run through of security……this was a worry, especially due to the secluded location of the villa.

He informed us that there had been previous theft at the villa and to be very careful to not leave our belongings lying around as they would not take any responsibility for any items stolen. We were advised to store our belongings in a safe room which was one of the bedrooms complete with metal bars on the windows and a heavy duty metal roller door which you then padlocked, as previous comments, this seemed strange to us also as there was no issue with the safety of the entertainment system including flat screen tv dvd/ stereo and media player in the lounge room?

Simon apologised for the state of the garden area, he said due to a longer than expected wet season they had not had time to fully clean the area? There was a dark mould covering most outdoor floor tiles and the outdoor furniture which was in a poor state with legs falling off of plastic lounge chairs, Simon did offer to send someone to clean this area when we were out during the day but after said security issues this did not sit well with us.

We were provided with a mobile phone and told to call a guy called Karim who had a taxi if we needed transport anywhere, Karim was great and could not have been more helpful, but you are left feeling very reliant on him as due to the remoteness of the villa you would have trouble directing other tuk tuks or taxis to find it, especially at night.

The cleanliness of the villa was also an issue, we were told a maid would come to clean every second day, the bathroom was not cleaned at all throughout our 10 day stay, toilet paper and towels were replenished only, yes ants and geckos are an issue but this really isn’t a complaint, its Thailand, its hot and tropical and they’ll always find a way in, the ants get into anything left on the kitchen bench or in cupboards regardless if its sealed so storing all groceries in the fridge is recommended.

Villa Alice is very reasonably priced and a nice, very spacious villa for a large group, but if like us you are not planning on staying in much, it is just too far away from all the action, and security issues are definitely a worry.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: Location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Villa Alice...GREAT spot for friends and family”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Where do I start? Andaman Sky hooked us up with this marvelous villa. Thai style architecture, stylish art, great pool, incredible views, secure, private, lush grounds, a bit remote so any noise we made was completely fine, service by AS was timely whenever we needed ANYTHING, etc. Sit on the lanai, watch the kids frolic in the water, enjoy a Singha, ponder life, gaze at Naga Mtn, get lost in this gem of an experience with the support of the Andaman Sky a phone call away. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property felt remote, but was 5 mins from anything we wanted
Liked least: Occasional bugs, buy hey this is SE Asia...my issue!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huei_xian
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This is a great place to stay, we had a great time here, playing in the pool on inflatable thingies. There are 3 bathrooms and 2 kitchens. The view is sensational - a beautiful mountain backdrop covered in jungle and tropical vegetation.

The entertainment system was good, satelite TV plus a media box with 1 terrabyte of movies and TV series on, so we always had something to watch. What else, well, I suppose I should say something about the outside of the villa (ie the garden, which is pleasant, particularly the frangipani tree which droops over the pool).

The pool is completely private and the scene is one of tranquility and natural beauty, so quiet at night (all day actually) and the surroundings are typically tropical. The villa is quality inside and out, we particularly liked the hot tub and the outside shower that were included in the small private garden attached to the master bedroom. Next time we'll probably go elsewhere and explore a bit more, hope we get as lucky with our next place as we did with Villa Alice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Jac0bs
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa at a Great Price”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a great spacious villa with a lovely swimming pool, quiet, totally private, no bother with neighbours. Our favourite spot was the pool, which has a great mountain view and you can see palm trees swaying in the breeze too, which is cool. Evening-time at the villa is especially magical, as there are lots of outside lights, so you can light the place up like a christmas tree, which makes it all very pretty. The garden has mature tropical trees in it, I like the fan palms best, plus the frangipanee is nice and aromatic.

The villa is in an immaculate state in and out and there is plenty of room for an extended family - there were 9 of us which was a bit if a squeeze, 8 would have been better but we had a last-minute addition to our group - you can't very well tell your son "no, you can't come", can you ?

The boys liked the media player which is wired into the big flat screen TV. There are about 50 movies and about half a dozen first season TV series on the nedia player, so there's no chance of running out of stuff to watch.

The staff are friendly, particularly the tuk tuk driver Karim, the maid was good too, plus the support phone we were loaned worked fine, when we wanted advice about what to do we just rung up and got the help and support we wanted.

The villa is in my opinion exceptionally good value for money. The only criticism I have is that the images on this website do not do it justice, it is far more beautiful than it appears on this site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool/garden area
Liked least: Lack of incentive to go anywhere else!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing