We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian cook and the best service in Thailand”

Alta Marea Italian & Thai Restaurant
Price range: US$3 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: WUOULD YOU LIKE TO TRY OUR ITALIAN SPECIALITIES IN THAILAND?WE ARE WAITING FOR YOU AT ALTA MAREA ITALIAN RESTAURANT, WHERE YOU CAN FIND ONLY REAL ITALIAN FOOD, HOME MADE BREAD, LASAGNA, RAVIOLI, SPAGHETTI...WE MAKE EVERYTHING FRESH AND GOOD BECAUSE WE ARE FROM ITALY, AND WE LOVE GOOD FOOD.NOT EXPENSIVE, BUT VERY LOVELY AND VERY GOOD QUALITY.SINCE NOVEMBER 2011 WE OFFER ALSO A GREAT LOCAL THAI FOOD, FOR 80 THB ONLY!!!
1 review
“Real Italian cook and the best service in Thailand”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

It's nice to fill the difference in the quality of the ingredients that comes from Italy. I recommend the home made lazanya and pizza....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dardvirasayag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian for Thailand”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We enjoyed well cooked pasta including home made ravioli, was quite pleasantly surprised. Def worth a try if your looking for some variety.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank KNR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real Italian restaurant with real Italian food”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This restaurant was the dicovery of our trip. It is runed by a young Italian couple. Warm welcome and delicious food, pleasant atmosphere on the Nopathara beach. This restaurant is 100 m from Sala Talay resort where we stayed so they were kind enough to even make food delivery to our hotel. I highly reccomend their homemade pasta, pizza and desert menu!
This was the only Italian restaurant where we found Italian management and chef in all Ao Nang area. Most of the other "italian" restaurants are run by Indian people and serve precooked pasta with canned sauce!
Alta Marea sauces are prepared at the moment you order it and are super delicious.
Prices are very reasonable and I definitely reccomend this restaurant.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TerrazzeSamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chocolate cake nearly twice the price of main meal!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Great appy. Nice main. Friendly service. When asked if we wanted chocolate cake we asked if it was expensive as we are on a budget and were told if wasn't. Got the bill and one small piece of cake (yes it was good but not that good) was nearly double the price of one main. Very disappointing. Don't tell people something is reasonably priced when it isn't. Our fault for not asking the price before ordering. Won't happen again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThingOnASpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Svizzera
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like at home”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Very good Italian food. All pasta are home made and fresh.
You absolutely have to try the "tortino al cioccolato" - a fantastic chocolate cake with liquid chocolate filling.
Restaurant is located in front of the beach, a few minutes walk from ao nang (1min by taxi,20 bath).
Owner is a young Italian couple, very friendly and they gave us some insider trips.
We will certanly eat there again prior to flying back home.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank NicoleAngeleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alta Marea Italian & Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing