We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but still awesome!”
Review of Luna House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luna House
Ranked #87 of 123 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
1 review
“Not perfect but still awesome!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed for four nights at the start of our travels, we think these reviews are a little off. The spot ain't baad!
The staff may be pretty disconnected, but if you were running a hostel in a primarily tourist area you would be too.
The wifi, yeah they lied about that one, only really works in the lobby and lower floors. Our room was on the fourth floor, with the fifth above it which had roof access (Handy for a cheeky smoke).
They helped us arrange day trips and laundry, a safety box is also supplied. Which is huge and can fit cameras, even a small child if one so desired.
The location itself is better than some, orange city for example is well far out!
It's only a 5-10 minute walk to the closest decent places to eat and drink, highly recommend the coconut bar!
If you're here for a holiday, maybe save up and go somewhere where you're treat like royalty even though you're not. If you're just passing through or even a handful of nights, then definitely come here!
Our room had no windows which was a bit dodgy, although there is free Coffe :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Pros:

Decent location (5-10min walk to town, maybe 20-30min walk to the beach)
Clean and reasonable


Cons:

No wifi in rooms, only downstairs which can be slow sometimes
No lift
If you get the room near the street can be loud with motorbikes driving pass
If you don't like the shower wetting the whole floor in the bathroom it's not for you


I thought it was fine to stay there but my sister has some feet OCD thing so she didn't like the fact that the shower had it's own showerbox, so she wanted to switch hotels. We stayed at another place which was pretty remote (couldn't get anywhere without tuk tuk) and paid nearly double the price for a place with a little bit better condition.

Honestly comparing it to some other deals around the Ao Nang area, it's a pretty good deal (considering the price you pay).

Room Tip: Try and choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkachump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Location wise this is a 30min walk from the beach. So don't believe some of the booking sites that describe it as 10minutes. It isn't.
The same booking site said all rooms have wifi. They don't - wifi is in reception only and was very slow or broken while we were there.
I did have an issue with security - I lock my bags with a combination lock and leave them set on a number I can remember, it was therefore pretty obvious someone had tampered with one one day when I came back to find they had tried the default code of 000 to see if it would open. There are signs everywhere saying do not leave valuables in your room, it's definitely an issue.
Cleanliness is ok though towels will only be changed on request and they were often - bizarrely - badly ripped.
Staff are friendly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms we stayed in was clean and refreshed every day. A big thank you to the hospitality of the family running the place, as it was spot-on and very friendly.
The bed was comfortable and we slept well overall.
Due to the location of the place, we rented a scooter as it was a 15 minute walk down to the beach. There were a few places to eat within walking distance, but not a great variety.
Worth what we paid for sure :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Noroomforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night before going to our resort. That was fine.

Bathroom was okay, wifi fast. It was good for one night and not expensive. I wouldn't stay here if you are looking for a high comfortable hotel.

There not so much nearby for a good breakfast or dinner.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johandemeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imst, Austria
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Luna House is really nice and super clean. it was the best guesthouse we stayed in Thailand.
The room is big, the bathroom really nice and we even had a small balcony. the owner is friendly and helpful. European breakfast is available next door, and loads of local stuff around.

It is a little bit away from the beach/center (15min walk to beach), but it is a nice walk with a lot of multi cultural cook shops and restaurants where you can eat with the locals. the shops and restaurants are also pretty cheap in that area (even the 7eleven is cheaper as far as i remember).
You can also take the tuk tuk, for about 80 baht (or lower if your good at haggling).

I enjoyed the stay very much, but if you want to stay close to the beach or in the middle of the center/party/shops for tourists then its probably not the best option.

Room Tip: We had a room to the street, which was of course a little bit louder, there is also a bar on the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband were supposed to be staying at another hotel but when we arrived they said the fan had broken in our room and they had moved us to another hotel.
Luna House was that hotel.
The hotel is great, very clean, had air con, beautiful rooms, and the had the most comfortable bed that I have slept in!
The staff were helpful and kind, we had no problem when booking a trip with them.
The only issue is the location, it's a 30 minute walk to the beach, about a 15 minute walk to the bars and restaurants.
The area the hotel is quiet, so that is a positive and a negative.
However you can get a motorbike style tuk tuk for 50 baht which only takes about 5/10 minutes.
Apart from that we couldn't find any fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahW2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,421 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna House

Property: Luna House
Address: 470/7-8 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang, Muang | along the main road to Ao-Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Luna House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Luna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna House Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing