We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous hotel with serious drwabacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“gorgeous hotel with serious drwabacks”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Absolutely gorgeous hotel, fast check-in, sweet/friendly/hospitable staff with good sense of humor. Welcome drink and refreshment towel. Rooms large, modern and comfortable and with good size balcony with comfortable furniture. Flat screen tv, fast wifi although there is a problem when you nat to plug-in your laptop cord. The mirror is at such an angle that plugging it in is virtually impossible and there are NO OTHER POWERPOINTS! Large single beds which are a bit on the hard side. Pillows are kapok (has a serious allergy factor when it is not changed on a very regular basis!!!) and the worst we have encountered in decennia! Bathroom with separate shower and large bath. There is a serious hidden danger in bathroom: no grip on bath which makes it extremely slippery dangerous and neither is there a grip in large separate shower which is equally dangerous! Good flushing toilet. Good size bath towels, face flannels and hand towels. Lovely non-invasive shower gel/shampoo hair conditioner (yes, yes, yes!!!) and lovely body lotion, sadly 1 small bit of soap. coffee/tea making facilities. Hairdryer is present as well. At first glance this hotel sounds great but now comes the down side: room walls are so thin that you can hear the conversation (and other things!) from your upstairs/downstairs/sideways neighbours. You have to 5 tv’s, your own and the ones from all 4 other sides and the noise is deafening! You hear your neighbours shower and fart, go to the toilet + flush and have have wild-west parties in their rooms! Yes we called the lobby but THEY DID NOT ANSWER! SO WE HAD TO GET DRESSED AT 4AM (!) AND ASK IF THEY COULD ASK OUR NEIGHBOURS TO DIM IT A BIT!!! We booked the highest floor = under the roof and we had to vacate that room because some pump system kept banging and sounding like a kid was banging a good size ball against the wall…all night long. Even if the above does not bother you, your wake-up call is early, very early because the pool opens at 7am and parents, who want to have some “quality time” with their spouse dump the kids in the pool which results in horrendous screaming and yelling! This goes on till past 9pm even though it is supposed to be stopped at 9p. Guest on ground floor level with pool access rooms have loud drinking parties till past 4am!!! on Thursdays it is “party time” in the pool area meaning that “Psy and his gang” (famous Chinese boom-boom singer/dancer) as well as Arabian music hits you to the extent that you feel your head is between a number of large sound boxes. You can’t have a conversation/watch TV/listen to radio or your own MP3 player. Absolutely no consideration is given to other guests. To our way of thinking this is a great great shame because the hotel itself is gorgeous. Food in the restaurant is superb; staff is kind, warm and helpful. Breakfast is plentiful although having yogurt uncovered in large bowls is a no-no from hygienic point of view! At the egg station the Chef will prepare your egg(s) any way you want although do not ask for poached eggs, you really really do not want to know what you’ll get! We saw during our stay people dipping their fingers in the yogurt bowl, sneezing and coughing over it. Hotel tea and coffee is excellent. We had driven our own car and parking was not a problem, hotel provided secure parking. We would most certainly not recommend this hotel to our friends and acquaintances simply because it unbelievably noisy and absolutely no consideration is given to place early morning restrictions on pool access as well as unbelievable noise from pool parties and hidden dangers in bath and shower

Room Tip: be aware that top floor is not quiet as there is a pump making noise like some big beach ball is hit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Anda Dh... K, General Manager at Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear overseawriter,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. I am glad to read that you liked our resort as such, even though it is with regret to read that the disturbance through noise that you experienced was a main drawback for you. Your comments will help us to improve where possible, despite the fact that some influences are not always in our hands.

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager - Centara Anda Dhevi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    811
    201
    69
    39
See reviews for
613
943
45
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed in Krabi in November 2012 and spent 2 weeks at the Centara.

Hotel is located away from the main road, which is nice as it is peaceful and means you have a nice walk into town in the evenings. Nearby there a couple of shops and bars.

The pool access room was lovely, it overlooked the end of the pool and so had the sun in the afternoons.

The staff were lovely and accommodating, even leaving me a cake in the room on my birthday!

The breakfast buffet was good, with a nice selection of fruit every day. We only ate in the restaurant one evening (when the weather was really bad) and found it average compared to the fantastic restaurants in the town (BoatNoodle is a must try, you cant go wrong with using tripadvisors top 10/15 to pick from).

We had some lovely cocktails at the lobby bar (especially during happy hour!) but we generally went out. There is a lovely bar not far from the hotel (next to a steam engine?!) where there is a reggae singer most nights, very chilled out and relaxing to finish of a night.

There was a couple at the hotel who return there year after year, its not difficult to see why!

We probably wont return to Krabi (so many places to visit), though if we were to explore other parts of Thailand I would definitely consider another Centara hotel.

Room Tip: Book a pool access room if possible, great for lounging on if the sunbeds are full (or in the shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrnMrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Anda Dh... K, General Manager at Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear MrnMrsB,

Nice to hear back from you and thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, the happy hour and that you had some relaxing time with your family at our place.

Warm regards from Krabi,

Sven Walter
General Manager - Centara Anda Dhevi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were in Krabi over over 4 nights in mid June. We always try to pick family friendly hotels and centara is a good choice. Rooms are big enough for 2 queen size beds and an extra bed. Our room was on the top most floor overlooking the pool - great view and a good way to keep an eye on the kids in the pool right below.

The pool itself was large and the kids loved the slide. There is a basketball net in the middle of the pool - first I've seen and kids had a blast shooting ball.

Spa in the hotel. We tried the Serenity package at THB1500 (internet promotion price). Relaxing and amazing massage. We tried Jane & June (free pick up) and Lets Sea, Lets Relax Spas (great ambience) as well. Latter two are cheaper but for a treat, Cenvaree Spa is worth every penny.

Breakfast. Spread is decent. I'd suggest that hotels serve free coffee latte/cappucino as in most 5-star hotels. Weak coffee in the morning somehow is not as great a start to a day.

It rained most of the days that we were there. We still managed to have a good deal of fun. Kayaking in the rain at AoThalane was relaxing and serene (True Leisure). We could not do any of the island-hopping tours as the water was just too choppy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasnani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Anda Dh... K, General Manager at Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Vasnani M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you had such a wonderful time with your family and that everybody enjoyed their stay with us. The Cenvaree Spa offers indeed a vast variety of enjoyable treatments and our team would be delighted to give you another well deserved treat on your next scheduled visit.

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager - Centara Anda Dhevi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in June and loved every minute of it . We organised two interconnecting rooms with a pool view so we could keep an eye on our two boys ( 10 and 12 years of age. ) The rooms were fantastic: plenty of space, comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The rooms are well equipped with mini fridge, hairdryer, cable TV, room safe and a very handy umbrella for those wet days/nights. We organised the accommodation and breakfast package online six months earlier, communication was awesome and all went very smoothly. Staff are all very friendly and courteous. We had dinner at the hotel twice. The Thai Buffet and the BBQ buffet which were both good value. The Gymnasium is small but has plenty of equipment to do a thorough workout. The pool is large and is well designed and laid out. Appropriate for those who want to swim laps, shoot hoops, slip down the slide or sip a beer/cocktail at the poolside bar. Be careful the tiles at the edge of the pool are very slippery.The breakfasts were great but if you're staying for a long period of time don't have everything in the first couple of days or you will struggle for variety. My wife couldn't understand why papaya wasn't offered as a fruit every morning since it's exquisite and just as prevalent as the lychee in Thailand. If you are looking for a convenience store turn left as you exit the hotel and walk to the end of the street. Here if you turn left you will head towards Ao Nang beach and the many restaurants and stores opposite the beach . If you turn right you will find No Ppharat Beach and a selection of restaurants and a clean and inexpensive convenience store just after the bridge on your right (the convenience stores right outside the hotel are more expensive.) Both beaches are great . Have a wander both left and right and explore the many options available to you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Centara Anda Dhevi and would definitely stay again .The Centara gets an A+ overall. I have written an article under Tandoori Nights reviewing eight restaurants we tried outside the resort for anyone that is interested. Enjoy your stay in Ao Nang .... one of the more beautiful parts of Thailand .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thornbury_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Anda Dh... K, General Manager at Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear thornbury_travellers,

We are delighted reading your review and thank you so much for sharing it with us. You may rest assured that this feedback will serve as a great motivation for all staff members of ours.

I am glad to see that you could spend some quality time with your family for a relaxing, yet fun time with us.

I look forward welcoming you back for another well deserved break at Centara Anda Dhevi.

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager - Centara Anda Dhevi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at the Centara for 5 nights with friends. We all had pool access rooms (completely recommend) we didn't have any trouble with the noise. The hotel isn't located right in the village but is only a 10 minute walk or 2/3 minutes by tuk tuk. Street food vendors and sea food restaurants along the beach are only a short walk away and worth trying. We enjoyed daily massages across the road and there are a few minimarts across the road as well where you can buy snacks, drinks etc so you can enjoy back on your balcony at the hotel if you don't feel like going out. Breakfast was great at the hotel with plenty of selection. We had this included in our travel package rather than paying separately. The East meets West buffet at the Palm Court (Hotel restaurant) was amazing!!! The rooms were all King size, very spacious, very clean and comfortable Definitely somewhere to go if you want some R&R away from the hustle and bustle. You can do Island tours from here but we chose not to because the sea swells were too high so we waited until we went to Patong. Recommend a trip Into the Krabi night markets, lots of different food to try there :) Really enjoyed our stay here, only thing I would recommend is that happy hour is at the pool bar as well and not just the lobby bar.

Room Tip: Room with direct pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21Kerrie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Anda Dh... K, General Manager at Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear 21Kerrie21,

Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review with us. My team and I are so glad to read that you had a lovely time at Centara Anda Dhevi, the breakfast, our weekly buffets and the happy hour's or just the facilities in general.

We look forward welcoming you back on your next scheduled visit.

Greetings to New Zealand and warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager - Centara Anda Dhevi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in June. Service was excellent, staff very friendly and courteous, they always seemed to go the extra mile. Room was lovely and spacious and I believe we were in one of the best spots, garden view on the top floor. Pool big and well kept. The location of the hotel was out of the way but within walking distance to the main road and beaches, which was excellent. We ate in the restaurant twice, the a la carte lunch was fantastic, couldn't fault a thing. The breakfast was OK, maybe a little overpriced for what it was, we did not have the included breakfast. The laundry across the road was really cheap and efficient so we chose to have our laundry done there instead of at the hotel.
We tried to order room service on one occasion which was unsuccessful which was a shame, be sure to be very explicit if ordering room service, i repeated our order 4 or 5 times to them as they did not seem to be familiar with the English menu, even so, only half our order came so we cancelled it and went out instead. This is the only thing we think needs improving. The maids were quite noisy outside in the corridors from around 7am, on walkie-talkies etc, so if you like a lie in, take ear plugs! Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor if booking garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Anda Dh... K, General Manager at Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Lilly198,

There is nothing more rewarding then reading that you had an enjoyable time with us. This serves as a great motivation for our staff to do even better.

I hope that we can welcome you back in not too far distance and offer you another comfortable, yet pleasant and relaxing stay with us.

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager - Centara Anda Dhevi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

loved our stay at this hotel, right from the reception as we arrived till our departure.
located at an ideal spot, away from the hustle bustle of the main market yet with everything in easy access. you can always walk to the nearest beach for the leisurely walks at nights.
clean rooms and bathrooms with decent housekeeping service and yes adding to it was the awesome pool... overall a good place to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehaahlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara Anda Dh... K, General Manager at Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear nehaahlawat,

What a wonderful review and thank you for sharing it with us.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, our services given and the location itself.

Let us know when you schedule your next visit to Krabi and my team and I would be happy to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General manager - Centara Anda Dhevi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa

Property: Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Address: 182 Moo 3 Tambol Ao-Nang, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Noparatthara area, west of Ao Nang, the four-star Centara Anda Dhevi Resort & Spa Krabi is a great holiday base moments away from the beach. Along with opportunities to kick-back at the spa or by the 43-metre long swimming pool or enjoy family fun, the resort offers different accommodation styles that include pool access rooms and family suites. Designed with soft tones, wood accents and décor elements that evoke Southern Thailand, the rooms and suite feature ample living areas (from 37 to 85 square metres) with a balcony or terrace. At the heart of the resort is the large swimming pool area, an invitation to lazy moments or family fun, complete with a waterslide, children’s pool, swim-up pool bar, and offering the option of a poolside Thai massage. Wi-Fi is provided with our compliments, and so is access to the two age specific kids clubs. Mums and dads will find in the fitness centre and SPA Cenvaree a place where they can revitalise, rejuvenate or unwind. One’s stay in Krabi wouldn’t be complete without a day of island hopping, exploring outlying islands leisurely and snorkelling in crystal clear waters, all of which can be arranged via the tour desk. Krabi International Airport is a 45-minute drive away from Centara Anda Dhevi Resort & Spa Krabi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Anda Dhevi Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort And Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing