We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Krabi Thai Cookery School
Ranked #2 of 4 Food & Drink in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hands-on Thai cooking course by the renowned chef "Ya" in Ao Nang since 1995.
London Town
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Had such a great time at this Thai Cooking school and we had always wanted to try this whilst in Thailand - could not have been more pleased and we were amazed at what we cooked !

We opted from programme B starting at 1.30 with a pick up by the owner Miss Ya herself. Her place is ten minutes drive out of Ao Nang is a nice green and cool area. The kitchen is well equipped and she has superb helpers. There was just the two of us for the first hour making spring rolls and sticky rice with mango, yum. We then got to eat all of this whilst Ya went to pick up another couple for the rest of the afternoon - so just four of us for the programme.

Then the taste and smell sensation began - cooking curries from scratch, tom yam and loads more - instruction and explanations were great. Had loads of fun and it´s all "bang bang, chop chop" (you´ll see) Ya has a great group of little helpers to keep you on track. Ya´s English is great. Her helpers struggle other than numbers and chop, chop bang, bang but that´s all part of the fun and sign language is universal !

Ya herself is a warm person and will really make you laugh. Her passion for Thai food and fresh ingredients is amazing. She will suggest alternatives you can use in the West to substitute things like Kaffir Limes (it´s all in the recipe book included)

At the end you get to eat everything - so come on an empty stomach. I have Miss Ya´s word that "Thai Food no make you fat!" You can also take home anything you cannot eat or she will give it to the neighbours - I saw our leftovers being taken out to her village, so I hope it was good.

You can book Ya via e-mail for your pick up. Her written English is not the best by her own admission so keep it nice and simple.

Thanks Ya - I loved the afternoon and one of the highlights of our holiday !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SthLondonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    22
    3
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“overcrowded disappointment”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My first Thai cooking class in Thailand. Times were 14:30 to 18:00. Got picked up at 14:30, picked lots up on the way and finally started at 15:30 with 22 others. They didn't have enough space or equipment for everybody, so we had to watch Ya racing through the making of curry paste; (by the way, because of the numbers, i could hear and see very little). Then again, because of numbers, we split up and cooked different dishes, sometimes in twos or threes. We had a half hour break for food and were finished at 17:30. So in reality it is a 1 1/2 hour course. Also, every now and then, one of her staff would come along and throw some ingredients in without letting us know why. In summary, very disappointed after paying so much and for so little time or attention. Felt like finger painting classes in kindergarten!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank flute m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just brilliant”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a half day cooking class that was just brilliant. We learned lots of tips and tricks in how to cook Thai food and we can't wait to get home to start trying them out. Ya herself just makes the day, she is so much fun and a great teacher. We've got cooking books to take home too. Anyone interested in Thai cooking she look no further than Ya's cooking course

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great life long skill!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is the second Thai cookery course I have done and it was absolutely brilliant. I liked that we all had to work as a team to cook and share the dishes (of which there were many). Ya is very knowledgable and offers many substitutes not only in her recipe book but in person as well. Cannot wait to get home and try some of these recipes out for my friends and family!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“phenomenal, authentic thai experience”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My boyfriend and I chose a cooking class because we absolutely live Thai food. We chose Ya because her cooking options sounded the best. Ya and her team were amazing, she taught us lots of new tipes and tricks to make the most delicious Thai dishes from scratch. Amazing afternoon, we got to eat the food afterwards too, a proper Thai experience... Cooking in Ya's home village! A must do in Krabi / Ao Nang!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank janine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Krabi Thai Cookery School also viewed

 

Been to Krabi Thai Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing