We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for long stay”
Review of Baan Sawan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Sawan Resort
Ranked #11 of 122 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great for long stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had booked this via Booking.com for a rate of 15,000 baht for 3 nights as part of a road trip from KL over the CNY weekend. We were a party of 7, and were quite comfortable with an extra bed. The property has 9 bungalows and is located off the beaten track literally. All in, it was an interesting experience, and I will provide requisite detail on the pros and cons.
Pros
- Clean abode, in a garden like environment
- Very picturesque with mountains and trees etc
- Suitable for families and long term stayers ie anything of more than 5days
- Well equipped bungalow for simple cooking with fridge, toaster and kettle which is very useful for own meals etc
- Firm beds which provided sound sleep
- Double shaded windows in the bedrooms for total peace and quiet
- Good sized swimming pool that can accommodate waders, social and serious swimmers
- Decent shuttle that was on call until 815pm
- Accommodating and genial property manager and host in the form of Sven, who was prompt in queries and generally was the handy man for the property
- Rooms and toilet shower was cleaned daily which was a blessing
- Spacious balcony/chill out area to appreciate the breeze etc
Cons
- Is pretty isolated from the main hub of Aonang beach, which incidentally is a good 30minute walk away or a 5-10 minute car drive
- There are shops - 7 eleven and 2-3 convenience shops and restaurants, which is about a 10 minutes walk away on a dimly lit road, which is not recommended.
- There are no signs to the place, until just before the property which is not particularly helpful. Look out for Baan Havaree hotel and 7 eleven, and just 100metres ahead on your right is a green signpost of some illegible Thai words, and this is the main indicator before turning into the road that leads to the property (approximately 400metres from here). We got lost using the GPS, and had to call for help. Whoever answered was not helpful, and Sven was put on the line and helped us by coming to us on the motorcycle and directing us, from the mosque nearby.
- The place is definitely more suited to long term stayers of more than 5days, as opposed to our 3nights and 4days. We should have stayed closer to Aonang / Napporathara beach for better access and mobility seing that we wanted to do things related to these areas ie beach, island hopping, massage etc . However, had we planned for a week then Baan Sawan would have been ideal.
- The shuttle is until 815pm, which means you have to plan your day pretty well or rely on own transport. This should be extended to a bit later or be on demand for guests that don't have their own transport
- There are no hooks in the toilet for hanging towels and no hair dryer in sight
- Channels were all in Thai, and we gave up looking for English channels
- Was truly aghast to learn that there was only one toilet shower to service 6 people, which was misleading as this was not mentioned in the description in Booking.com. In fact it is mentioned that ".... Shower facilities are in the en suite bathrooms". Sven indicated that all bungalows came with one toilet shower, hence correction should be made in the description to indicate the singular not plural facility. Perhaps when designing the bungalow, the toilet and shower should have been separated and that another basin is also placed outside for convenience. In the meantime, as a suggestion, should consider adding showers and toilets to the pool area, as there is only one singular toilet at the reception. This will be a great boon to those who need showers and toilets when the facility is being used at the bungalow.
Despite some shortcomings, the place was good, and there was prompt action taken to fix a clogged kitchen basin, change lights etc. Didn't have a chance to try the food at the restaurant given that we had a kitchen and supplies from nearby shops for meals etc.
It is after all a private property and the many overseas owners are renting out their bungalows when not in residence. So it cannot be likened to a hotel resort, but rather providing a homely ambiance for those who want peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of Aonang beach.

Room Tip: If driving, request for a bungalow closer to the car park for obvious reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JemimaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Imagin finding a place private enough to host 7 families of 14 adults and more than 10 kids; while having a place large enough for those kids to run around, a pool large & private enough for them to dive/splash water nearly most of the time if we are not out from excursion, most importantly not disturbing any other guests that stayed in the same property due to the extreme and constant noise level cause by the kids...thanks Sven for accommodating all of us into your Baan Sawan Resort...all of us love the stay and the kids are all asking when are we going back again, I'm afraid you'll have to bear with us again.
Let's start talking about the place, it has 2 rows of 4-5 houses back to back each other separated by walk path in between. There are mixture of 2 & 3 bedrooms units, if I understand correctly, max 2 person per room. If you have 4 person but allocated to a 3 bedroom house, one of the room will be locked. One row of the houses face the road while the other faces a fairly large open field where there are 3 cows loitering around. We also have the opportunity to fire off more than 30 fire crackers into the field on our last night, never can we do this in our countries...while it's a first for the kids; it's also a first for the 14 of us who are age 40 & above ... :)
While the website of the resort states that there are no TV and entertainment system in the units, since we have booked most of the units, we found out that couple of units have TV, one unit only have a mini-combo. With the free wifi, we are glad that we brought along our iPad. Only 1 unit has a standing fan. All units have fairly complete kitchenware, a fridge that is large enough to store a week's supplies of food/fruits/drinks/milk for 4 persons, you might need help from Sven to turn on the LPG gas.
Food wise, due to the size of our group and kids age ranging from 2 months to 15 years old, we decided not fair to put the property's restaurant into the challenge, hence, we prepared/cook our own meals if we don't eat out at the town centre.
Fret not that you are in the off-city location in a foreign place because you have the helpful Sven and his capable partner who will not only advise you on the best options from reliable agencies for tour excursion to restaurants, they have also help us negotiate for better group pricing to accommodating our timing convenient for us, while the property provides free scheduled shuttle to at designated drop off/pickup point, the agencies that we have booked activities/excursion will also pickup/drop off at the property ...just remember that if you need any help...call Sven, he had been attending to our needs personally...talk about personal touch...he's by far the best!
Sven has even help us arrange for 4 masseur to come over to the property for massage, imagin 4 person lying on the pool mattress in the hall having massage with some city at the patio drinking/chatting & kids running in/out/around you...yep...that's really what happen. The skills of the masseurs are so good that we got them back in again before we check out to airport!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dogmastervincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwpoort, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Quit and peacefull location, and yet close to the beach and the center of Ao Nang (with free shuttle). Large, clean and spaceous bungalows. The friendly and helpfull staff make it their goal to make you feel at home. Nothing is to much an effort to please you. Oy is a perfect hostess, as well a excellent chef. There are good restaurants in the center of Ao Nang, but none of them come even close to having diner at the bar near the pool of the resort. No need for large and luxury resorts, this resort is as close to paradise as it gets

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great location just outside the center of Ao Nang (free shuttle available). Large, comfortable and clean bungalows. All facilities available. Great hotel for scuba divers (spacious patio & fresh water hose available). Staff goes all the way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. If you decide to have diner at the bar next to the pool, you're in for a treat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

When we were looking for place to stay in Thailand, and we didn't find any luxury villas that we willing to provide a good discount for a 2 month low season stay.

The Baan Sawan had bungalows big enough to meet the needs of our family, and within our budget. After touring several villas, we were so happy we were at the Baan Sawan. The decorations are very simple, but adequate. The pool at the Baan Sawan is large - the ones at the villas were so tiny you could soak, but not swim. It was also super nice to have a shuttle and restaurant.

The owners are great, and easy to work with. You feel like their main focus is your happiness.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferRyan2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a very nice resort to stay when you guys visit to Ao Nang, staffs here are very helpful and friendly, furthermore good environment. This was the first time we travel to Ao Nang, so we not really familiar bout the restaurant and places around this area, but the staffs did explain to us clearly and patiently, they even helped us to book for the restaurant. Although this resort is quite a distance from the Ao Nang main street, but they providing free shuttle bus according their schedule, again, this is really a nice place to stay...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loke1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjøvik
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here for 8 weeks, Jan-march. At first we thought it was a little far away from Ao Nang, but after a short while we preferred to stay at the pool at the hotel instead of being in the crowded Ao Nang.
The hotel has free shuttle to Ao Nang.
The food at the pool bar is excellent. We just loved the cheese omelette!:)
Svein the Owner is a very nice, serviceminded person that helps you with whatever.
Loved the beds! Scandinavian standards and not hard as many other beds in Thailand.
We are going to miss sitting out on the big terrasse in the morning, hearing the rooster, birds singing and enjoy the warm breeze.
I especially recommend it for families since we loved it so much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
1.3 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Sawan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Sawan Resort

Property: Baan Sawan Resort
Address: 189/9 Moo4, Aonang, Muang, Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Sawan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Sawan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Sawan Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing