We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sumreen B

A very comfortable stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Aug 2014via mobile
We stayed at Baan Sawan for three days. Our stay here was very rememberable. There are small huts which have two spacious bedrooms, one bathroom and a big kitchen+lounge. The kitchen is fully equipped with all kinds of cutlery and pots. The huts are cleaned every day and the management is very friendly. The owner is very considrate and humble. He helps in every need. The view from the hut was lovely. The hotel provides free shutle service to Ao Nang at different times of the day. If you have to buy cheep food and grocery from near by stores, the driver takes you there and waits for you. All in all it is a really nice and quiet places to reside.
Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£47
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£89
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
2.3 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
£103
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Algotels
2.1 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £31
  • Hotels.com
2.1 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    £125
  • Booking.com
1.2 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £107
  • travelup.com
19.5 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Hotels.com
20.7 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £48
  • Expedia.com
    £80
22.2 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a dream location for any visitor looking for either an eventful or relaxing holiday. Situated on the quiet Long Beach, which overlooks the stunning Maya bay island, our hillside villa views are unbeatable.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Algotels
22.8 miles from Baan Sawan Resort
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ao Nang
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
50
18
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
18
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Everything, particularly the owner is a really a perfect gentleman and very much cooperative person , Once you tell him he remember all your needs and fulfill it,Great place to stay, good tuk-tuk transport service for going to beach and for shopping.

Room tip: Resort itself is in isolated and quiet area so there is no any major issue regarding room selection.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Peaceful and reasonably priced place near Ao Nang. Staff was very friendly and hospitality. Rooms were clean and this kind of bungalows are perfect place to spend a holiday! I recommend Baan Sawan to all who are looking for good place to stay in Krabi.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank Henkka_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Love it! Love it! Love it! Wonderful service and nice people. The place is a hidden gems in Karbi, it's not too far from the beach, they have a shuttle service as well. Breakfast was also cooked to order (included in your room rate), our rental house was awesome and cleaned every day, we were there for 3-4 nights, awesome mountain view and away from craziness of the "tourists by the beach", swimming pool was also great. Ideal for large family gathering or couples. (we went as 2 couples). Our rental had 3 rooms (2 large bed in each of 2 rooms; there's a smaller room with pull out bed that could sleep 2 more for kids or young adults, living room and kitchen were also nice..all air condition in all bedrooms, there's also a patio outside where you can hang out. Breakfast served by the pool area.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enzomatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at this resort in winter 2013. The owners Sven and Oi are so hospitable and gracious. The resort has cottages with a fully equipped kitchen. There is a restaurant on site too and the food is not more expensive at this place than near the beach area. The cottages are cleaned daily. The swimming pool has a kids pool too and was perfect for the families that were staying.
The resort has a free shuttle to and back from the beach multiple times during the day. The local grocery stores are walkable.
The staff are extremely nice and kind.
The biggest downside- no wire netting on the doors and windows and no fans either inside the cottage or on the beautiful veranda. Running the AC at night was our only option. The other minor issue is the lack of constant running hot water in the bathroom. The cottage has an instant water heater – so the water gets tepid and then warm to hot in a short span- not maintaining a constant temperature for any length of time.

Would definitely recommend it. We would go back again.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaatrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had booked this via Booking.com for a rate of 15,000 baht for 3 nights as part of a road trip from KL over the CNY weekend. We were a party of 7, and were quite comfortable with an extra bed. The property has 9 bungalows and is located off the beaten track literally. All in, it was an interesting experience, and I will provide requisite detail on the pros and cons.
Pros
- Clean abode, in a garden like environment
- Very picturesque with mountains and trees etc
- Suitable for families and long term stayers ie anything of more than 5days
- Well equipped bungalow for simple cooking with fridge, toaster and kettle which is very useful for own meals etc
- Firm beds which provided sound sleep
- Double shaded windows in the bedrooms for total peace and quiet
- Good sized swimming pool that can accommodate waders, social and serious swimmers
- Decent shuttle that was on call until 815pm
- Accommodating and genial property manager and host in the form of Sven, who was prompt in queries and generally was the handy man for the property
- Rooms and toilet shower was cleaned daily which was a blessing
- Spacious balcony/chill out area to appreciate the breeze etc
Cons
- Is pretty isolated from the main hub of Aonang beach, which incidentally is a good 30minute walk away or a 5-10 minute car drive
- There are shops - 7 eleven and 2-3 convenience shops and restaurants, which is about a 10 minutes walk away on a dimly lit road, which is not recommended.
- There are no signs to the place, until just before the property which is not particularly helpful. Look out for Baan Havaree hotel and 7 eleven, and just 100metres ahead on your right is a green signpost of some illegible Thai words, and this is the main indicator before turning into the road that leads to the property (approximately 400metres from here). We got lost using the GPS, and had to call for help. Whoever answered was not helpful, and Sven was put on the line and helped us by coming to us on the motorcycle and directing us, from the mosque nearby.
- The place is definitely more suited to long term stayers of more than 5days, as opposed to our 3nights and 4days. We should have stayed closer to Aonang / Napporathara beach for better access and mobility seing that we wanted to do things related to these areas ie beach, island hopping, massage etc . However, had we planned for a week then Baan Sawan would have been ideal.
- The shuttle is until 815pm, which means you have to plan your day pretty well or rely on own transport. This should be extended to a bit later or be on demand for guests that don't have their own transport
- There are no hooks in the toilet for hanging towels and no hair dryer in sight
- Channels were all in Thai, and we gave up looking for English channels
- Was truly aghast to learn that there was only one toilet shower to service 6 people, which was misleading as this was not mentioned in the description in Booking.com. In fact it is mentioned that ".... Shower facilities are in the en suite bathrooms". Sven indicated that all bungalows came with one toilet shower, hence correction should be made in the description to indicate the singular not plural facility. Perhaps when designing the bungalow, the toilet and shower should have been separated and that another basin is also placed outside for convenience. In the meantime, as a suggestion, should consider adding showers and toilets to the pool area, as there is only one singular toilet at the reception. This will be a great boon to those who need showers and toilets when the facility is being used at the bungalow.
Despite some shortcomings, the place was good, and there was prompt action taken to fix a clogged kitchen basin, change lights etc. Didn't have a chance to try the food at the restaurant given that we had a kitchen and supplies from nearby shops for meals etc.
It is after all a private property and the many overseas owners are renting out their bungalows when not in residence. So it cannot be likened to a hotel resort, but rather providing a homely ambiance for those who want peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of Aonang beach.

Room tip: If driving, request for a bungalow closer to the car park for obvious reasons.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JemimaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews