We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel going downhill”
Review of Phra Nang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phra Nang Inn
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in June 2014. We had stayed there before in 2013 when the hotel was full of northern Europeans giving it a cosy friendly atmosphere. The staff were attentive and service admirable. This time the guests were almost all Chinese and Russian and the atmosphere grey and aggressive without smiling greetings. We had no hot water for the two days although we had complained several times and our early morning wake up call never eventuated. Ao Nang has lost its charm and we will not be back.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is situated just by Ao Nang Beach. We stayed in deluxe rooms and the rooms are rather small. As we came with 6 children and didn't want the family to be separated, we had requested for 2 connecting rooms with extra bed in each room. The hotel complies very strictly to the number of people per room regardless of whether they are children. We were asked to book another room which we did as we can't cancel the 2 rooms for 5 nights that we had booked earlier with Expedia. Housekeeping was not done well. We had sand in our beds for a few nights. The air conditioner was noisy and at night, it made a loud rattling sound, making it difficult to sleep. The savior for this hotel is the porter that greeted us when we checked in and helped us when we checked out. He was one of the very few friendly staff in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farhati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very nice if you want a place just by the beach, although the beach in Ao Nang is very crowdy and noisy because of boats coming there and back (petrol smell is another distractor). Very nice rooms with bath just by the bed ;) Nice breakfast, pool area is quite decent too. Think twice whether to stay in Ao Nang but once decided you may consider this hotel, there are many more beautiful places around though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiCeiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is the worst hotel in the world. Very old hotel dirty, and the smell of human waste is unbelievable. The toilets are constantly clogging, the air conditioning not working properly. I would never stay here at any price. I would call it roach motel. After staying here for two days we had to cut our stay short to nearby hotel with excellent conditions and also better price. I hope this could help anyone decision on this dump,. Good luck.

Room Tip: Not this place. Go somewhere else. You will not regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Ms. Emily,

First of all please accept our sincere apology for not being able to provide a satisfactory service. We check with our record that you have stayed with us on the 17-19 May with the original booking and then extend another night stay with us. This we would like to thank you for choosing to spend an extra night with us despite your dissatisfaction.

We regrets however that the dissatisfaction was not address to us during your stay so that we could have the chance to rectify it during your stay.

We made notes of all your comments and renovation is no the way. We would like to ask you for another chance, should you return to Krabi, please contact us for your complimentary stay.

Best Regards,

Chantima C Ms.
Resort Manager
chantima@vacationvillage.co.th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect because it is close to the beach and all the shops and the hustle and bustle of all the tourists if you're into that. However the hotel itself although ran by very friendly staff could definitely use a fresh coat of paint and some detailing and repairs in general all over. Old gum stuck to the cement and handprints on the light switches were noticeable as well the pool definitely could've been kept cleaner of debris and grim. Rooms were clean yet outdated and musty smelling. Not a terrible experience but I would probably try somewhere else if I ever go back to Ao Nang.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Istigkeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Phra Nang Inn situates at the begining of Ao Nang, therefore, it is quite convenient to go anywhere in Krabi. Ony few minutes to Nopparat Tara National Park for ioslands trips. Dinging is very convenient as there are lots of restuarants in or nearby this area. You can choose from local food, sea food or many types of international food. Plenty of shops including souvernier shops, drug stores, and tourist information centers. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Phra nang inn is situated in the heart of Ao nang beach. It is situated right infront the beach, thus, giving its guest the best reason to stay in their place. They have spa, resto bar which has entertainers at night who sing good songs. The pool is also irresistible. Staff are good, OP, the driver,who brought us in and out from the airport, Suwit,the attendant is accommodating as well. The front desk staff speaks English. Restaurant staffs are fine. Their breakfast has not much variety. Rice, steamed ham & chicken sausage are part of the daily breakfast menu,then a noodle,soup and bread,plus a potato dish and egg on he spot cooking corner.
Rooms are ok. They provided 2 bath towels, 2 small towels, 2 face towels, 2 sarongs, 2 pairs of outdoor and indoor slippers, umbrella. Toiletries are bathgels and shampoo,cotton buds and shower cap only. No toothpaste&toothbrush.
Hot water and aircon also good.
Overall stay was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanniepex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.5 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#42 of 111 in Ao Nang
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#25 of 111 in Ao Nang
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 111 in Ao Nang
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phra Nang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Nang Inn

Address: 119 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £51 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phra Nang Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phra Nang Inn is the first resort of Vacation Village. The resort is well-situated in the centre of Ao Nang beach, the best location where you can easily take off to explore Krabi's beautiful islands and enjoy shopping and dining streets as well. It is a 3-star boutique resort with two main buildings, Beach Wing and Spa Wing which provide various room types, 69 rooms in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Phra Nang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Phra Nang Krabi
Phra Nang Inn Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing