We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
£119
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,776)
Filter reviews
1,776 results
Traveller rating
670
697
264
92
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
670
697
264
92
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral pool beach bar excellent location beach front main pool long tail the main street thai massage railay beach fire show bars and restaurants sun loungers deluxe room welcome drink aonang resort thailand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,014 - 1,019 of 1,776 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Flight: Paid a bit extra to travel with Emirates again via Glasgow, well worth it and we arrived reasonably relaxed after the long flight.

Hotel: Excellent, one of the best locations in Ao Nang, AT the centre of things but not IN the centre of things. Easy accesses to shops, restaurants, transport etc and faces right onto the beach. Hotel amenities are good, clean and in keeping with its grade and description. Staffs are knowledgeable, welcoming, professional and discreet.

Food: Like many, we ate out mostly, Ao Nang features a wide and varied selection of restaurants and eateries and the highly rated (justifiably) ‘Street Food’. The Night Market in Krabi Town is a must see, not just for the food but the varied entertainment and authentic Thai crafts, a local shopping experience.

Resort and Krabi Area: We have been to Krabi Province previously but this time saw a dramatic change – far more commercialised but as always, the people are delightful, welcoming and tolerant. If you are seeking idyllic, quiet beaches as depicted in the film The Beach, you will be disappointed. They are still there but you will be sharing them with several hundred others. Otherwise, long-tail boats are cheap, fun and scheduled services run regularly along the coast.
Other than commercially provided activities, there is little to do other than the local boat trips. If you like canoeing, it is worth renting a kayak from nearby Railay Bay and paddle around the stunning limestone cliffs, maybe catch the rock climbers attempting some of the world famous routes. NB – do not be tempted to rent from the chap at the Southern end of Ao Nang beach (beyond The Last Fisherman Bar), his boats are poorly maintained, the life jackets are in poor condition and has a biased interpretation of what constitutes a ‘one hour’ hire. Noppharet Thara pier/beach and national park are quiet and worth exploring.

Best value for money is still a Traditional Thai Massage, competition is tough and prices low. However “caveat emptor”, the quality, skill and qualifications vary dramatically and price is not always an indicator of either. If everyone who claims to have trained at the Wat Po Temple in Bankok has – it must be the size of a small town. After trial and error I stuck with the I’M Tak Krabi Beauty Centre, sited opposite McDonalds sign on the main inland road – looks small from the outside but houses a large air conditioned interior. Girls, don’t always take the easy option of a western style oil massage, great though it is, you can’t go to Thailand without experiencing a traditional Thai massage. Done well, it is invigorating and your body will thank you.

Like the rest of the world, as a holiday destination Thailand is changing, but the pluses still outweigh the minuses and we shall continue to enjoy its diversity.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TwaCorbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear TwaCorbies

Thank you for your stay with us, and taking the time to write this review and share your holiday experience with other travelers on this platform. You positive remarks for our resort location are greatly appreciated. It is indeed a seclude hidden paradise ideal for those who wish to escape for a while but still convenience as just minutes away from lively shopping and restaurant district of Aonang Beach.

The night market as mentioned is weekend walking street for those who would like to explore Krabi’s culture. Also, thank you for your recommendation to other travelers not to missed ‘Thai Traditional massage’ I totally agree with your view.

With your mention about ‘Wat Pho’ let me share some more information on this, ‘Wat Pho’ or the official name is ‘Wat Pra Chetuphon Vimolmongklararam Rajwaramahaviharn’ located in Bangkok is a first grade royal monastery, regarded as the most important one during the reign of King Rama I of the Chakri Dynasty. It opened Thai Traditional Medical School for those who interested to have knowledge of Thai Traditional Massage with difference classes start from 30 hours session up to 200 hours session. ‘‘Wat Po Massage style’ is help to relieve muscular fatigue and plain. Reduce tension, headaches, and promote relaxation, and to stimulate the circulation of blood and lymphatic system.

Trip for traveler: In Thailand for those people who would like to work as therapist is require to completed massage courses at least 120 hrs to get certificate from Ministry of Public Health, for the hotel most of Therapist is request to finish at least 200 hrs and more with well train massage technical, this is make hotel spa different from local shop massage.

Warm regards,


Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I spent the last Christmas in this hotel with my wife and my two daughters aged 9. The hotel location is great, but next to the beach and very close to shops and restaurants. The main pool is really great and the massage in the 2nd pool is a 'must', as you must not forget you are in Thailand. What was really disappointing was the breakfast. It was one of the worst breakfasts I have ever had. Also the staff in the restaurant looked tired even in the morning.

Room tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Dimitriscrete

Thank you for stay and taking the time to post the review. Your positive remarks for our resort location, and facilities are greatly appreciated. I have also taken note on breakfast opinion and have share to our Executive Chef to look into this matter and make the necessary improvement where require, we always welcome guests’ feedbacks for us to learn, improve and understand our guests’ needs.

During the high occupancy with festive events our members were staying late in the evening trying to achieved everyday guest satisfaction, this may case of look tied in the morning, however, I will bring your feedback to our team.

Thank you once again and hope there will be another opportunity to welcoming you and family back again.

Warm regards,


Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
www.aonangvilla.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed this hotel at the last new year holiday.
At first, my two friends booked via Agoda. and then, I requested to this hotel directly by email to add an extra-bed.

They accepted this request and show the price for extra bed.
After some days, about 1 week prior to visit this hotel, they showed risen price for extra bed again. In addition, about GALA dinner(3,200THB per person)
After negotiated with hotel I accepted GALA dinner cause many hotels have GALA dinner special night and must we have, even I will arrive this hotel at night time.

On the day when I arrived, reception personnel did not know about extra-bed for me and I had to show them the email interaction between reservation person and me and explain to them. from first.

After that extra-bed was set, but there are 2 towels for 2 person.
Towel and other amenities are prepared after calling to reception. but I had to call each time for each item.

Bad news does not end there, GALA dinner which cost is 3,200THB(about 100USD) are just general food-stalls in Thailand + α, plus excluding drinks. I live in Thailand and I know that price are.....(I know here is the hotel, but...)
We went to restaurant in late, there was not our table and they made our table by putting the table cloth on the table which seems it is for working at the edge of the room.

Atmosphere is good, nice 2 pools, massage space, spa and so on. Location is front of the beach and good too.
Every staff are smiling and friendly.

GALA dinner problem is the second, but the problem of extra-bed was terrible for me.
It might we were unlucky. but I hope improving your service quality.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Naoko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear naoko705_bkk

Sorry for late reply. Thank you for taking the time to write and share this detailed feedback on this platform. We are delighted to hear that overall you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and services.

Please accept my sincere apologized for all inconveniences caused you have experience upon arrival and at the gala dinner. This is certainly unacceptable for our hotel standard and thank you for bringing this up to our attention and I will investigated this issue further and rectify the issues to avoided same issue happen with other guests in future.

As always, we share your valuable feedback with our team for make the necessary improvement where require. Once again thank you for your comment and we hope to get another chance to welcome you to our resort.

Warm regards,


Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Excellent hotel with great staff. The main pool was closed when we were there on our second day for what I take it to be a chlorine boost, but was fixed and ready again the following day.
We have been to Thailand twice and I must say that the food was not the greatest we have had. Our room was clean, linen fresh and very spaciouse!
Generaly well run resort with a lot to offer!

Room tip: They have a big variety of different types of rooms, I would say you need to check their website for what will suite your needs.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reinhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Reinhard V

Firstly, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience of temporary closing the swimming pool on your stay. As it is our duty to ensure we maintain a safety, healthy and comfortable environment. I have taken note on your opinion our food, and will share to our Executive Chef to look into this matter as we are value our guests comment.

We are glad to hear that overall you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and service, as well; it is always a very positive sign for me when a guest points out the positive attitude of our staffs, and I will be delighted to share your compliments with my team.

Thank you for taking time to review and feedback that would help us to improve our service. I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,


Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

First impressions on arrival at this resort through a gate with a guard on duty around the circular driveway is very attractive. The reception area is large and has nice decor. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The long walkway to the rooms with little inground pools is also very nice.It is a very well located resort opposite the beach and right in the centre of Aonang Beach. Proximity to shops and restaurants ideal. The resort boasts two big pool areas with plenty of sun lounges and umbrellas. The gardens surrounding the resort are very beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was quiet good but not the best I've had in Thailand. Our room overlooked one of the pools and the beach and was well appointed. We asked to be upgraded to this room and it was not a problem. Overall we enjoyed out stay at this resort and would highly recommend it.

Room tip: Rooms that overlook the beachside pool would probably be quieter than the rooms that overlook the main pool area.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy1957075
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Kathy1957075

I truly value your positive review and thank you for sharing your positive perspective of the resort with other travelers. I am please to learn that my team has well taken care of you from your arrival to your departure from our resort. As your mentions our resort’s 2 swimming pool, green environment and resort location are indeed three of the highlight we can provide for our guests. I will certainly share your review with my team.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back again to our resort soon.

Warm regards,


Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews