We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and dated but does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Villa Resort
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Old and dated but does the job”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked a fairly last minute stay for a few nights, stayed in Grand Superior seaview room. This was located close to reception, on the top floor (3rd) overlooking the gardens with a small view over the trees to the sea. So if you need a complete sea view, these rooms don't really do the job.

Its an old resort and it shows. Needs a lick of paint here and there and a bit of modernising. This is most evident in the rooms. It was big, but sparsely decorated and certainly no feeling of luxury. The king bed however was perhaps the best i have ever slept in in Thailand - ultra comfy. The aircon worked a treat, and the balcony was pleasant to sit out on. The light switches were impossible to work out in the room and bathroom. In the end i gave up and unplugged everything, including the kettle, just to get the room dark for sleep.

The bathrooms need an overhaul too. Bare (think unfinished plaster) look and poor lighting, and a loo that continued to smell despite nothing being in it. Good water pressure in the shower (over bath) and nice smelling toiletries, and lots of free amenities. So you can hopefully start to see that the room was comfortable if a little lacking in style and taste.

The breakfast was busy but OK - a few off-putting flies around the jam, same dodgy tea and coffee that you find throughout Thailand, but food was replenished regularly. Help yourself to everything, no table service here.

The beach bar faced the beach street, was not that conducive to lingering, and the happy hour was buy 2 get 1 free. Tried many cocktails in many places and never got a good one. Waste of money everywhere, stick to to the beer.

The large pool that you see on the web pages was by far the best part of the stay. Lovely pool, beautiful backdrop of the cliffs, and lots of sunbeds. The pool bar however, looked very unloved. No decor, no atmosphere, plastic tables n chairs. Good for a coffee or drink during the day but that would be it. Not a place to linger.

I was initially swayed by the current promo of "free massage" with a 2 night booking. This is a bit like the hoover promo years ago in the UK when they offered a free Florida flight, then ran out of free flights. Popped to the spa on the day of arrival to book this, only to find out no appointments available. Why offer this promo unless you are good for honouring it ? The beach massages are decent at 200THB (also at the hotel under the pagoda type thing) so I wouldn't recommend you jump at this deal just for the free spa massage - theres a good chance that you won't actually get it - as it was in our case.

All in all a good location close to the shops, restaurants etc. Lovely pool, and great comfy beds. This hotel has got some things right. A bit of upgrading and sprucing up of the common areas and bars would surely see this hotel a winner.

Room Tip: I would personally opt for a room overlooking the main pool as this is a better outlook than the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheluvz2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear livvylou
Thank you for your sharing your experience on this platform. Guest feedback is very important to us and it allows improving our resort and its services.

Following your feedback, I was obviously very concerned reading your comments about the service levels and our product you experience during in your recent stay with us.

The hotel has been renovated since 2005 in the wing you were stay, and we have the annual maintenance program in place to maintain the facilities and guestrooms. Certainly your input is very helpful and we will carefully look into the defect areas and make improvement.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall of service during your breakfast, and thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will use this feedback for further training for our Food & Beverage service team.

In regards of booking condition that included 1 hour massage for 2 persons, it is common practice that we encourage our guests to schedule their appointments in advance to ensure your preferred treatment or therapist is available. Bookings made on the day of service, advance booking, and walk-in appointments are always welcome, based upon availability, which we hope our guests would understand.

The spa treatment complimentary on your package is value-added for guests who really want to experience an enhance sense of relaxation with our pampering on their holiday, and we received most complimentary from guests who booked on this package, and entire guest got a chance to experience our treatment.

Last but not least, Thank you once again for your recent stay. I will certainly share your review with my team, and certainly look into the detail of improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again in near future

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    572
    209
    78
    36
See reviews for
335
630
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tri-Cities, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I really searched for our hotel in Ao Nang-- asked a lot of traveler's on the TA forum and decided on Ao Nang Villa Resort for it's location. And it does have a perfect location. Quiet and close: close to the beach and beach road, long tail boat pick up and shopping and restaurants. Perfect.
The room was fine-- nothing luxurious-- but it was clean, and had everything we needed.
They did give us a nice romantic welcome with swan towel creations and flower petals scattered on the bed on our arrival.
Housekeeping was GREAT-- every day-- spotlessly cleaned. New Water bottles and beach towels. And ours gave us nightly Thai candy--that was yummy and I searched and searched and with some friendly Thai help, I was able to find the candy in bags to bring home for our grandchildren!
The pools were nice and you can't beat the photo ops of the limestone cliffs right behind the pool-- I couldn't take enough pictures!!
The buffet breakfast was a nice surprise-- they somehow manage to provide food for every ethnicity -- wow-- it was impressive.
And again the location, being able to eat breakfast sitting by the beach road, looking at the water and the longtail boats ( after you shoo away the friendly dogs who think under the table is their spot!!)
Front desk was helpful--arranged taxi to airport-- answered questions and always friendly.
There are no elevators, so if mobility is a problem make sure you book a ground floor room. We were on the 3rd floor, but no problem, helped us work off all the mango and sticky rice desserts.
Didn't eat at the restaurants on site-- too many other places to eat so close to resort.
Again, if you want a great location-- this is the place-- but don't be disappointed that it's not a 4 star-- it's clean, nice and friendly-- all that we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear 23louise

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am delighted to know that you have overall enjoyed our stunning view of the mountain from the pool side and hotel ground, with our attentiveness from our services team during your stay. Your positive remarks for our resort service and location are greatly appreciated. The location is one of the benefit for guests staying with us, as we are located 3 minutes away from Aonang walking street which so many shops, restaurant and bar out there.
Again Thank you for your positive review, and I hope we would have another opportunity to welcome you back again in near future.
Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights with our 10 months old baby boy.
One of the few resorts located on the "quiter" street next to the beach.
The resort is divided into two parts. A recently build part, that is depicted on the hotels website and a much larger and older part, which unfortunately is way past it's prime.
The "deluxe" pool rooms are in the older part and there is nothing "deluxe" about these run down, dark slightly damp rooms.
It appears that the hotel caters mostly is package tourists, from Scandinavia and Germany.
Pool is large and besides the brand new Spa the pool is the main attraction of the resort. However our baithing suits started turning slightly yellow and acquired an unpleasant ouddour after 5 days.
Breakfast was quite nice with good selection of Thai and continental dishes.
White Elephant restaurant at hotel serves above average Thai dishes.
The resort staff is keen and provides a good service all the way from housekeeping to receptionists and restaurant staff.
If Aunang is what you are looking for in an 3+ stars resort, then this is an ok place. It's not however a 4star resort as it appears here on trip advisor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maciek_Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Maciek Maz

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience at Aonang Villa Resort. It is my great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our location, and a variety of breakfast and supreme quality of food at White Elephant restaurant, as well as the attentiveness from our services staff. I will certainly share your complimentary to our team.

In regard of your review, our resort is designed with a dual concept for families and couples. The resort has been major renovated since 9 years ago, some designed may looked shabby, however, in every years of service we are significantly working on to extensive soft refurbishment to refresh and repair our product and facilities as it is our focus to meet our guest expectation. Also, I am please to inform that our room furniture in upcoming high season will be slightly changes, with some room decorations.

I always appreciate the feedback, whether it is positive or negative, as this gives me the opportunity to recognize any service or product related issues and make the necessary changes.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Ao Nang Villa Resort is situated in Ao Nang Krabi province of Thailand. The hotel rooms are stylish and spacious. Minibar is well stocked, and the King size bed is very comfortable. The hotel boasts an open air reception as with many hotels in Thailand. Maintenance department promptly responded to our air conditioning problem in the room. Breakfast is served in an open air restaurant with great ambience. As with any hotel the food and beverage is quite expensive. A coke is priced at 90 Baht, whereas a coke in the shops close by is priced at 14 Baht.

This was our favourite hotel in Thailand by far.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Joel

Thank you for recent stay at Aonang Villa Resort and for taking the time to share your holiday experience on this review. I am pleased to learn that you overall enjoyed the stay at our resort, and our resort and services are met your expectations.

In regards to your comments on the beverage pricing at our resort, our price is indeed higher than the local shop, the reason is we operate with more sophisticated equipments and keep quality and hygiene with the international food safety standard. Apart from that cost also involves all preparations and services.

I am pleased to hear that our resort is one of your favorite hotel in Thailand, and I hope we will soon welcome you back for another pleasant stay.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Location - very good, at the heart of Ao Nang
Facilities - they have two pools, next to the beach, have gym
Food - not too good but then again its Thailand. You can get good/better food anywhere else and its cheap
Bed - clean, tidy and good enough.

Overall, can go into your consideration for booking if it fits your budget or if you like big hotel type

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielwongkaifai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Danielwongkaifai

Thank you for posting this review and sharing your view on TripAdvisor. I also noted your comment about food, I will definitely hae our culinary team look into this area and make immediate improvement. Thank you once again for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back for another stay soon.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I had celebrated our 40th Wedding anniversary in September 13 in Thailand and Anong Villa Resort was our second place of stay. When we checked into our room we were surprised to seen two single beds , we contacted the reception and this was sorted out within minutes , despite this small issue our 2 night stay at this resort was amazing, god food, fantastic location ,clean room and well maintained gardens and swimming pool.This resort is easily accessible to the ebach, shopping areas and the lovely restaurants.We enjoyed the 2 evenings at the restaurant with the live music ,could not resist doing our ballrom and latin dances.and also sambaing the night away.A special thanks to the two members of the band , they keep the resort & evenings lively.and also to the reception staff .On our way to Phi Phi Island will definetly come back and also recommed thios resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisRubyNaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear DennisRubyNaidoo

Thank you for your recent stay at our resort and happy 40th Wedding Anniversary. My team an I truly appreciated your fine compliments. Your kind words have indeed been rewarding for all of our team for their strong efforts extended to all detail. We are looking forward to your return and please do not hesitate to reach out to me if you plan to visit our resort in the future. Thanks again for your valuable remarks.

Warm regards,


Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at Aonang villa resort for 8 nights and it would be difficult to fault this hotel from the staff at the reception to the pool bar staff. The location and setting of this hotel was excellent, with views of the mountains from the pool.The hotel is situated right on the beach with rooms that are spacious and cleaned every day to a very high standard We wanted to change our flight times for our return to Bangkok to enable us to stay for an extra day, Thammarat who works at reception contacted Thai airways and changed our flight and arranged for one of his drivers to collect our tickets from Bangkok airport the next day.... great service!. The only negative point we can think of is when we ate at the lunch bar on the beach we found some confusion regarding the menus that we ordered from.Be mindful of this, order, ask if service is included as it does not suggest this on the menu. When we pointed out that the price on our bill was from the dearer menu and not the one we ordered from, we were asked if we were staying in the hotel, to which we replied yes, they altered the bill accordingly. The hotel is in the quieter end of aonang beach and close to local amenities such as restaurants, shops and bars,All that said we will be going back to aonang villa resort next March 2014.

Room Tip: Depending on your needs we loved being on the first floor over looking the pool because it was priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Michael K


Thank you for your recent stay and review on this platform, I am pleased to learn that you have overall enjoyed stay with us, I will certainly pass on your fine compliments to Mr.Thammarat our Guest Service Supervisor and all the associates.

I also noted your comment about our associate service at lunch bar, I was obviously concerned about the service level and attitude of some of our associate you experienced during your stay. Needless to say, this is unacceptable and unprofessional behavior and I would like to sincerely apologize for this. I have internal addressed this with my team.

Thank you one again and look forward to welcome you back to Aonang Villa Resort , and please do not hesitate to reach out to me if you plan to visit our resort in next March 2014.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.3 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Villa Resort

Property: Aonang Villa Resort
Address: 113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Villa Resort, the stimulating destination situated on the unspoiled natural scenery by soaring limestone cliffs and lovely tropical environment, as well as just minutes away from lively shopping and restaurant district of Aonang Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aonang Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Villa Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Hotel Krabi
Aonang Resort Krabi
Ao Nang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing