We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not situated on the beach, an 'OK' hotel, but definitely not 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Villa Resort
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not situated on the beach, an 'OK' hotel, but definitely not 4 stars”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

After doing much research, we chose Ao Nang Villa as it was highly recommended in the web. When we first arrived, we were really shocked as the hotel was very quiet and there was not much activity going on (in the lobby or around the vicinity). Only when you walk out to the main area then the place becomes alive. Rather dissappointed as the hotel was not situated on the beach. Just like how it is in Patong (Phuket) you need to walk across the road to go to the beach and sadly it is not white sand beach. It's dirty and yellow sand. Perhaps with the price we are paying for Ao Nang Villa, you would want to stay in Railay or other parts of Krabi that has white sand beach and clear sea. When we arrive, the receptionist were not friendly and seemed very stern when checking us in and showed us the room. Everyday the breakfast buffet spread is the same and since we stayed 4Nights here, it became boring by the 2nd day. The staffs could not speak English properly hence we have problem with ordering Room service. Our room was alright as it faces the pool, so we had a great view of the pool and the mountain as background. However, there should be less coconut trees planted outside our room as it blocked the view of the scenery. The bed was really hard. I like hard bed since I have a bad back, but the bed was too hard that my hb had sore back during the entire trip and I could not sleep properly. At this era, the TV in the room should be of flat screen and not the old CRTV. Overall, a pleasant stay in Krabi as this hotel is strategically located, however, wish that there was more entertainment and at least some noise or live band or the likes at night (as compared to other adjacent hotels like Centara Grand that have live performances every night). We end up having dinner at other restaurants/hotels rather than in Ao Nang Villa. Also, there are not many places to see in Krabi, you might as well go to Phuket or Koh Samui (best!) to experience the culture, sand, sea etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillianblc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    570
    208
    78
    35
See reviews for
332
627
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This is not a five star hotel and you get what you pay for, but the hotel was very clean and pleasant. The rooms were spacious and clean, there was no separate shower but again not a five star. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and I did not think the restaurant was over-priced, and the food was always good in the evenings.The staff were always polite and helpful. The beach was clean and we watched the staff sweep this in the morning. The only problem we encountered was the saving of beds round the pool, and some people did not turn up until mid-day after they had been on the beach. This needs to be addressed by the Management.One morning my husband went for a walk early and all the beds were taken by 6am!We did not like the cats wandering around the breakfast area.The hotel is in a good quiet location but only a couple of minutes away from the bars and restaurants. There are monkeys at the end of the beach but please do not feed them as asked as they will jump up for more.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This hotel is value for money. If you want a palace you pay big bucks and some people need to remember this! some of the reviews make we wonder if its actually the same Aonang Villa me and my hubby stayed in. We found the hotel was generally good, particuarly the restaurant which may have been slightly expensive by thai standards but cheap by UK standards - the food was great. the hotel could probably do with a lick of paint here and there and the view over the back of the restaurants from the front balcony wasn't the best. On arriving in Krabi the resort was more developed than anticipated which was great for restaurant choices but not the 'get away from it all' idyll we had hoped for. However the hotel's location was excellent for jumping on a boat and going over to the paradise islands of Poda, Phi Phi and Hong Islands - something we did nearly every day. We LOVED every minute of this holiday and will certainly go back to Thailand and would have no problem recommending this hotel for those on a bit of a budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamgirlSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

it was a very cool welcome when we arrived. Not what we were used to from other locations. The room was smelly, expensive for what you get and furnitured in grandmothers style ( we had a downstairs room. ) we didn`t feel welcome.
We were very happy that we only have to stay for one night.
But we found very helpful staff the next day. thank you.
For everyone who likes noisy party places with a very narrow crowded beach, Ao Nang is the right lpace

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elefant09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronshoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at the Aonang Villa resort with our two children (10 month and 4 years of age) and the feelings are mixed. The rooms were good and the balcony had a good size and the pool was excellent. Also, the location was good - right next to the beach. However, the hotel restaurant was overpriced, the private beach was littered with cigarette buds and the reception staff was very helpful when selling their own services but failed to help with other options (they would happily book their limo to go to Krabi city but did not mention that the cheap bus to Krabi left right outside the hotel).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nlassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Wales UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Quick checkin. Curtious staff. Clean enough but rooms due for refurb.VERY hard mattresses. poor children's play area. Wasps a nuisance around jam pots at breakfast. Beach poor sand mainly shells-no sun loungers. Conveniently positioned in a quiet location. Plenty of good restaurants. Wide roads with pavements in relatively good condition. Railay beach worth a visit. Beware of sunset trip! OK in the daylight but you arrive back in the dark and must tranfer onto long tail boat mid ocean in order to come ashore.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsNWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My wife and child aged 10 stayed 13 days at this resort from the 28th December 2010 to the 10 January 2011. Reading some of the previous reviews I was'nt exactly sure what to expect, but upon our arrival was pleasantly surprised. Check-in was fast and our request to see our room prior to settling our account in full (management requirement) was granted. We stayed in a grand superior room on the second level overlooking the main pool. The room was large but did look a little tired, and the view to the pool was obstructed by a large palm tree. However it was clean and acceptable. The room did'nt have a flat screen TV which was disappointing, but I did notice flat screens in other rooms. Must request if/when I return. The beds were hard but after 6 Singa's again just acceptable. An upgrade to the beds would be highly recommended though.

The New Years Gala dinner was special and well managed. Compliments to the staff and management for organising a great night. The night was filled with welcome drinks and street like foods stalls which was followed by a buffet dinner. The night events were broken up by games organised for both adults and childern which included prizes. This keeped everyone entertained.

Access to both beach and restaurants was perfect as they were only a short stroll away. Staff were friendly however there was the odd long face, but it was'nt an issue. The main Pool area is great with plenty of room however the chairs and pool need a small overhaul. Still acceptable if you are not to precious or a drama queen.

For the location and layout of the resort I would'nt hesitate to recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed and compared to the resorts nearby easily the best.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieVenetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Villa Resort

Property: Aonang Villa Resort
Address: 113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Villa Resort, the stimulating destination situated on the unspoiled natural scenery by soaring limestone cliffs and lovely tropical environment, as well as just minutes away from lively shopping and restaurant district of Aonang Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aonang Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Villa Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Hotel Krabi
Aonang Resort Krabi
Ao Nang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing