We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track”

First Level Kayaking Trip
Ranked #6 of 48 Tours in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kayaking in the deep jungle, mangrove, canyons and lagoons. Meet the wildlife! We will pick you up around 8.00 AM at your hotel/resort. Once we arrive at the kayak pier, our team will set your kayak while your are enjoying a cup of coffee or tea (free). We will give you a dry bag for your camera, a bottle of water, a life jacket and your paddle. Ok, time to get onto your kayak. You will discover 3 different styles of landscape. First, we will paddle between limestone cliffs and Andaman Sea, then we will enter a breathtaking and majestic jungle-canyon area. The third area is the deep mangrove, where the monkeys are hiding. 3 amazing atmospheres. At the end of the tour, after refreshing yourself with juicy and sweet fresh fruits, we will kindly drop you back at your hotel. Appreciate the wonders of nature against a backdrop of endless greenery and learn about the amazing works of Earth’s ecology. Amazing feeling while passing thru this wild and preserve nature. Enjoy the pure and ever green jungle. Eco-friendly kayaks, dewy fresh air and the cooing and buzzing of birds, this is definitely ultimate tranquility, with lots of fun! Quiet water, very low risk. 2 hours of amazing time on the water.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I'm torn between wanting everyone to discover this tour and wanting to keep it an unspoilt gem. I was in Krabi 2 weeks ago and looking for an experience that was different from the usual, touristy Ko Phi Phi, etc. kind of tour. I'm so glad we got in touch with Thierry (the owner/manager) because him and his guide gave us the exact experience we were looking for. You'll see parts of Aonang that you would never think to venture to - a rubber plantation, a pineapple farm, the bustling local market. If you're tired of lying on the beach and contending with the many other tourists/tour operators, please consider seeing a different side of Aonang. It was low season when we were visiting and the kayaking part of the trip was canceled due to threat of rain (the only reason I gave this a 4-star instead of 5 since I can't comment on the entire tour), but Thierry was very accomodating in modifying the itinerary for us. We had a great time riding around in The Cube (I don't want to ruin the fun, you've got to sit in it yourself) and it was beautiful day to remember. Thanks so much to Dathai for giving us a very unique experience in Aonang.

1  Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our entire two week trip to Thailand has been fabulous but our day with Tha Lane Bay Discovery Tour really stands out.

I hesitated to even travel to the South of Thailand as we are group with 7 kids under 12, a 79 year old grandmother, and all of us fair skinned making us the wrong candidates for long days of snorkeling, long boat trips and the a lot of beach time. However, we did not want to miss the beauty the south of the country offers and when I saw, on Trip Advisor, Tha Lane Bay Discovery Tour, it was just what I was looking for.

From my first emails with the company, through our entire day with them, they were responsive, accommodating and very pleasant.

Every moment of the day was physically beautiful and other than the kayaking trip (which was great), we never would have known of or found the other stops on the tour. Driving down a tiny road and ending up in a local rubber farmer's shed/workshop and learning how he taps his trees and makes sheets of rubber was fascinating. Our guide was the son of a rubber farmer and he told us not just how it is made, but told us how hard it was for his mom to wake him at the 3 in the morning to help her tap the trees.

The tour gave us a great appreciation for how the Thai people use their natural resources and it exposed us to the amazing beauty of the area.

All of the stops were worthwhile and fun for the kids and adults in our group. I would definitely recommend this tour!

+++ Be sure to wear extra sun protection (light pants or sunblock) when on the kayaking trip. I was wearing long shorts but my lower legs got very sun burned.+++

3  Thank firstripwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry M, Owner at First Level Kayaking Trip, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your great review. It really helps us. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Kayak tour. Please feel free to contact us again if you are in the area. Hoping to see you again soon.

Kind regards

TM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We really enjoyed all aspects of the day. Beautiful kayaking, great lunch restaurant, interesting tours of pineapple and rubber plantations, and stunning scenery as we were driving. Our tour guide was very interesting and knowledgable. Highly recommended if you're looking for something other than the standard group tours.

2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry M, Owner at First Level Kayaking Trip, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your great review. It really helps us. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Kayak tour. Please feel free to contact us again if you are in the area. Hoping to see you again soon.

Kind regards

TM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Tha Lane Bay, for us it is The last Eden garden.
We saw about 6 others tourists during that day. We really were out of the mass tourist that are stuck in Ao Nang. We are bored of elephant trek and island tour, where your are just a number. That tour is just totaly different. The kayaking, the lunch, the all afternoon, everything that was on the brochure was really exiting to learn and to see. We had bad weather but the car we used was confortable and dry. So please stop posting review about the Ao Nang over crowded beaches, just go out of Ao Nang and this tour is the perfect way to do it. RECOMMENDED

2  Thank Francois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry M, Owner at First Level Kayaking Trip, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your great review. It really helps us. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Kayak tour. Please feel free to contact us again if you are in the area. Hoping to see you again soon.

Kind regards

TM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We wanted a different way to travel in south Thailand and we discovered this tour.. waouw ! this was a marvellous day.
We were surrounded by spectacular limestone sceneries and by the quietness of nature. We learned a lot about pineappel, rubber trees and palm oil plantations ..
We hardly recommend it !! Thank you to the crew !!

3  Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry M, Owner at First Level Kayaking Trip, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your great review. It really helps us. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Kayak tour. Please feel free to contact us again if you are in the area. Hoping to see you again soon.

Kind regards

TM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Level Kayaking Trip also viewed

 

Been to First Level Kayaking Trip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing