We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2star at best”
Review of Pornthep Mansion

Pornthep Mansion
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pornthep Mansion
Ranked #112 of 143 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Booked this hotel in Ao Nang for 8 people on short notice the week before xmas. Front desk staff were nice enough and the room included breakfast. But at over 50$ a nite CAD it was/ is highly overpriced. Rooms are in dire need of a coat paint or a real good cleaning. Wifi was spotty and had to walk out a reset the router in the hallway. Beds have seen their better days. Outside bathroom with shower and toilet, so have to go thru the patio doors at nite to use the toilet.
Pornthep Mansion is about a mile from the beach so not a great location if you dont have transportation.
Room should be about 700 to 800 baht max imo.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms we booked were a bit nicer than the others, i think they were on the front side. m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I booked this hotel when I found it on expedia because when I checked it's location on the map it appeared right in town, close to all the restaurants, shops, etc.

When the bus driver dropped me off I was surprised to find myself pretty much in the middle of no where. I had to either rent a scooter for 250baht a day or take a taxi to get around. I don't have a driver's license and I'm not adventurous enough to ride a scooter around these parts so the taxi was my only option.

They are close to the main pier though so I suppose that's convenient/beach, however you do have to walk about 45 minutes before you actually get onto the edge of town.

The room was clean and the mattress was really nice to sleep on, however I had to walk out onto a balcony to access a shower and a toilet.
No decent internet connection, the router on the second floor needs to be fixed.
Definitely overplayed.

The staff are very nice and try to be as helpful and accommodating as they can. The breakfast was also nice, nothing fancy.

I just think you can find something of way better value and quality for the same price or less.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Due to an oversight on my part I needed to book a room for one night and opted for Ao Nang as I hadn't been there before. I would rate this as a 550B hotel with breakfast. It's not a great location, right off the road and doesn't offer much. It was listed as a 3 star hotel on Booking.com but I believe it's somewhere between a 1 or 2. Paid 1000B for one night and believe it's overpriced at that rate. The lady that runs it was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I only booked this hotell for 2 nights near Krabi Airport before I get home. I'm sorry to say it, but it was more like B&B and a hotel. The receptiongirl speak good english and was very helpful.

The breakfast was served at the first floor in the reception, the floor was dirty and the whole family lives there.
She was simpel dressed in her nightwear, not good behaver from the personal.
I will never book this "hotel" again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOASweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We wanted a cheap place in Krabi and ended up here. We met Kim downstairs and he was really nice. Upon entering our room it smelled of smoke throughout. When we requested another room it was not possible due to the place being full. We endured the smoke for a day and asked to only stay one night rather than 2 and were told the owners they would talk and let us know however we haven't heard back from them and assume we were charged the second night. We recommend getting a place closer to town and believe me, you will find cheaper!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank tonyandmimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
Thank fridarisshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
2.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,371 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Aonang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort
#18 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornthep Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornthep Mansion

Address: 153/1 Moo 5 Nopparat Thara Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pornthep Mansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pornthep Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornthep Mansion Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing