We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dining Option in Krabi”
Review of The Hilltop

The Hilltop
Ranked #43 of 279 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Perfect Dining Option in Krabi”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hilltop provides an unobstructed view of the skyline and vast landscape of Ao Nang, despite being shrouded in lush greenery.

While the name of the place indicates its location, this can be circumvented with a request for the restaurant to pick you and your dining party up from your hotel or preferred location. What greets you at the end of the journey is worth the drive up.

The service staff is friendly, warm and attentive, while the food is tasty, authentic and affordable.

The 'live' musicians are personable, trendy with their song list and pepper their conversations with the guests with wit and anecdotes.

A must-visit in Krabi.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah_DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    316
    174
    69
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view with cozy environment”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

One recommendation to visit this place is during low season where there would be less crowd for a better service. They also provide pick up services to your hotel which lessen your hassle to find the restaurant. Food was alright which still have room to improve. Environment and services was good.My friend and I went the 1st night to dine and came back again the 2nd night for their drinks with their solo acoustic music. Overall was overwhelmed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sherlin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Celebrated our 5th anniversary marriage. To bad the weather wasn't on our side but the staff really gave us a nice service and the whole night was good after all. It even cleared up so we could witness the wonderful view. All in all a nice evening.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so great food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The food was not great at all. Tom Yam was crap and so was the Green Curry. I have had better Thai food in Malaysia.

Ambience was great and so was the view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monagy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, ruined by terrible service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This restaurant has a beautiful view. I admit that. Particularly, at sunset. However, its charm kind of ends there.

The service is pathetic to say the least. The waiters kept asking us whether we're ready to order every 30 sec - when we're already going through the menu trying to decide the order! In spite of repeatedly telling them we'd take a few mins to order.

To top that, the food was mediocre. We ordered some duck and it was pretty hard. Portion size is measly - a large rice was I think about 4-5 teaspoons. And they actually had a small rice portion as well for 1/3rd price - I wonder they'd simply sprinkle a few rice grains on a small plate for that.

Coming back to service, once the orders were taken, they simply chose to forget us. We were trying to get their attention for 10 mins before we had to call a waiter from another table to get us our bill. And then again for next 10 mins we had to ask different waiters multiple times to get our bill to no avail! Finally, when another larger group turned up, they started moving tables and chairs and one of the chairs slammed into our table hard, and the waiter didn't even bother turning to apologize! It's one of the worst service I've ever seen. I'd strongly not recommend this restaurant - coz chances are, they'll ruin your evening in spite of a beautiful view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Saptak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hilltop also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to The Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing