We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sala Talay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sala Talay”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I have just come back from ten days at the Sala Talay, Ao Nang, with my husband. We both enjoyed it very much and looked forward to getting back to the cool room each day. It was always clean and cool with fresh towels (although there was a note that said that if you left the towels on the rail they would not be changed to help save water this was not done and is one minor complaint).
We had a pool room which meant we had direct access from our terrace. As much as I did not think this would be that important, it was and we enjoyed sitting on our own terrace on our own sunbeds and getting walking down into the pool.
The mini bar in the room was great and on the whole cheaper than drinks at the bar - apart from happy hour which was from 4-6.30pm - nice cocktails.
Breakfast was at the front of the hotel and olverlooked the ocean - I loved this! The menu did get a bit repetitive but on the whole it was good. However, do watch that everything is covered and don't eat anything that isn't like the pancakes or the little cakes that sit open on the side.
The hotel provide a mozzie plug but I still got bitten quite badly - tiger balm was purchased and helped but the best thing is to take your own Deet which you can pick up from Millets or the like.
There were a few complaints from some people regarding the pool - things like a brick missing and some people believing it wasn't clean enough but we had no trouble and you must remember where you are.
The air con worked well every night unlike some place I have been and we only had a power cut once for a short while.
The location of the hotel meant it was a bit outside the main resort but that wasn't a problem for us and we liked walking into the town at night past all the restaurants, tailors and massage parlours - though you do get a bit tired of saying no thank you after a while.

Room Tip: If you like being near the pool - go for a pool access room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRWBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    716
    265
    82
    43
See reviews for
647
641
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I agree with some of the other comments: great location, well maintained, decent breakfast, and though I was only there for 2 nights, it was clean, comfortable, and modern. As it rained the entire time, we did spend a lot of time at the hotel and in our room, so the pool and mini library and all the other activities at the hotel were great to have. The boats to Phi-Phi are right across the road and tuk-tuks are easily available. I agree that this is not a 4 star property, but definitely better than most of the hotels on this strip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillywhiterabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I had a great time at this hotel, but thought that I would provide a review as it is advertised as a four star hotel when in reality it is a 3 star plus hotel. Good location - just on the outskirts of Ao Nang, but very easy to get into the centre, about 80p on a Tuk, Tuk one way, 5 min journey or 20 mins walk. We stayed in the Deluxe room - bottom of the range in the hotel - but still nice accommodation, if a little tired and without items like an iron or ironing board as standard but which we received on request. The pool was lovely and picturesque, our room faced the pool and beach so we had lovely sunsets. Maid service was excellent. The bar staff at the pool very friendly, engaging and helpful. The gentleman who we booked our trips with in reception was always welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast was not spectacular, I mainly stuck to fresh fruit, yoghurt and museli, having being warned off of the cooked elements by other guests. This put off my friend and I from trying out the restaurant at other mealtimes which was a pity as we had our final Thai lunch there which was very good. What stopped this from being a 4 star for me was the overall level of service - bored and fairly unengaging reception staff wearing washed out tired uniforms, no pool side service - if you were on the loungers, no one approached you to offer drinks or food, you would always have to go to the bar. Also on the last day we checked out at 12pm and before our transfer at 5pm, were given a cold shower to use at the end of the toilet which was less than clean; not a good memory of our departure. I guess I was expecting the same standard of hotel with regards to accommodation and service that I had in Phuket at the Katathani Bhuri Beach Resort - a truly excellent hotel, and really there is absolutely no comparison of Sala Talay with that one to be honest. So in summary I would not stay at this hotel again, but if you did book it you would have a good time.

Room Tip: Lots of people pick the swim up rooms but I observed that a lot of 'party people' did too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjaneellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

A fantastic location just across the road from the beach. We had a pool access room which was large with a huge comfortable bed and pool access was fantastic, just open the door and the pool is right there. The pool size was good with enough room for a good swim. One great thing was the food and drink from the mini bar which was priced at a decent rate only 40 baht for a beer which is less than a pound and less than all the bars so we used it regularly; why don't other hotels do this? Do take mosie killer, something like Deet which you will get from place like Millets - you will need it! We got bitten many, many times but on the whole it wasn't the room but where we stopped for lunch or drinks.
Happy hour at the pool bar was from 4 til 6 at the pool bar and the main bar from 6.30 to 7.30. All cocktails were a 100 baht which is about £2. Breakfast was ok but gets a bit boring after a couple of weeks with the same old thing but its in a lovely location directly overlooking the sea.
Ao nang Centre is a ten minute walk but there are shops, bars and restaurants all the way. Once we found the sea food passage in Ao nang we didnt eat anywhere else as you could sit directly overlooking the beach with a cool breeze and a lovely view. There was a choice of about 5 restaurants and you could get everything from sea food, thai food, steaks and pizza, also it was the coolest place to eat with some lovely sunsets.
You can get boat trips from the beach opposite and most local beaches have boats going somewhere, usually Railay but with other destiantions as well.
Railay beach is well worth a visit along with Hong island. We weren't too keen on Poda island - absolutley chock full of people and boats and quite dirty but that may have been because we visited it at high tide at the weekend when most of the locals go. Lastly we weren't to impressed with Thai airways 11 1/2hr flight back to England on a very old plane with no individual tv screens and a lack of choice on food with fish or chicken as a meal but ran out of chicken after serving only half the plane so everybody else had no choice fish or nothing - if you have a choice go with Eva. All in all we would go to Sala Talay again, great service, location and food - well done to you all!

Room Tip: pool access rooms are great, no problem with size, and the beds are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

we have just returned from a 10 night stay here the hotel is in a quieter part of ao nang which suited us perfectly,after reading other reviews on TA we were really pleased to have chosen this one,room was spacious and kept wonderfully clean,the beds are a little on the firm side for us ,the warm thai smiles and friendly courteous staff made the stay especially relaxing,we had a second floor room 2209 which offered more privacy than a pool access room and yes there was a slight whiff from the swampy area at the rear of the hotel although i have to say this was not a problem as it was only noticeable on odd occasions.breakfast was good eggs cooked fresh any way you want loveley crispy bacon and a choice of other fare to suit any other tastes. we did not eat lunch or dinner here as we like to eat out but several other guests used the hotel dining and we didnt hear any complaints! OUT AND ABOUT walk across road onto beach turn right nopparatt beach a 10 minute stroll away this is a nice beach with safe swimming and and trees at back offering shade if you need to get outof the sun.LOCAL EATERIES we ate mostly at WANG SAI turn left from hotel 500 meters on right this a restaurant for locals and tourists serving thai food its very busy so get there early or late to get a seat without a wait! try whole trevally either steamed or deep fried delicious!we also ate at A1 turn right from hotel 500 meters on right this one has a menu for thai and european tastes and would be great for families,these 2 were our favorites but there is a wide choice available. if you are a coffee person do go to BLACK CANYON turn left from hotel and 5 minute walk down on left easy to miss so keep your eyes peeled try caramel blackpuccino yummy they also serve piping hot thai food at very reasonable prices. one thing to note communication here is more difficult than other thai resorts do be patient and keep smiling,have a nice holiday!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgentrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent the last 2 nights of our 2 weeks here and wished we could have stayed longer. Totally relaxing and impecably clean hotel. The pool access room was great with good aircon and a very reasonably priced minibar. lovely pool too.

Ao nang is a good 10 minute walk away but that was a bonus as the hotel was very quiet at night.
Very helpful staff with good English skills and nothing was too much trouble. Only blip was the room wasn't ready for us and we didn't check in till 3pm, only had to wait 30 minutes though so not a massive problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Location: Best location of anywhere I stayed in Thailand for the money. About a 10 minute walk to all the restaurants and shops and right along the beach. The resort is across the street from the beach but there is nothing blocking your view. When we did tours, everything was less than an hour away.

Rooms: Loved the rooms! Very modern, spacious and clean. We had the room that stepped directly into the pool which I found to be a great concept and we used it often! We were only here 2 days which I think is probably the most time you would want to spend in this area of Ao Nang. Comfy beds and comfy pillows with a nice modern bathroom.

Service: Service was the best I had in Thailand at a hotel. The staff spoke better English than at the other 2 hotels and were able to recommend places to visit, tours to take, and where to eat. The staff was the friendliest of anywhere I stayed while visiting beautiful Thailand.

Food: Breakfast was okay but not as good as at the other 2 hotels but it was included in the price so I can't complain too much. The dinner we had at the restaurant was probably the worst Thai food I had the whole time I was on vacation. The pool bar would have specials where they slashed prices for 2 hours- take advantage as we were the only ones at the bar! The bartenders are young Thais who are eager to please and love to talk to you.

Overall: Good value for the money and no complaints.

Room Tip: If you have the budget, get the rooms with direct pool access :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Address: 123 Moo 3 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach. Krabi's best value resort with a playful sense of tropical fun from waterslides to free-form pools and swim-up bar. Treat yourself in our Spa while your children can be entertained in children's playgrounds and our specially designed kids & teen zones. Everyone can stay connected with FREE WiFi throughout the resort. Enjoy a tropical cocktail at our fun pool bar, dine in our Inn Asia restaurant or just relax at our lobby library. Refresh yourself in our modern-designed rooms with comfortable beds whilst enjoying the view from your balcony offering stunning views of the resort pool or scenic Ao Nang Bay. Whether you are looking for a perfect family gateway with the kids, or are a couple seeking a quite romantic break, or if you are simply looking for a great place to spend a weekend away with your friends. At Holiday Inn Krabi, Ao Nang Beach, we know kids are on holiday too. The Kids' Club is designed to make their stay unforgettable and full of fun during your family vacations in Krabi. Kids' Club is open daily and is a free service to in house guests. Kids will enjoy all the indoor and outdoor activities. The children in our Kids' Club are accompanied by our recreation team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing