We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Didn't Live Up To High Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
“It Didn't Live Up To High Expectations”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I booked a week in this resort for the occasion of my wife's birthday, and decided to 'splash out' (excuse the pun) on a pool-access room. I planned and pre-paid months in advance to ensure that everything went smoothly, and was truly looking forward to our stay in one of the modern and stylish pool-access rooms shown on the Holiday Inn website.

My first impression was disappointment, as the room we were allocated was absolutely nothing like those shown on the website. It was not tastefully decorated in pastel colours as shown on the website, but was smaller and rather dingy with only two walls that were painted and the others were bare grey concrete. The bathroom had the same bare grey concrete walls. The floor of the entire room was cheap laminate flooring.

I later read that the resort has a new wing (the nice pastel-coloured rooms presented on the website) and an old wing (where we had ended up). I notice other reviewers referring to these as the family wing (new) and the couple’s wing (old). However, I have no idea where the distinction lies as, much to my dismay, the pool directly outside my room was regularly full of noisy screaming kids and inflatable toys.

The disappointment didn’t end there, as we soon found out that – contrary to my explicit request upon booking- noisy Chinese kids had been put in the rooms next to ours. On the second night the din from the kids was accompanied by a 400kg Indian man in the room above who liked to move furniture about. This really was the icing on the cake!

Speaking of cake, I had organised a birthday cake for my wife on her big day, which I confirmed (and re-confirmed) with the hotel. This never turned up on the day. I also made the mistake of booking the hotel’s barbecue buffet for our evening meal. This ranks as the worst food I’ve ever had: A tiny selection of dishes, beef kebabs that were chewy and inedible, something that was supposed to be a chicken kebab but became a gritty, paste-like substance in my mouth. Words simply cannot express how gross this was.

Unlike the new rooms, the old rooms don’t have net curtains, meaning that anyone who was walking/swimming outside the room could just gawk in. The only way to ensure privacy was to draw the blackout curtains, which completely defeated the purpose of a poolside room.
Also absent in these old rooms is a floor drain in the bathroom. Pool access plus regular showering after swimming meant that there was often a lot of water with nowhere to go. On several occasions we had water flooding from the bathroom into the bedroom. Luckily the hotel provides plenty of towels!

After our initial disappointment that ALL of our reservation requests had been ignored, we managed to make made the most of our holiday. We used the pool extensively in the morning when the families were out on excursions or when it was too hot for them to come outside.

When the swarms of kids appeared, we went out by tuk-tuk and ate at the local restaurants or the McDonalds/BK in Ao Nang or looked around the gift shops (which all sell the same thing). Ao Nang town is small and ok for a stroll during the day time; But at night there are ugly drag queens and Indians trying to pressure you into going to their restaurants etc which I’ve always hated. I dearly hope that Krabi keeps control over these aspects of its development, and doesn’t become another seedy place like Phuket.

Plus points about the hotel were: The nice swimming pool; But please Holiday Inn, as a global brand,kindly make an ‘adults-only’ pool so we can all enjoy our holiday in our own individual way. We don't all wish to be surrounded by screaming kids day and night.

The bed was comfortable. The air-conditioning was very effective. There was a reasonable selection of English-Language channels on the TV. Breakfast buffet was good.
The staff were friendly and polite, although inter-departmental communication is obviously not a strong point. Ie: ask for a room away from kids: confirmed by reservations staff,ignored by check-in staff. Ask for a cake: confirmed by reservations staff, ignored by f&b. Book a massage: confirmed by front desk, not advised to spa… You get the picture.

Potentially this is a standout hotel in Krabi, If improvements could be made here to cater equally for ALL categories of travellers (couples, retirees etc) and not just to pander to families with kids. After all, professional,high-earning couples in the local region bring repeat business. four-year-old kids do not.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Warmest greetings from the Holiday Inn Krabi, Ao Nang Beach.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us at Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your comments that I have shared in details with all our management team and please rest assured that your feedback has taken our full attention. Our apology on the disconfort you have met, during your stay with. We certainly look forward to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit to Krabi.

With best regards,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    716
    265
    82
    43
See reviews for
647
641
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Love this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Room was large and comfortable. On the 4th floor facing the back garden not the pool, so was very quiet. Breakfast was very good as well as the set smorgasbord meal in the evening for 490 baht without drinks. There are, however, many eating places within easy reach from the hotel, all very helpful and food quite good. Shopping is as you would expect with plenty of stalls along the road. We found it easier to take a tuk tuk to McDonalds and then walk back. It was nice to stay somewhere with travelers from all over the world. Only came across two other Aussies the whole 10 days, We will be staying again on our next trip. A special thank you to the lovely Bowie for all her help.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icb1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the sunny Ao Nang beach and hope your trip back home went very well. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.
I really was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your family stay with us. I had shared in details your fabulous comments with all the team. I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The Holiday Inn Krabi is on the main beach road across from the beach, so is perfectly placed for access to the sea. It is a little away from the main street of the town, but this can be easily accessed in a few minutes by tuk-tuk. Transportation to and from the airport is also very easy.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and well designed, with very good facilities - including some really nice holiday touches like a swim-up bar and ground floor pool rooms with direct access to the swimming pool from the 'balcony'.

As a result, his definitely couldn't be mistaken for a business hotel and has a true resort feel with an open lobby and restaurants. The only downside of this is that the hotel has very few areas, apart from the rooms, that have AC, so be prepared for the full tropical experience.

Hotel staff are extremely helpful - professional but relaxed - with the notable exception of the customer service desk person from the boat tours company, who is the exact opposite. The tour itself was excellent - the boat captain who does all the actual work was really good.

Obviously the tour company isn't directly managed by Holiday Inn but the desk is right in the lobby, and is definitely letting the rest of the hotel down with such poor service.

Don't let this put you off however - this hotel (and the tour) is highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the sunny Ao Nang beach and hope your trip back home went very well. Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic feedback on TripAdvisor.
I really was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared in details your fabulous comments with all the team. I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Negatives first, don't stay in this hotel if you don't have kids! We had a pool facing room and it was VERY noisy kids were in the pool until all hours,floating toys everywhere forget about a decent swim. Rooms needed an overhaul, tap in basin broken and plug in basin broken as well, could do with a good clean in the bathroom as there was mould in the shower. Went to the barbecue buffet for a meal, not good at all food was awfull ! Positives, not many I'm afraid bed was ok and sun lounges on the patio good, staff were friendly not much more I can say but maybe try somewhere else to stay in Krabi

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Warmest greetings from the Holiday Inn Krabi, Ao Nang Beach.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us at Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your comments that I have shared in details with all our management team and please rest assured that your feedback has taken our full attention. Our apology on the disconfort you have met, during your stay with. We certainly look forward to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit to Krabi.

With best regards,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights during a three week tour of Thailand and we were quite impressed. The hotel is very modern, with two swimming pools (some of the rooms can access the pool from the balcony), gym and kids club. There are loads of sunbeds and two towel stations. Plus, there is a kids pool with cool slides and swings around. In the main pool there is a swim-up bar, which serves very good mojitos and plays music all day.

The room we had was massive with a living room, kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms. Ideal for a family.

The location is quite good. If you go out and turn right there is an outlet mall for cheap converse, addidas and fruit shakes. If you turn left its a good 15 minute walk towards the main bars and restaurants. After about 5 minutes you will discover street food stalls (opposite police station) and directions for carnivore restaurant (recommended).
The staff are really helpful and keen to please.

Tips:
The hotel concingere is very expensive. If eating in the Divers Inn there is a ticket booth adjacent which is significantly cheaper.
Taxis to the airport can be booked for 600 baht outside and it saves 20 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel to families with children.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the sunny Ao Nang beach and hope your trip back home went very well. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.
I really was very happy to read that you enjoyed your family stay with us. I have proudly shared in details your great comments with all the team. I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

we stayed two nights here, the service is very good. Our luggage is lost in the bus from the airport. but they help track it down until they find it and delivered directly to our room. very grateful. The room spacious, bright and modern style and have nice balcony directly overlooks the pool and ocean. The breakfast is delicious and not so expensive. The swimming pool is Clean.. This hotel is perfect for carrying a family. especially with the children. if you want a peaceful hotel, don't stay here. because the hotel was full of children's laughter from the pool. and along the way from this hotel theres many restaurant, street food with good price. Overall i love to stay here and definitely come back again!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VidayaBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the sunny Ao Nang beach and hope your trip back home went very well. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.
I really was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I had shared in details your fabulous comments with all the team. I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I wanted a long weekend off to relax. And we did, but....

Plus points: the reservations went well, the pickup van was right there when we stepped out of Krabi airport, the drive to the hotel was lovely. The hotel is located close to the beach (across the road, which is the best you can get in Ao Nang), fairly quiet, yet also a short walk away from shops and restaurants. We had a pool access room, which is great for all you water babies. A lovely setting when you step out onto the balcony....

Minus points: The staff were mostly excellent, but a few seemed truculent, a little over par for the course. The room we had was a tad noisy since the pool bar was close by and fairly loud music was on for a good part of the day and evening. But we got used to it.... What we didn't get used to was the shower, which tended to collect water within seconds - and which took hours to drain - clearly a structural problem. Folks, this was Room 4109, which you may wish to avoid.... Above all, the food was less than mediocre - honestly, the worst hotel meals we have had in ages - and I travel a lot! The dinner buffet was seriously disappointing. Eat out if you can! Try the Lae Lay Grill - great food, a lovely hilltop location with a view, and they pick you up and drop you for free.

Tip: Ask the staff how to ensure the air conditioning does not cut off - it happens every time you open the balcony doors and fail to align the doors just right when shutting them.

Room Tip: Room 4109 was a bit noisy. The rooms numbering 2011 and thereabouts are relatively peaceful pool acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Warmest greetings from the Holiday Inn Krabi, Ao Nang Beach.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us at Tripadvisor.
We were very pleased to learn that you had a nice stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and advices, that I have shared in details with all our management team for further actions. We certainly look forward to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit to Krabi.

With best regards,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,204 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Address: 123 Moo 3 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach. Krabi's best value resort with a playful sense of tropical fun from waterslides to free-form pools and swim-up bar. Treat yourself in our Spa while your children can be entertained in children's playgrounds and our specially designed kids & teen zones. Everyone can stay connected with FREE WiFi throughout the resort. Enjoy a tropical cocktail at our fun pool bar, dine in our Inn Asia restaurant or just relax at our lobby library. Refresh yourself in our modern-designed rooms with comfortable beds whilst enjoying the view from your balcony offering stunning views of the resort pool or scenic Ao Nang Bay. Whether you are looking for a perfect family gateway with the kids, or are a couple seeking a quite romantic break, or if you are simply looking for a great place to spend a weekend away with your friends. At Holiday Inn Krabi, Ao Nang Beach, we know kids are on holiday too. The Kids' Club is designed to make their stay unforgettable and full of fun during your family vacations in Krabi. Kids' Club is open daily and is a free service to in house guests. Kids will enjoy all the indoor and outdoor activities. The children in our Kids' Club are accompanied by our recreation team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing