We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
Review of Zabava Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zabava Guest House
Ranked #20 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I have just stayed at Zabava Guest House and contrary to other people I did not have a problem finding it at all. Funny enough even taxi drivers argue with you that there is no such place called Zabava and i believe it has been called 'Aloha' before. It is located in a small lane behind the main strip/beach road, the best marker to look for is Bollywood Indian restaurant, then turn into the little lane.
Very convenient location in walking distance to all shops, restaurants, beach and long tail boat departure points.

I stayed in the Deluxe blue room, the only room that has got a balcony and what clever marketing probably would sell as ocean glimpses ;). The room is tastefully furnished and absolutely huge (other places would sell this as a suite) with all the amenities you would not necessary expect from am guest house such as air con, fridge, kettle, safe, tv, free bottled water, coffee, tea and little bisquits every day.
There is enough storage in a kind of dressing area in front of the bathroom and the room comes with a king size bed, little writing desk and extra sofa. Another plus are the plentiful power points to charge your devices such as mobile phones, computers etc. The free wifi works excellent day and night.
The room gets cleaned every day and you also get fresh towels dailynot necessary something to take for granted even in better rated hotels.

The owner Gyp can be found at reception between 9 am and 6 pm and she is a very friendly lady although with limited english but she is making every effort to help you. During low season you can negotiate a price of 700 Baht per night if you stay for a few days.Breakfast is not included in the price but there are plenty of options nearby.

In short this is an excellent choice for someone who travels on a budget, wants to be close to everything and does not need amenities such as a pool.

Room Tip: Choose the blue room, the only one with balcony. A bit more expensive but absolutely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    55
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
50
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed a few nights at Zabava guest house. After having read the other reviews, I was actually a bit disappointed on arrival by the look of the guesthouse and the alley it's located in. Our room was Seaweed (the green room from the pictures). It's located on the ground floor just behind the reception, but with an outside entrance. It was bigger than expected and has hotel amenities like AC, fridge, water boiler, safe... so it's quite convenient.
The bathroom is indeed much more simple. Both were very humid. I couldn't dry our swimsuit in 24h, even with AirCon. Despite the not well closing windows we hardly got any mosquitoes inside.
It was very clean, but we had to ask for a second bed sheet as there was only the bottom one on the bed with a blanket (not so usual in a hot country).
The location is indeed meters from the beach, so very convenient if you don't want to rent a scooter.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breizh_et_Clochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GypJib, ผู้จัดการ at Zabava Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Google Translation
ขอบคุณสำหรับข้อเสนอแนะ ทางโรงแรมได้รับทราบและตระหนักถึงปัญหาห้องพักอับ จึงได้ทำการแก้ไขปัญหาดังกล่าวนี้แล้ว เพื่อประโยชน์สูงสุดของลูกค้าที่เข้าพักต่อไป
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We came across this hotel while strolling the boardwalk along the beach at Ao Nang and wanted a place convenient to the shops, bars, restaurants and ferries, and wouldn't you know, it doesn't get much better of a location than Zabava!

We were greeted by Sam who is very friendly, as is the other staff and upon seeing the room with AC, wi-fi, a safe and clean accommodations we knew it was right for us. The bathroom was a little small, as in, the shower sprayed on the toilet (could have just been our room) so be prepared for that...otherwise the value for what we paid for was astonishingly good. They also have laundry services for extra. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: There is no pool, fitness center but I couldn't remove the boxes checked fyi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

The rooms are value, clean and comfortable. King size bed, in room safe and fridge. The furniture were new. It's quiet her and relexing. Overall a great place to stay as long as you're forewarned.
And if you are looking for a clean, modern stylist, reasonable price, there is one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chsaowalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The best part of Zabava guest house is the location, its just 20 meters from the beach, near to shopping area, restaurants, grocery stall, street stall and etc. In summary near to everything. The room is beautiful, big space and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wuttichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#28 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#36 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#34 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zabava Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zabava Guest House

Property: Zabava Guest House
Address: 245/19 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Zabava Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both business and leisure travel, Zabava Guest House is ideally situated in Ao Nang; one of the city's most popular locales. Only 26.7 Km away, this 2-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Ao Nang, Railay, Nopparathara Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Zabava Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zabava Guest House Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing