We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Thai culture!”

Ao Nang Krabi Thai Boxing Stadium
Ranked #26 of 54 things to do in Ao Nang
Attraction details
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Experience Thai culture!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was truly a memorable experience here - most of the boxers were skinny young kids, and at first it was quite disconcerting to watch, but after a while you just get sucked into the whole atmosphere and accept that this is just a sport and deeply rooted in Thai culture. There is a ritual before each round, and is very interesting to watch.

The stadium itself is very run down though, with the seats having their cushions ripped out. And since Muay Thai originated from Krabi, it's a good experience to see the sport where it all started!

Costs 800B for normal seats and 1200B for ringside. Honestly not much of a difference between the two. Just that for 1200B you get sofa seating. Starts at 8.30 and can go on for 2 hours +

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank steffleupagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    68
    41
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Confronting - A Must”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Awesome experience watching 20 odd kg kids belting each other up, its a national sport here and you need to get past that and accept it for what it is.
We were allowed into the ring prior to the fights and they even let my mate Matty ring the bell, the people were great again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croix, France
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“True Thai Culture and spirit”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have seen the sport on TV, heard of the atmosphere in the stadiums but never thought it would be soo addictive!
Going to my first fight was a cultural shock! Not that boxing has ever scared me, but it's the atmosphere and enthusiasm the public put's into the "show" that changes everything.
The betting on the contestants to the music and prayers before and during the fights!
The first time I saw children fight at the age of 10 to 14 years old was to me a shock. After talking to the fighters and people around me, I soon realized that it's deeply part of the Thai culture, understanding this, the shock was soon dissipated.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Young boxers”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I really enjoyed watching the boxing, though the boxers were quite young, younger than I thought.
plenty of seats, including sofas!
E]not far form Ao Nang either

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap Entertainment ”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We got a ride from town for 100baht and paid 800baht each to get into the stadium. The stadium is quite run down with seats covers ripped etc. This isn't a flash corporate boxing event so ladies no need to dress up (the ones that did looked a bit uncomfortable) entertainment wise it was a good night and interesting to watch especially the locals betting and cheering for the favorites. Some of the first fights where young kids but I guess they start them young into this sport.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ao Nang Krabi Thai Boxing Stadium also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Ao Nang Krabi Thai Boxing Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing