We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience”
Review of Orange Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orange Tree House
Ranked #30 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good Hotel. it is a cottage, not much of a cliff view but it is so peaceful and for those who needs a getaway from noise, this is a nice place. although the cottage has some limitations like transparent toilet roof (only 1/4) lizards and mosquitoes, it is fine once you actually light up insect repellant before you go to sleep. hotel staffs are all friendly, helpful and nice. we got similar breakfast everyday but to us it is worth the $36 dollars per night we are paying. for those who needs the serenity and peace, i suggest you stay here. you can also rent a bike from the hotel and the journey from orange tree house to aonang beach and market is less than 5 minutes by bike. we rode almost everyday to aonang night market and beach. their bike cost 250 baht per day-24 hrs.

Room Tip: not to choose the first cottage available C2 if i remember correctly. remember to take your keys off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rul Safwanah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very nice room, friendly people at the reception, very clean pool (also if it is outdoor), beautiful garden with a lot of tree, plant and flowers.
Only 15 unit, 5 normal chalet and 10 deluxe bungalow with outside bathtub. If you go there, book the deluxe, it worth the small amount of extra money.
The WIFI was excellent in the room, and also in the pool ! Very good signal everywhere and good bandwidth.
No restaurant there and no restaurant at walking distance. There are a few shop that are a 15 min walking or 5 min bike but the road is not safe in the night (no illumination), and the price of this shop are quite expensive. Better go to the restaurant in ao nang. Only a little market in front of the resort, but it is not always open.
They give a cycicle for free, so it is nice to use it for go to the beach at only 10 min (1,5km), then from there you can reach ao nang beach in other 10 min walking.
If you don't like bycicle they have a free bus that can take you to ao nang and also pick up you.
Don't rent a bike from they. They use a local rental bike that is absolutely unfriendly and expensive. They will ask you to let the passport there (also if you are staying in the hotel), but in Thailand you MUST have you original passport always with you (not only a copy).

Overall was a nice staying, they had only a problem with the water that weren’t able to fix, so we have a dirty water for showering, but was not they’re fault.

I will come back again.

Room Tip: Pick the bungalow room with outside bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overkill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was there and I had to run away after the first night. The room was a cottage, i should say a zoo because the roof is not sealed to the wall so actually is like sleeping without a roof! Geckos, ants, spiders, it was a nightmare.
The toilet is very small and the sink was broken so the water came out from the tap water but the drain was broken so the water came ut on my feet.
The shower was broken and the water heater too.
Terrible experience, not worth the money.

Room Tip: Run away from this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nice location,,If you you like isolation..Accommodation was good..But I had a crack in the wall Which had been patched up using a sanitary Towel which I was not impressed with !
The staff were friendly, but lacked being able to speak much English...
I would advise you not to hire a scooter from the Orange Tree House ...Firstly a scooter will be delivered to you,and that person you have never met ! will try and take your passport away from you ! Under thai law you should be able at any given time be able to produce your passport at any time to the authorities ! Secondly the chances are the scooter may be unroadworthy and illegal to be on the road Mine was !
I didn't realize until I started riding it..When I pointed this out to the owner of the company !
He was quite rude and belligerent and showed no concern for my welfare... Without prejudice

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My family and I rented a few of the bungalows at this resort when we were visiting Thailand and I didn't want to leave. There is a lovely (well-kept and clean) infinity pool in the center of the main yard and the bungalows are separated enough so it feels like your own home. It was fantastic waking up, enjoying a cup of coffee on the porch swing, and staring at the beautiful mountains surrounding the property. I slept well every night in the air conditioned rooms, and the bedding and pillows were cozy, comfy, and clean!

My favorite part of the hotel were the private jacuzzi tubs and showers behind each bungalow. I probably spent most of my time laying in there, sunbathing, and reading my kindle.

I highly recommend this hotel for any visitors to the area. The hotel offers a shuttle service and will take you the short 5 minute trip into town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kissysuzuki10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location itself is beautiful as the bungalows are located in a small and well maintained park. Also the area is pretty quiet at night.

The bungalow I had was basic and showed some sign of use (stains on the furniture, broken tiles in the bathroom) but it was clean. The outside bathroom on the other hand was very clean and looked new, which lets me think that it must have been added later. Anyway, it was nice and offered a shower and a huge bathtub - don't try to fill the bathtub, it will take forever as water pressure is rather low and the tub is gigantic.

Breakfast was ok and changed every day, though it was not very diversified. A little more variety would be appreciated.

The swimming pool was big and looked very new. I could have spent all day there if they had only been some sunshades.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lord_barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

First of all it could have been a very nice place with a 5 star rating but there are too many drawback.
The bungalos are very nice, modern with aircon and outdoor bathroom. There is an infinity pool in the center of the resort and it is very quiet.
The reort is located 1.5 km from the beach and 3 km from ao nang, but we had planned to tent a scooter so it was fine.

What we did not like:
- Staff is friendly, but is not really able to speak english. It took years to tell explain our problems and we booked our tours and transportation elsewhere because of the lack of english
- There were a few issues with the bungalows: Hot water not working from time to time, Wifi not working half a day and nobody was able to fix it
- Laundry was promised to be ready in the evening, at the end we could get it during the next day
- Breakfast is basically toast with a mixture of asian breakfast, sausage or eggs
- Room was not cleaned or late during the day

All in all it could be such a nice place, but with theses things it isn't. Would love to go back when it is fixed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strelowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.6 mi away
Viangviman Luxury Private Pool Villa & Resort
2.6 mi away
Glur Hostel
Glur Hostel
#5 of 144 in Ao Nang
309 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aonang Cliff View Resort
Aonang Cliff View Resort
#39 of 133 in Ao Nang
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aonang Cliff Mountain New Resort
2.9 mi away
Ao Nang Pool and Resort
Ao Nang Pool and Resort
#20 of 144 in Ao Nang
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orange Tree House
Orange Tree House
#92 of 318 in Krabi Town
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree House

Address: Nopparattara 12, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range: £22 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orange Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orange Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree House Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing