We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Thai food! ”

Ton Ma Yom Thai Food Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 270 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located at Leela Valley, Aonang Soi.11 Near Aonang MiTi Resort. Small Thaifood restaurant, Table reservation should be make before visiting. Operating Time:8.00Am.-2.00Pm. And 5.00Pm.-9.30Pm. Monday closed. Break time between 2.00Pm.-5.00Pm.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai food! ”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This place is not easy to find, but it's worth the effort. We asked a local song thaew driver who knows where this place is.

You know the place is good when tourists starts coming by the droves, and they are usually repeat customers since they know the people working at the restaurant and the dog who's always seemed to sleeping.

The mango shake is divine, pure and thick. Totally perfect for a hot afternoon. The iced cappucino is decent. We ordered the steam fish with lime sauce, the green curry and the curry seafood and crab meat in coconut. If you choose the same combi as we did, then be prepared for an explosion of delicious flavour, and lots of sweat.

We've eaten lots ThaI food in krabi, chiang mai, phuket and malaysia, but this is arguably one of the best that we've tasted.

Helpful?
Thank Gan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,024
    279
    87
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The Best Thai food the best price”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Ok you know you are on to a winner when you bump into the locals eating in the same restaurant, its always packed and you have to book. Unlike most restaurants in Ao Nang Ton Ma Yom takes last orders at 9:30 so booking or arriving early is essential. The food is delicious the green curry and red curry is amazing and priced at around £3 per portion with an extra 25p for rice its very cheap. Try the crispy prawns to start with extra crispy powder they are super delicious and about £2 a portion drinks are also reasonable with cocktails coming in at £2.20, and tea and coffee 90p And don't forget to order the banana fritter with ice-cream really yummy and only £1.80 a portion We were a group of 4 and ate here 5 times in total including drinks starters and dessert we never paid more than £30 amazing value and very good quality food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanetteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Better than other Thai food Along Aonang”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a hidden Gem
Easiler to locate by looking for it by the following landmarks
Adjacent to mosque
Just turn left on the first soi( lane)if you are standing outside Family mart .
After u walk down n hit the cross junction, just walk all the way in and you can follow the orange sign board.

Most locals do not know or they dont wish to assist maybe due to competition.

Its very family run n hv good selection of food and alchohol bar.

Aonang area is getting more expensive as the years go by was in this city in 2012.
Generally Bangkok food n drinks are much cheaper.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BubblesEito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad we found this place.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We took a tuk tuk from Aonang beach front to Soi 11 Leela valley for 60 baht. Walked 5 mins into the lane and found this place. Had the best Pad Thai Koong in Krabi. Prawns aplenty and fresh. Also ordered Green curry, sticky rice, and papaya salad. All were so delicious. Service was excellent. Friendly and helpful. Toilet is clean.
Would recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SKoh2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai we had in Ao Nang”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We've visited this restaurant 5 times in 8 days and will be coming back for more before we leave. Exceptional and fresh Thai food for around 500 baht for 2 (hungry, ok maybe greedy!) people, including drinks/alcohol. We've tried the fried green curry (which my partner says is hands down the best he's tried) and I will be dreaming about the prawn pad thai for years to come - absolutely delicious!. Have also tried and recommend: tamarind prawns, salted fish with kale, the fried rice, spicy fish with thai herbs, deep fried vegetables and the red chicken curry. The difference, I think between this restaurant and the thai food on the Main Street is the quality and variety of produce used (i.e fresh thai herbs in all dishes). Almost everywhere else we've had thai in Ao Nang I have found it to be sickly sweet - not so here. The service is welcoming, friendly and efficient - no waiting or wanting for anything. This restaurant is rated number one in Ao Nang for a reason and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Ao Nang. Note: to find it, Grab a tuk tuk driver who knows where he's going. We 've found most know it . It's over the hill past the mosque, off Soi 11, a 100 baht tuk tuk ride from the beach (as it's located further from the main shopping area, outside the the standard 60 baht fee). You will not regret the extra effort!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bamon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ton Ma Yom Thai Food Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ton Ma Yom Thai Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing