We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming tropical gem”
Review of Ban Sainai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ban Sainai Resort
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming tropical gem”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

An absolutely stunning little place. A great location - utterly peaceful and tranquil but just a 5 minute tuk tuk trip from Ao Nang's bars, restaurants etc. Comfortable, roomy, well appointed bungalows set in beautiful tropical gardens that are kept immaculately by a small army of gardeners. The salt water pool is a particular highlight - enjoy jaw dropping views of the limestone cliff face and jungle. We will never forget floating in the pool whilst watching flying lizards glide from palm tree to palm tree and enormous butterflies drifting through the gardens. The staff were all charming and very keen to please - Seng in particular was a great chap and helped us with some excellent restaurant recommendations. Great breakfasts (try the roti) are served overlooking a lake teeming with fish and birds - a stunning start to anyone's day. Ban Sainai has been very thoughtfully designed and clearly its staff are doing everything to make this resort the success it deserves to be. Thoroughly recommended. We enjoyed every minute and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    256
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
331
810
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A stunning location, well appointed bungalows and very friendly and accommodating staff who went above and beyond to make our stay one of the best we ever encountered on our travels.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A new resort that the gardens are still in the development stage, they will be lovely once they establish. Very large pool that has a fantastic veiw of the cliffs. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. A previous reviewer suggested that the happiness is gone from Thailand and particular here at Sainia. I disagree. The staff here were so much better than anyone we came across in the whole Krabi area. The rest of Thailand (except for Phuket) seems to be still friendly.
The kitchen is not long open and the meals are just ok, but the menu is very limited and somewhat uninviting. The rooms are very large, clean and very comfortable. As long as the price doesn't increase to much it will be one of the best in Aonang.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the cliffs for a more scenic outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The restaurant staff were watching utube videos on flower arrangements while waiting for guests. I liked their initiative. They also made efforts to remember our daughters name. Big, clean and quiet rooms. Pretty garden with massive limestone mountain cliff backdrop. Huge pool. Pretty good value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonkorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We loved this place enough to return here on our way back through Ao nang and it felt like we were returning home. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool are stunning. The rooms new and well appointed with excellent shower pressure and comfortable mattresses. Breakfast is buffet with made to order hot food and is excellent. We liked that it was a fifteen minute walk out of town. It made for peaceful nights and a rural feeling. There is an on demand complimentary shuttle to town for easy access to long tail boats for Railay or nightlife/shopping if desired.

Room Tip: The only real difference between the coconut room and the cliff room is that the former has a tub as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roscoeBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here at the end of October just before the high season started. It was a pretty good deal at around 1600 THB per night: you get a nice big bathroom, comfortable bed and good appointments in the room. The manager Aom was friendly.

You can rent bikes through them for 250 THB per day. This is slightly more expensive than the 200 THB you'd pay on the main road, but you can rent bikes here without having to leave your passport (and opening up yourself to be extorted by the rental bike dealers).

There was one event that was disappointing. When we first checked out this hotel, we left our bags at the first hotel where we had stayed. This place has a kind of tuk-tuk or songthaew for hotel guests to be brought to the beach and we asked if we could use that to go pick up our bags from the other hotel (or else we wouldn't have bothered moving to this place). They were friendly and arranged the vehicle for us-- seemingly as a courtesy to get us to stay at their hotel. They never charged anything even though we extended our stay by a day and then another day (paying the daily amount each day), but then on the last day when we moved out they tried sticking us for 100 baht. I have no problem paying 3 dollars, but they could have charged this on the day we used the service or on the previous days when we had extended our stay. They intentionally waited until the last day to charge us for this, knowing that charging us sooner would have probably resulted in us leaving sooner. At the end of the day, I made a big deal out of it and manager Aom said forget it (although the front desk guy was insistent), but it just is really crummy when you feel like you are getting nickeled and dimed all the time-- which seems common in Krabi.

It's not that one minds throwing around some cash while on vacation, it just is disappointing when you feel like you don't get any quality service for what you are paying for and that people do whatever they can to extract a few extra baht from you. What happened to the Land of Smiles? Not many smiles these days unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratree, ผู้จัดการ at Ban Sainai Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Michael,

First of all, thank you very much for your kind visit and stay and please accept our sincere apology for such circumstances you had gone through.

However, I would like to notify you that this is a misunderstanding for the charge of our Tuk Tuk service on your first day of transferring your baggage from the previous accommodation you had stayed to Ban Sainai Resort. As for this, it is always complimentary and it is also a resort courtesy to express our sincere thankful to our guest visit, as long as the transfer service is around Aonang Area.

From checking with our receptionist, the one whom had insisted for your extra bill charge of Tuk Tuk for 100 baht, it was not a charge for your first day baggage transfer but for an Out-Of-Complimentary-Shuttle-Service Time Schedule on 28th October to Aonang Beach area. However, this was a part of our fault for not mentioning it clearly and lead to such misunderstanding and disappointment. And the bill was then charged directly to your room.

As from this case, therefore resort had come up with new solution.
To avoid this inconvenience for future, for this high season there will no longer be any additional charge for Tuk Tuk Service to Aonang Beach Area anymore.

Referring to your bill charged on your last day, normally, due to our resort's payment policy, all payment of guests shall be settled and charged to our guests' rooms for our guests' most convenience. Guests shall feel free to settle bills when guests are most comfortable. However, most bills are to be settled upon the Check-Out Time.

For mentioned that we had charged on the last day because of a hidden agenda, we would have to clarify that this is not as you had assumed and thought. And as for this misunderstanding and disappointment, again we would like to take this chance to notify it and would like to express our sincere apology for not clarifying it as earliest as possible.

Once again in the near future, if you travel around Aonang, Krabi. We are still looking forwards to welcome you back. And to make sure this land is still full of smiles.

Warmest Regards,
Aom (Sales & Marketing Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The room (bungalow) was close to perfect for us, clean, spacey, modern, big bathroom nice balcony with spectacular cliff view. It even had a moskito net but we didn't use it. The pool and the garden is lovely, staff is very helpful. The hotel is obviously not fully opened yet, there was no restaurant yet, but therefore a bit of building noise during the day, that's why not 5 stars. Breakfast was pleasant (but not great, room for improvement) and in a lovely setting next to the pool. It's a 20 minute walk to the beach and the main shopping area. The Ban Sainai has several free shuttles every day (last one at 5 pm, so you had to arrange own transport for dinner). But we actually enjoyed the walk to the beach and didn't always use the shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipiwharauroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,342 reviews
1.0 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sainai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sainai Resort

Property: Ban Sainai Resort
Address: 550 Soi Aonang 11/1, Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ban Sainai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAN SAINAI RESORT is located among tranquil tropical greeneries with its unique setting on a small hill, surrounded by coconut groves against a backdrop of sheer limestone cliffs. The resort simply presents a lifestyle of the locals, with a lush environment and breathtaking nature-made beauty. Staying with us, you will enjoy your holiday with our saltwater system swimming pool overlooking limestone cliffs as a magnificent backdrop. Plus the comfort of the private deluxe cottages that makes your holiday even more peaceful & memorable. The resort style is not only inspired and designed for those stylish needs but also for restful holiday seekers. Ban Sainai Resort offers 40 simple yet comfortable deluxe cottages, is with unique Southern Thai style with a private balcony and a seating area. Each spacious cottage equipped finely with an Air-Condition, Flat TV & Satellite, Safety Deposit Box and An En Suite Bathroom. The resort features an outdoor pool running by saltwater system which is gentle to your skin. Refreshing soft drinks, freshly brewed coffee or choices or mocktails are ready to be served for you at the Pool Sala. At Ban Sainai Resort, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ban Sainai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Sainai Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing