We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable / big rooms/ friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aonang Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #37 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable / big rooms/ friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks while doing a Muay Thai training course around the corner. I booked into
the 30 bed dorm which may sound a little daunting , but there was never more then 7-8 people sleeping in the room while i was here.
It also seems to attract a more conscientious crowd of travellers. Everyone was respectful and quite once they came in after a night out.

Pros:

-Friendly local staff. Thats the first thing i noticed soon as i arrived.

-Comfortable clean dorm rooms , and comfy beds.

-Cool air conditioning at night.

-cheap cheap cheap - 200 baht per night for the 30 bed dorm that was never full.

-Its a homely feel while being here. Its not a party hostel , its better if you prefer to meet
like minded people and go out for dinner and chat , rather then play drinking games in your rooms etc.

-Free WIFI

Cons :

- I did read someone say that theres only 2 bathrooms. This is true , and one of them was regularly blocked.I have found that in most hostels though,so its not really a surprise.

-Everyone says the location is no good either. Of course it would be nice if it was on the beach , but there are no hostels close to the beach that I know of.
SLUMBER PARTY HOSTEL , MDF HOSTEL AO NANG Backpackers and GLUR hostel are all within 5 minutes walking of each other , and they are the main hostels here - ALL of them are 20-25 minutes walking from the beach. I hired a moped for 150 baht per day (they usually charge 200 baht, but you have negotiate that with them).

Overall , Im very happy with the hostel ,
its clean , homely and friendly.
I defiantly would come back here and recommend it to everyone passing through.

Room Tip: ask how many people are in the 30 bed dorm. Its not usually busy here in the low season and you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsgoodtoreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    31
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is one of the best hostels I have been so far. It is a 20 minute walk away from the beach but thats ok you can get a Taxi for 20 Baht if you like but on the way to the beach you can find a lot of great thai kitchens so its worth it going by foot.

The smoothies they serve there are great and you get a nice american breakfast after a hangover.
You met a lot of nice people there and if you want to party there is allways somebody to hang out with.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for two days, and i liked it. Mostly because its very cheap.

Pro's:
-I sleped in a dorm and the beds are very nice. Good matras and pillow.
-During the day it is quied, during the evening the place is more alife.
-The wifi is very good.
- there are two power plugs with every bed
- the living room is nice and has a tv (as if you need it)
- the hostel owners are very nice and they like to make jokes.
- its clean and there are enough toilets and showers
- there is a 7/11 and and a muay thai training centrum close
- its very cheap

Cons:
- the city centrum is not really close, it takes you 15 minutes walking.
- the beaches where you really want to go (for axample raily beach), can only be reached with a taxi boat, cost about 200 for a retour.

If you go for cheap than sure go to this place. If you want to see the beautifull krabi than take the taxi boat and find a hostel at raily beach!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I spent 4 nights in AoNang Backpackers and I really enjoyed my stay. There are different sized rooms, two big dorms and a couple of smaller rooms. I stayed in a room of 6 people and I have no complaints. There is A/C during the night and during the day we kept the balcony door open or had a fan on. I really liked having hot water showers especially after a day on the beach! We were given thick blankets and towels, which was nice. The common areas were super cozy, and it was relatively easy to meet fellow travellers. There is nice restaurant on the front terrace and it was possible to order food and drinks in the morning and after 5pm. The food was really tasty!
The staff here were friendly and willing to help with anything we needed. We could leave our laundry here and it was ready the next day.

I'd say the only con is the location. It is a bit of a walk to the beach and the main shopping area. But if you like to walk, then it shouldn't be a problem!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, choose one of the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Clean and nice. Good beds and bathrooms. Nice common area. Met great people there. Staff not as good, don't speak much english and sold me a really bad trip. A little far from the beach. Fair breakfast and cheap food and water.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank VeroIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I spent 4 nights in AoNang Backpackers, which overall was a very pleasant experience.

Basically everything you need is available: nice, clean AC rooms with comfy beds and thick blankets, hot water showers, cozy common areas both inside & outside, friendly staff who helped me organize many things (inc. climbing course with a big discount & a cheap bus transfer to Krabi airport), laundry service, and a little restaurant with cheap, tasty food.
Pretty much all a backpacker can ask for!

It's a little half an hour walk from the beach but if you don't mind walking, this is the place to be!

Another thing worth mentioning is that I forgot my dress hanging on the balcony, and they actually agreed to send it to me all the way to Finland!! How much friendlier can they get, right?! :)

The only downside was that despite the cozy common areas people were not as easily approachable as in some other hostels, resulting to a bit of lack of atmosphere. Though, it's got nothing to do with the kind staff, and simply depends on the people staying there at that moment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterinburg Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

i was staying in Ao Nang Backpackers for 4 nights ...bed is comfortable , ac works very well ..friendly stuff and really nice place to stay !!!!!!the price very good !!!!pretty far from the beach but its not a problem if u like to walk !!!!

Room Tip: good price for a good clean bed !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliaSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.0 mi away
Babaji Hostel
Babaji Hostel
#59 of 137 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanco Apartments and Rooms
Blanco Apartments and Rooms
#35 of 137 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fundee House Hostel
Fundee House Hostel
#24 of 137 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
K-Bunk Hostel
K-Bunk Hostel
#5 of 137 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Slumber Party Hostel and Bar
0.0 mi away
iRest
iRest
#45 of 137 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Backpacker Hostel

Property: Aonang Backpacker Hostel
Address: 376 / 5 Moo.2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the religious interests, business, shopping area of Krabi city, Ao Nang Backpacker provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Ao Nang, Railay, Phra Nang Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Aonang Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Backpacker Hostel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing