We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but check Free transport arrangements for 5+ nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pavilion Queen's Bay
Ranked #85 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but check Free transport arrangements for 5+ nights”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Make no mistake, this hotel is a wonderful old lady with grand old staircases sweeping up to the first floor with an open aspect to the start of the swimming pool, which extends over several levels. The grandeur continues in the room, which has a lovely big balcony and good air conditioning, with very nice, large, marbled bathrooms. The Wi-Fi is good in reception but it is annoying to have to pay in the rooms. The breakfast area on the roof terrace is marvellous & we found the breakfasts to be world class, with exceptional quality food and fruits, while you admire the sea view of Aonang.

We were only disappointed on one count and that was with the attitude of one receptionist towards the free shuttle from the airport, because we had booked seven nights. Check online if this deal is current for 5+ nights,, because it is a big saving. However the receptionist felt we should be paying 700 baht each way and emailed us to confirm this charge two nights before we arrived. This charge was never clarified during our stay and it was only after a week that this was finally resolved by the charming front office manager who confirmed that there would be in fact be no charge as per their contract booking. We found this to be a disappointing aspect of the holiday, because it had not been resolved on arrival and it took one whole week to resolve, when we should have been enjoying our holiday.

The situation of the hotel is good, although it is a bit of a walk to the beach area. The restaurant is good, but not frequented very well by guests. There are plenty of restaurants close by which offer cheaper and different food.

All in all, this is a very good hotel with grand credentials, and it was an enjoyable stay. But do check the transport well in advance and don't let them charge you for it if it is supposed to be free. Although it did not affect our stay, much decor is tired on the exterior and the lift carpet is pretty awful, but then they need to get their service better so people go back. After all there ARE other properties. It needs sharper management.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank archiescat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    73
    40
    29
    36
See reviews for
42
78
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Everyone is quick to slack this hotel off but please hear me out. If you want to pay £65+ a night then go to the mercure and enjoy a clean Hilton like room with a very small but stylish pool and very little atmosphere ( we stayed there for 3 nights before this hotel), but in a budget and for a short amount of time this hotel is great! Yes it's old, and yes it is in need of a full face lift but its still hot something about it. We didn't like our first room, we contacted reception and they moved us straight away to a bigger room with a nice view for Jo extra charge. It wasn't great but wasp not £26 a night so I excepted that it was going to be a little less than perfect... In brief...

Staff the best we've seen, very helpful and super smiley... Felt very welcome

Rooms below standees and would benefit from a bloody good clean and a luck of paint

Restaurant was on the 6th floor and have the best views of the sunset in the area... They should make more of this... Stunning, and yes a little expensive but worth it because of that view

Pool was nice but the sun beds must of been built when the hotel was and need replacing.

Spooky....yes! Creepy....a little but we felt safe and it was good fun.

Off to a posh hotel now for a couple nights to remember what it feels like, hope you enjoy

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

A sense of humor will help when staying here! It is run down but it was like staying in a palace, it was amazing. We got balcony rooms with stunning views and very spacious. I agree with other reviews for this place amazing but run down. We felt it would be a great set for Agatha Chritie or Stephen King and had fun exploring the place, lots of grand unused rooms and spaces. the pools were beautiful and clean. The staff were friendly and smiled a lot. We got a good discount on our rooms, wouldn't want to pay full price and would also advise that eating, drinking or doing you laundry there will blow your budget! We found great cheap food and laundry just down the road. 5 minute walk down hill to beach, shops and restaurants, no problem for people of average fitness. Food carts at bottom of the hill were beautiful and very cheap.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for balcony room 3rd or 4th floor really worth it, views were great, some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceSprings11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I've just read the titles of the previous 3 reviews, "Creepy", "Old, filthy", & "It should be a 2 star". These were also my exact thoughts on my visit in January. Coming from a "real" 4 star in Bangkok (for the same price I might add) to this supposed 4 star - more like a 2 1/2 star - I was disappointed as soon as I was shown my room

The first thing I noticed. in my corner room was the musty smell. My clothes also acquired the smell after a day in the cupboards & hanging on racks. The bathroom shower head had holes in it so every time I had a shower jets of water went in all directions. The bath looked so grimy & uninviting I chose not to have one. The tv had 4 disappointing English channels. The air conditioning did work well thankfully

The whole place is indeed creepy at night & needs a total refurbishment. The disparity between the pretty photos on the Hotels website & reality in incredible

The pools are a saving grace. That's the only positive I can give. On further inspection I noticed all the wiring for the pools lights had been cut off so there are no pool lights when things get dark. There's even a light for the pool attached to a column overlooking the pool that had exploded in the past & left a huge black mark on the column. Did they bother repairing it? No!

This Hotel made me sad.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anglea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

It might be a 4 star hotel many many years ago, but now it should only be 2 stars!

The only positive thing was the pool!

Everything else was really poor. It really needs to be renovated and the staff don't know how to work in a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckk6094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The hotel is cheap, but there are better hotels in the same price range .. Offering better services and not misleading customers via flashy Internet adverstiments.

Stayed here just for one night on our way back to Bangkok I am glad it was just the one night !

The hotel is close to the famous ao nang beach ... A ten min walk will get you there.

The hotel has however not been maintained and has fallen on bad times ... It would seem. The rooms in the hotel require fresh wall paper.... Capital investment required. But there are no excuses for cleanliness ... The bathrooms need a good scrub ... The duvets had no covers .. We had to call ask for covers ..there was sticky tape hanging from the ceiling !!

Staffing ... This is what gave their financial status away ... No room service and housekeeping after 6 pm, and no bell boys to carry your bags out till 8am ... No one answers calls at the front desk.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The worse hotel ever that i stayed. The window wood was got some hole. Wall bit crack but just put some painting only. And the worse things the corridor level 2 totally dark until I must request 3 times light to be on and some staff can't even understand English. I checked out earlier before date. Location far from beach. Very Dissapointed

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erdinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.1 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#46 of 108 in Ao Nang
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#42 of 108 in Ao Nang
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#58 of 108 in Ao Nang
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
8icon Ao Nang by I Galleria Krabi
1.1 mi away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
0.2 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#48 of 108 in Ao Nang
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Queen's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Queen's Bay

Property: Pavilion Queen's Bay
Address: 56/3 Moo3, Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#29 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilion Queen's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavilion Queen's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Queen`s Bay Hotel Ao Nang
Pavilion Queens Bay Krabi
Pavilion Queens Bay Hotel Krabi
Pavilion Queen's Bay Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing