We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Krabi Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$431
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ananta Burin Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Krabi La Playa Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
108
105
51
29
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
105
51
29
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomlong tailrelaxing stayrestaurants and shopsbungalowresortthailandkrabirepellentprivacygreeneryjungleboats
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend anyone to stay here. From the outside the hotel doesn't look like anything special but once you walk in you see that it's very nice. The bathroom is on the outside and we knew that going in, it's not unusual to see a gecko or other insects while showering and such but knowing that beforehand and going in with an open mind and you will be fine. The bathrooms are connected to the other rooms bathrooms so you can hear people going in and out of theirs but the people we were beside were quiet so no worries there. The pool is great and refreshing with an amazing view!!! The staff are very helpful. About 15 minute walk to the beach and many restaurants and shops around.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We recently stayed for 10 days. This was our second time at The Cliff. It is a small hotel which caters mainly for couples ,which is what we were looking for. We booked the suite as we found last year the bungalow too small for a long stay. The suite is a large room with an equally large bathroom, it is tastefully decorated Thai style and extremely comfortable. The suite is surrounded by a pond with Koi in it. The staff are friendly and helpful. The small restaurant has a diverse menue Thai ,European and Western .The meals we had were fresh and delicious .Presently there is construction on either side of the hotel which disallows lounging by the pool all day, from late afternoon however the hotel retains its quietness. A lovely boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Book the suite
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryanne017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Firstly, let me admit that the only reason I ended up staying at the cliff was because I made a booking at the wrong hotel, however, I was pretty glad that I did. After reading all the past reviews this hotel really deserves more credit the it had received.
1) service staff were amazing. Our shower choked on the first day (it is a semi outdoor shower so expect leaves to block the drainage), informed staff on the way out, 25 mins later when we returned, they had cleared it for us. Woke up in the morning after a downpour, staff was waiting on hand with a towel to dry up my scooter.
2) Reports of creepy crawlies? Well this is a forest themed resort so do expect a few bugs, mainly mozzies, but hotel has done it's part by providing a mosquito repellent diffuser and moaquito incense coils are available at 7-eleven for THB18. All in all, we only faced 3 lizards, a few flies, 2 spiders and 1 big black ant which came to say bye while we were checking out.
3) The rooms.
The room was smaller then your average "branded" resorts but that being said, it was still comfortable and cozy and not as appealing or run down as some reviews had mentioned. Bathroom was alright, a little old but not as run down as most would think (I've seen worse in hotels located within a city). Again, because it's semi outdoors, expect leaves and the insects but it's not like theres an infestation, just the occasional visits of flies.
As for the safety issues, doors can be bolted top and bottom, locked with a key and latched from the inside while ure asleep (bathroom as well) and as long as it's latched and locked before your head out, doors are not easily opened. Privacy curtains are sufficient as well, considering that the room is dim and you're not able to look in from the outside.

Overall:
Given the past reviews, this room was a lot better then expected. We paid S$61 a night with full breakfast so do take into consideration that this isn't a 5-6 star Ritz.
Overall, with exeption to the lack of shelter when it rains, this hotel was a nice getaway, near enough to the main Ao Nang area but far enough to avoid all music and noise from the bars and clubs that have opened up along the stretch facing the sea. Pool and deck chairs were old but then, given that you're visiting Krabi, a day trip to the islands for a snorkel in the open waters will suffice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xinlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I booked the hotel via e-mail since 6months back, and had to change the dates forward by a day, the hotel gladly allowed me to change without extra charges, however, upon arriving, there was nobody to pick us up. Luckily i wrote down the hotel's contact number, and called in. The driver arrived in less than 10min. Friendly and nice driver.

Upon reaching the resort, the exterior looked run down with construction going on at both sides. despite the bad condition, we arrived with full smiles and immediate iced cold welcome drink served.

checking in was smooth and pleasant, next we were shown to our room, small and cosy. We liked it, however, the staff there has minimal knowledge of english, thus it was bad communication.

we rested well and went out, regardless if you were checking in a not or eating at the restaurant bar, the staff were full of smiles and some would even bow or nod their heads slightly to acknowledge us as guest.

We returned near midnight, and the staff ran out of their resting area just to acknowledge our return. We really felt welcomed. however upon reaching our room, we realised that our toilet lights were not working, and it was already midnight, however the staff reacted promptly to change a room for us immediately.

As the resort has a nature concept, there are bound to be mosquitoes. I would recommend spraying insecticide or mosquito reppellant on the doors of the room. even so, we were visited by a cricket after our bath.

The beds there was nice and good, we had a good night's sleep, but woke up to be welcomed by a fat millipede right beside our bed and lizards in the toilet.

till the third day, we were welcomed by slugs in toilets and dragonflies.

However, the restaurant serves really good food. Would recommend continental breakfast.

Lastly, location of the hotel was good, quiet as it is a little away from the noisy shopping area, but have good food around, the yellow sign board restaurant just less than 10shops away was FABULOUS!!! and never ever eat at AREE-BABA that is a tad expensive for thai food.

I would recommend room 201-204 beside the pool as it is easy to get to your room.
AND! only stay here if u can stand the sight of creepy crawlies.
overall the stay here was good!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynCly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was our second stay here, the last being in 2006. It was just the same. The standard hadn't deteriorated at all. The room was great, an outside bathroom with waterfall shower is just lovely. The air con works and is on tap. The pool is lovely with the rooms arranged around it and in the gardens. They grow flowers which have a soporific effect. The only downside about the pool is that there are no steps to get out which resulted in my partner having to haul me out as my arms aren't strong enough. It was funny but if you aren't fit this might limit swimming activities. There is free wifi. Laundry services which are cheap and quick on the doorstep. We had the best meal in the restaurant. That's saying something because we have eaten all over south east asia but their chicken with holy basil is THE BEST! It's fairly priced too. Just down the road there are lots of great places to eat and drink too. There's a little bit of a walk down to the town but you get used to that. Tuk tuks are cheap if you have shopping or are tired from trips etc. Down by the beach you can get a long tail to Railey beach which is a must do. The resort booked us tickets to Phi Phi, the driver picked us up on time and everything went great.
The mattress was nice and firm and there is a safe. Security patrols so you feel very safe. Ao Nang is pretty safe and even for a woman alone you would be safe if you took the normal precautions. The breakfast is wonderful. You choose the night before and they deliver at the the time you requested to your table outside your room. It's like a luxury service. The staff are really friendly and attentive. I couldn't fault it really. Suggestions for managetment might be a mural on the white wall that the bedroom looks onto, it's a blank canvas and could be prettied up with paintings or more plants. This by no means detracts from the overall ambience though. It's a great place to stay!! If we are in Krabi again we might go to stay for a third time!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same. The outdoor bathroom is an absolute joy!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews