We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They say you get what you pay for.... I paid to much!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort
Ranked #87 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They say you get what you pay for.... I paid to much!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I just finished a 3 night stay at The Cliff Resort. We checked at the same time as our friends, our booking was fine as we booked directly with the hotel however they couldn't find our friends Expedia booking straight away.

We got to our room near the pool and were greeted with a clean room and presented well until the air conditioner was turned on. It was in dire need of servicing and was making a very loud noise. Given the heat air con is required over night so we asked if it could be fixed or we could be moved room. We showed them the room so they could hear the noise and were told that they would get someone to fix it straight away. Hours later we approached reception and were told we just have to deal with it as there were no other rooms. We spent 10mins asking reception what we could do until another staff member arrived and said there was spare rooms. So we were finally moved.


That night we found out that a loud air conditioning system wasn't really a concern as there is a night club next door that is much louder than any air con could ever get. So until 4 am Friday night the music pumped and little sleep was had.

Breakfast was megre, you fill in a form the night before and are greeted with a small serve of what you selected, although small the food was fine.

Our second night was worse, the music from the night club was pumping again and this time we were greeted by a plague of insects. We entered the room to find literally thousands of fruit flies all over the floor and all through our bags. The staff came to sweep them up but I'm still finding them all through my gear, gross!

The third night we finally slept as the night club was shut.


Most of the time reception was either unmanned or staffed by people that didn't know what was going on or how to deal with anything other than checking in.

I loved Aonang and recommend the town, but don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    103
    49
    29
    40
See reviews for
29
177
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Overall this place ruined what was otherwise an excellent stay in Krabi. A friend stayed here before and had an OK experience a couple of year ago. We always do our TA research but didn't for Krabi. BIG mistake. There's not that much about this place that is great.
Like others who have recently reviewed its overpriced, its really old and terrible looking small rooms, and the staff are the most unhelpful incompetent people I've come across in any of my travels.
Staff speak virtually no English, everything is too hard for them. The main reception guy is probably the worst.
don't book the airport transfer with them, you pay 100 THB more than the standard rate. The hotel van is not great, the driver doesn't even acknowledge your existence, we had to figure out for ourselves he was there to pick us up. He also dropped us off at the wrong airport terminal because he was so lazy.
My friends who booked the place had their credit card charged twice. when checking out they complained about their overall stay there only to be yelled at by the owner/manager woman and told 'Go somewhere else, we don't want you'. Guess what we will!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travellerlaw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Location is about 10 minute walk outside of Ao Nang so it was nice to get away from the main tourist zone

The room was one of the most unique rooms that we have ever stayed in. The room itself was relatively small but one side was wall to wall window which opened up to cliff wall which was very nice. The space was bit cramped but still comfortable for 2 people. The bathroom was amazingly designed outdoor experience. The water ran only lukewarm but we didnt mind since you were basically showering outside and i was really hot. The only downside to the room was that the outdoor bathroom was right next to the bathroom of the neighbours room so you can here everything, same goes for the walls as they seemed very thin.

The remaining portion of the boutique hotel was nicely designed and had a very relaxing vibe. Some parts of the hotel seemed to be a little run down/overgrown but that also added to the charm of the place.

The staff were polite but did not speak much english or very helpful.

Overall I would recommend this place as it is prolly one of the more unique places that we have ever stayed, it was reasonably price at $80 CAD a night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bsshoker s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We paid 8000 baht (£140) per night & stayed for 2 night.
The hotel was over priced.
The rooms were very small. The bathrooms were outside & not fully partitioned, so you could see through to next bathroom.
It was full of Mosquitos.
You had to order breakfast by 8pm for the next morning & the breakfast was awful.
We had to leave a deposit of 3000 baht when we arrived.
The swimming pool was nice.
The location was terrible. Ao Nang is a horrible place. Full of tourists & disgusting restaurants. The food was so bad we didn't eat for days.
We took a long tail boat to Railay which was pretty, but crowded. I wouldn't want to stay there.
Don't go to Ao Nang. Go to Koh Lanta. You can get a shared mini van for 300 baht per person for 2.5 hours. From Koh Lanta you can do day trips to Phi Phi, Koh Rok or the 4 islands (inc Koh Kradan).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carleytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I was pretty disappointed with this place. Online it looks amazing but not so much when we arrived. It has some maintenance issues (pool and outdoors). The staff barely speak English and the place seems to be run by the employees. Nothing seems very clear and while we were there another couple arrived to find out that the hotel had overbooked the rooms and didn't have anything for them. Not fun. We thought of looking for another place but ended up staying given that we barely spent any time at the room. The outdoor bathroom sounds better in theory. The place is overpriced for what it has to offer and should be considered at a max 3 star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ismael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay. It's located 10 minute walk on the main strip in ao nang. Ao nang is a great beach to visit with monkeys and lots of great massage and restaurant options, but we preferred west railay (can go by long tail) Anyway we loved the pool--very relaxing. They had a happy hour menu from 2-5 so we tried some of their restaurants food which was pretty tasty. The rooms were clean, and I loved the idea of the outdoor shower. Mosquitos were a bit of a problem. They were in the bathroom and would often times make their way in the room. I really liked showering outside but I didn't like how I felt like I was showering with the family next door to us since the walls separating us weren't really complete walls. It's not like we would see eachother but you could hear everything. Staff is super friendly, English is so so but that doesn't effect my rating (not so arrogant that I expect everyone in thailand to speak English). Overall I recommend this hotel for the price

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lilylovesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The walls between neighbouring rooms are so thin that you can hear literally everything going on in the next room, even if not loud. We were lucky on our last night that the couple next to us had a row so weren't speaking to each other.
There was no or very little hot water (less than a minute) every time we used the shower. We asked the staff twice a day to fix it - excuses ranged from too many guests to us not understanding how to use a shower. They only got interested when I said I would deduct something from the bill, even then they didn't manage to fix it.
Located right next to a very busy road with heavy traffic from early morning to late at night. Also a large mosque just over the road so we were woken each morning at dawn by the call to prayer.
Ridiculously expensive minibar.
Nice view from the pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#45 of 108 in Ao Nang
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#10 of 108 in Ao Nang
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BlueSotel Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.9 mi away
Hula Hula Resort
Hula Hula Resort
#55 of 108 in Ao Nang
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#59 of 108 in Ao Nang
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Ao Nang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Ao Nang Resort

Property: The Cliff Ao Nang Resort
Address: 85/2 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Ao Nang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Aonang resort was Vote one of the top 50 most beautiful resort in Thailand by Tourist Authority of Thailand. Once you step inside, the staggering Cliff views will make you suddenly realize why this boutique resort cold not have another name. Here , the comfortable vintage style resort which has 21 luxurious guest rooms set among the lush tropical garden. Discover the truth of Krabi natural beauty, experience real serenity and tranquil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff Ao Nang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Cliff Ao Nang Krabi
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing