We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like living with a big family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort
Ranked #88 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
SG
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's like living with a big family!”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. It was great!
Rooms were hidden among lush greens and koi fishes in ponds surrounding some bungalows. Ourdoor shower was both unique and relaxing.
I would recommend this hotel for its friendly and helpful staff who attended to everything almost immediately (including an email to the hotel informing of flight change just several hours before arrival!), and helped us book our ferry tickets + arrange our pickup service to the pier!
It was a pleasant stay at Ao Nang. Except that there were mosquitoes, the gardens need more tending to and the humidity caused the wood to release a distinct odor.

P/S: the restaurant next door (family run) called Boat Noodles serve excellent food at low prices!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catfishy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    103
    50
    29
    41
See reviews for
30
178
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We booked a last minute trip for our honeymoon and we booked a new hotel in Ao Nang, When we got there there was a building site on 3 sides and constant noise for 12 hours on the first day so I called the travel agent and they moved us to the Cliff.

At the most there were 6 other people staying there so it was like having our own hotel for most of our 10 night stay which was amazing.

The rooms are a little tired and it is due for a refurbishment but are very nice but I just enjoyed the peace we had there.

It was very close to the centre of Ao Nang but you didnt realise it.

They brought us breakfast to our room every morning which was a lovely touch.

We ate lunch there regulary and the food was great.

The staff were lovely and very helpful and we very much enjoyed our stay there.

It was private and peaceful and just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boutiquequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The Cliff Ao Nang was pleasant for about the first two nights, we stayed there four and then couldnt wait to move on. You really get what you pay for, which isnt alot. Facilities are basic, including the restaurant which is basically an outdoor room, if you want to use it they set it up for you and watch you eat... but thats pretty much Thailand. Also please be aware that there are 3 "Cliff" hotels in Krabi, 2 on the same street so specify when booking tours which side of the street you are on. The rooms were clean, not so much the outdoor bathroom, and it takes a while(10 mins) for the hotwater to start working, then the hot water will turn off for about 10 mins and then turn on again. Oh and the toilet was blocked pretty much the whole time. The staff were pleasant enough, and so were the kittens hanging around to watch you eat. For us this is definatly a budget hotel, but not a backpackers, clean rooms, good aircon but nothing special. The breakfast and lunch we had was good, no complaints :) The hotel itself is quite, but fairly close to the road so we could hear traffic most of the time. The location is close to the beach and the main strip, walking distance. Another tip: Be aware of the dvd sellers in Krabi on the main strip along the beach, we got ripped off big time. Count your dvd's before you walk out!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JessandAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I stayed at the Cliff (Clip as it's pronounced by the locals) for 5 nights and it made my trip. Firstly, they upgraded us to a better room which was an amazing bungalow a la thai style. Then we were given complimentary candles and sticks for the room. Breakfast was served in the room, really nice not a great variety. The rest of the bungalows have outdoor showers, just as a heads up, but the entire hotel is really clean and service is excellent. Every day we were given complimentary snacks by the pool and food prices were reasonable. Staff was genuinely nice and always there to help with a smile in their face. Really homey atmosphere and a refreshing change from the impersonal resorts in Phuket and Klong Muang. If you don't mind staying a bit further from the beach - 600 km to Ao Nang beach then this is the option for you!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Churrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at The Cliff for 6 nights and simply loved it! It felt like to be in a small oasis even though the hotel is just steps away from the road. We had small cosy room in the bungalow by the pool, which had outside shower anf offered us some different experiences (every evening around 6.30 there were bats in the shower for around half an hour, so we learned that it was better to take the shower before they arrive or after they leave and had no problem with that afterwards (I only got scared the first evening!!).
The pool was lovely, surrounded by trees and had great views to the cliffs. It was open until 10 p.m., so we could even swim after we were back from dinner. We were lucky because for the first couple of days we saw only few people in the hotel, it really felt private and the pool beloged to us!
Breakfast was very good; staff was friendly and helpful at all times and it made our stay even more enjoyable.
About the location - is 15 min walk to the Ao Nang beach, which isn't that nice but we took longtail boat to Poda island (300 Bath return) and to Phra Nang (160 Bath return) and found really beautiful beaches there.
There is a cheap bamboo restaurant 5 min walk from The Cliff called "Aree ba ba". Staff speak good english and food is tasty. We also liked "Sala Bua - Lo Spuntino", which is 20-25 min walk from the hotel by the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebenciuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We selected this resort based on guest reviews on Tripadvisor, over Sofitel and were not disappointed. It's a very charming place and very peaceful inside. The staff is excellent - service incredible.
Chef Tummanon deserves a special mention. We are vegetarian and imagine the pain when you eat no eggs, no meat, no sea food etc. The chef especially made us vegetarian breakfast separate vessels, ingredients oil et al - for all you veggies, he makes incredible samosas and the Mango salad he made is a must try for all!
This place is complete value. We had a very relaxing and happy time here and would defintely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2010

the cliff ao nang, krabi was absolutely gorgeous. its tiny bungalows were perfectly arranged with every comfort and care. the outdoor bathroom was unlike anything i have ever seen. to me it was heaven, and priced very modestly usd. just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and shopping we also took boats to railay beach. !!!

Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DonnaM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#46 of 108 in Ao Nang
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#10 of 108 in Ao Nang
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#58 of 108 in Ao Nang
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Queen's Bay
Pavilion Queen's Bay
#87 of 108 in Ao Nang
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timber House Resort
Timber House Resort
#68 of 108 in Ao Nang
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Ao Nang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Ao Nang Resort

Property: The Cliff Ao Nang Resort
Address: 85/2 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Ao Nang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Aonang resort was Vote one of the top 50 most beautiful resort in Thailand by Tourist Authority of Thailand. Once you step inside, the staggering Cliff views will make you suddenly realize why this boutique resort cold not have another name. Here , the comfortable vintage style resort which has 21 luxurious guest rooms set among the lush tropical garden. Discover the truth of Krabi natural beauty, experience real serenity and tranquil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliff Ao Nang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Cliff Ao Nang Krabi
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing