We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service needs improvement but decent resort with excellent tour desk help” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service needs improvement but decent resort with excellent tour desk help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is not a five-star plush resort so expectations were not incredible and yet I was a tad bit disappointed.

Frankly, the resort lost points because of the awful service we got from the reception desk. I think half the issue was the diffculties communicating. Example no 1. They wanted to overcharge us (my mother had put down a deposit with her credit card but they wanted the full amount anyway). This was not sorted out despite promises to until we approached them again the day before we had to depart. Finally, the cheif of reservations sorted it out and all was good. *sigh*
2. I had a reception lady upset and basically ticking me off for not liking the room after I told her that the safety box in the room wasn't working. Erhm.
3. Egg station at breakfast did not understand sunny side up. Nor did restuarant manager.
(okay, the last one is a bit pathetic)

The good bits: The room (we got a pavillion bungalow facing the sea) would have been perfect for a couple. (i travelled with my mom to celebrate her birthday). It was large, and had a jacuzzi in this large bath area. Pretty good value for money especially in the low season. The resort is clean and well-maintained.

It sits directly on the beach. Most of the resorts in ao nang don't.The location means that it is a very short stroll to the busy main strip and shops, but at the same time, you have a bit of privacy and quiet, and the sound of surf pounding on the beach as you snooze at night.

Yunitka - who runs the travel tour desk at the resort - is brilliant. VERY helpful and very genuine. She is definitely the go-to girl if anything needs sorted - and she basically helped mother retrieve the email documentation showing the desposits on her own surfing account. (No free Net connection at the resort by the way - and pricey too. 100 B for 30 minutes) And she helped translate when the reception desk simply did not understand the situation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    373
    146
    62
    48
See reviews for
218
360
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed 4 days with my son and family in adjoining rooms. The Resort is well situated on the beach and close to the shopping and restaurants of Ao Nang. The rooms were a good size well furnished but no free wifi. Which is almost but not here the standard.
The breakfast was adequate but not exceptional the omelet bar was the stand out for me.
The swimming pool excellent. Staff were very responsive, had a small problem with a balcony door latch which was taken care of immediately. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazza1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

When we arrived in Krabi, there was a mudslide in the surrounding area. Luckily we reached a day late, they were clearing the mud deposits on the roads in Ao Nang.
The check-in was not a problem. The rooms were ready when we arrived and teh hotel had provided us the ground floor rooms (as requested - my parents cant climb stairs).
Note: the delux room block does not have lifts.
The management informed that there could be power outage that night (as their back-up generator was affected by the recent rains). Luckily this did not happen...
Hot water was not available and we complained. They fixed the leak that afternoon...

The hotel is on the Ao Nang beach, probably the best location in this part.

Breakfast was ok. Nothing to complain about, but nothing exceptional.

The ladies at the travel desk were of great help. Very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEPUGAZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Stayed with family for 5 nights & were lucky to be upgraded to a Pavillion Suite which was new & spacious. Hotel nice with lovely grounds & in good location for walking for shopping restaurants, bars. Found staff friendly & helpful. Grandkids loved the kiddies pool with play toys & balls. Pity there wasn't a kids club. People of all ages staying there. Breakfast good, not huge but enough selection. Would recommend this hotel & would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanga60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Stayed here for two weeks. The pool is really good, well kept clean and good service from the Poolboys. They provided us with pooltowels every day. Our room was clean, quiet. beds hard but I got used to that after the first night. In reception is a tour desk and we got some really good prices going both to Hong Island and Phi Phi by speedboat. The hotel is in an excellent location, by a quiet road near shopping and close to the beach.
Only thing I can criticize about is the service in the restaurant. Everthing work fine on nights that there was a manager around and that was usually when there was some amazing shows, but on regular nights and it was just the waiters, oh my the service was slow. One night we waited over one hour to get our food, it was not busy in the restaurant and one night we just walked out after we didn't get our drinks after waiting almost 30 minutes.
Although the restaurant having problem I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

would definitely recommend this hotel. Amazing location and very good service. Very close to town but quiet enough. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justynagarbacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
268 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Went here three weeks ago when traveling around Thailand (South).
The hotel is beach front (Ao Nang Beach). The staff is not very nice but the view is OK (in front of the beach and just nearby a not very busy road.
Went lunch in the beach front restaurant, which is expensive for Thailand.
You can get better in this area.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#41 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#75 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort

Property: Golden Beach Resort
Address: 254 Moo2, T.Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Golden Beach Krabi
Golden Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing