We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, poorly managed overpriced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disgusting, poorly managed overpriced hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in April 2014. We had prepaid so would have lost our money if we had if moved hotels. On arrival we had to ask for our bedding to be changed as the sheets were torn and had sticky yellow stains on them.
The buffet breakfast consisted of unrefrigerated cold meats which were uncovered and were crawling with flies. Food which had been dropped was left on the floor and not cleaned up. On the second day I requested to speak to the catering manager and explained what a serious health hazard this meat posed as it was just left in the heat, unrefrigerated and uncovered. The following day the meat was covered but not kept cold but by day 3 the covers had just disappeared and the meat was left crawling with flies again.

In the 6 days we stayed at this hotel we never saw a manager. They just let their demoralised staff take all the complaints. Food was just left in the lobby in the floor whilst staff stepped over it. The soft furnishings in the room where filthy and stained and had clearly not been washed for months. The furniture in the lobby had holes in it and was falling apart. A depressing time was spent at this hotel, which was in a good location. But for the sake of a 5 minute walk to the beach, there are much better hotels in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank raffles2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    386
    151
    68
    52
See reviews for
232
375
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. Its location was pretty much perfect, right on the beach, and a short stroll to the main town with its shops, bars, restaurants etc. The pool was gorgeous, and a really good size if you plan to swim lots of lengths. Plenty of sunbeds as well. I felt the standard of the room was very high, minibar, nice balcony, good bathroom and shower. Really nice.
Ms Joop, head receptionist, was very helpful with my emailed booking, and also on arrival was extremely pleasant.

The only reason that I did not give this hotel a five star rating, was that the Internet standard was poor. If you were reasonably close to reception, you can get free Wi-Fi. However from my room, it was weak to say the least, and if I purchased the Krabi Wi-Fi ticket, that was pretty poor as well. For over 3000bht per night that was annoying.

BUT, location location location, absolutely perfect, great rooms of high standard, nice staff, great swimming beach, lovely and clean pool.

Room Tip: B block was great, nice view over pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathanmpsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a lovely time here. The hotel rooms are a bit outdated feels a bit like 3 star in a 4 star price location but having said that, the lovely staff, great pool, quietness and great location make up for it. We stayed in one of the hotel rooms. Had an awesome view over the pool. Yes some of the staff have limited English but a bit of mime and a bit of basic Thai and a smile overcame any difficulties. Breakfast was great. A variety of options with an amusing variety of Thai specialities each day. We were lucky enough to be there over Songkran. The hotel had a "first come first served" show which was free. Not like a compulsory buffet which was lovely and a good night. The concierge staff were very helpful as we had pre-booked tours and car rental but they still helped us with this despite the fact they made no commission. We will happily stay here again :O)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKRWOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Where to start...
Service- shocking, the worst you can get. Not even the most horrible 1 star crapy motel would have a service like this. From front desk to the restaurant. SHOCKING!
The beach- DO NOT BELIEVE WHAT YOU SEE IN THE HOTEL WEBSITE, the beach is horrible. You cannot even see you own feet under the water. Just choose another hotel please or you will waste your money and your holiday!
The hotel- the facilities, rooms, swimming pool are okay.
We have been allover Thailand and this is the first time ever we have experience this absolutely disgraceful, embarrassing service.
Breakfast is poor.
Plus, if you are looking for a place with a nice beachfront where you can jump in Crystal clear water etc... Forget about it! Try Railay beach, much nicer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Paola260477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have just got back from this hotel having spent six nights there with my family, overall I would say I enjoyed my stay but there were a few simple things that they got wrong.

Firstly, the positives:

The location is great, just step over the road at the front of the hotel onto the beach. Not that we used the beach often as the hotel has its own fantastic pool. Our room was really nice, spacious and to a good standard. There was a sound system in the room which you can easily use with your mp3 player if you have a 3.5mm cable (so is definitely worth bringing one of those). The staff were generally friendly and welcoming, I generally never had any issues with checking in or the time it took to get things done).

A few reviews have mentioned issues with all of the loungers being reserved during the day, it was fairly busy whilst we were there and we never had this problem once. Each day we were able to get a lounger with no issues.

Now the not so good:

I cannot believe that a hotel priced as highly as this one does not have decent wifi available, it was intermittent and slow for the first few days and for the last few days I could not connect at all.

No attempt was made for any of the staff to take drink orders around the pool, on the one occasion I approached the ordering point I was greeted by one non-English speaker and two other employees who thought it was hilarious that their colleague was having such difficulty understanding me.

On the last night we decided to order dessert to our room to enjoy whilst packing our bags, bearing in mind it was only 8pm and the restaurant was open for another couple of hours yet I did not expect to find out that 4 of the 6 desserts were no longer available. We ended up ordering ice cream (despite them actually not having all of the advertised flavours) only to receive the wrong quantity and the wrong selection. We sent it back and then after a fruitless conversation on the phone decided to give up. The frustrating part of this episode was that our first choices were dishes that included bananas but were told they had run out of bananas. About two minutes walk from the hotel was a store selling bananas by the bucketload, wouldn't have took much for one of them to walk down there especially as 3 of their 6 desserts contained banana.

When checking out some items appeared on the bill that we had not used from the mini bar, for the sake of a couple of pound I just paid for them rather than having an argument but this is still poor form.

Overall this is a very nice hotel that is well situated, the issues I had can be easily rectified so hopefully they sit up and take notice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank robfjonesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Beachfront resort in Ao Nang, this first stop in our Andaman Sky holiday, who put together a great itinerary at a great price, thanks to them for a wonderful holiday at a great price.This resort is brilliantly located right next to the best bit of Ao Nang beach, near several massage places. The room we got was a Pavilion Suite and our agent requested and got us an upstairs one next to the pool and near to the sea, it's good to be upstairs (only a single flight of stairs) so you get a breeze and privacy, plus it's good to be next to the pool as that way there is more fresh air (the ones behind ours were a bit gloomy and didn't get the breeze like ours. So thanks to our agent for getting us one of the best rooms and thanks to the staff a the Golden Beach for a great stay. The room was spotless, service standards were much higher than I had been led to believe by other reviewers on this website, and the breakfasts were good - can't comment on the lunches and dinners as we almost always are out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fadhil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I live and work in Thailand so I have traveled around the country quite a bit. I have to say that aside from the location, which is great, and the pool area, there is nothing really positive to say about this hotel.

The breakfast, which is not good at all, is served in a fly-infested room. The food is bland and not befitting a "four star" hotel. If I want processed cheese and spaghetti for breakfast I'll go to 7-11. Right, the service is terrible. The girls at the front desk can't even sort out internet, IN THE LOBBY, for you. My mom asked several times for help with getting online, only to be told various lines (the wi fi was "getting fixed", etc). Ah, the rooms are musty and very inadequate for the price. The tv (yes I know you don't go on vacation to watch tv, but I would still like to have CNN or BCC) has about 18 channels, most of which are in Thai. The beds are hard, as are the pillows, and the rooms in general are just very old. Oh, the maid is great, but alas the rooms are not worth the price.

I mentioned previously that the pool area was great, and it was, but what I failed to tell you was that the pool closes at 6pm. Yes, you read that correctly. It doesn't open till about 7am and CLOSES at 6. What kind of hotel closes its pool before the sun even sets? I'm serious about this. What, you're reading your Kindle, waiting to take a few pics of the sunset and they ask you to leave.

I will say though, again, that the beach is close by, as is the downtown area, but like all of Ao Nang, this place simply isn't worth your time or money.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed make sure you ask more than once. We showed up to twin beds, even after ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzermarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 108 in Ao Nang
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#37 of 108 in Ao Nang
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#72 of 108 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort

Property: Golden Beach Resort
Address: 254 Moo2, T.Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Golden Beach Krabi
Golden Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing