We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel made our holiday in Ao nang really special.
We were two couples celebrating our anniversaries. We requested the hotel staff in advance if they could do something special for our anniversaries and they actually upgraded one of our rooms. It was a really beautiful large room with a view of the cliff behind the hotel. The rooms were equipped with everything you could need including - beach slippers, beach towels, and an umbrella each.
The staff at the reception were helpful.
The beach is just a few steps from the hotel. The good part about the beach is it does not have any hawkers or people to bother you.
A few things I did not like was the slightly grey bath towels we got on a few days and though the breakfast buffet had a large variety, I though the quality of the cooked items could be improved.
Overall a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pferrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    386
    151
    68
    52
See reviews for
232
375
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My second time staying at Golden Beach and was previously here in 2011. Rooms are simple and comfortable with all the amenities you need. I believe they have done some renovations so the rooms are much better now! Flat screen tv, great hot water show and a large firm bed (which is what I like) with a cosy blanket.

Breakfast in the morning was a wide variety with the usual noodles, rice, porridge, cereals, and an egg station. Location is convenient yet quiet as it is at the end of the street. Just a 5 mins walk to the main shops and restaurants.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

You should definitely request a room on the second floor. My room was on the first floor and people in the pool had a view into my room if I didn't shut the blinds, and then it was very dark with poor lighting. There was no wifi unless you wanted to pay for it in the lobby. They also were very I accommodating about laundry - charging per item, saying they could not get it done in time for my checkout the next morning when I asked at noon, and saying they didn't know of anther place to get it done when there was one just down the street. The location is sweet and the pool is nice but staff had poor English skills and were not very helpful. For the same price there are much better places near by - you can easily walk to the beach from most of them.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LucyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our first trip to Krabi and had no idea about the place. Got advice on tripadvisor about this hotel and am grateful to everyone who helped us have a wonderful time. There are only two hotels on the best stretch of Ao Nang beach and Golden Beach resort is one of them. We were a family of four adults and had taken two pavilion suites in one bungalow. Rooms were spacious and luxurious. All the good restaurants are around the corner and the fabulous massage huts are at a stone's throw. The staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was great by the Thai standards and the pool was a lovely area. The beach is steps away and has the best view. A little tip about the rooms. We had to extend our stay at this hotel for one night and could only get deluxe rooms which were SUPERB. So you don't have to dish out extra. All in all a real Value for money

Room Tip: A little tip about the rooms.We had to extend our stay at this hotel for one night and could only ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamkinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Golden Beach Resort offers a perfect position directly opposite the beach and adjacent to one of the areas soaring limestone cliffs. We stayed in the older building of the resort. Our rooms, while dated, were well provided with all we needed including bottled water, although the beds were extra hard and the linen, while fresh every day, could do with updating. We were very happy with the location of our rooms, on the ground floor just near the pool.The pool was fine during our rainy season stay, but I think it would be quite crowded if the resort were full.
There are newer, larger Pavilions spread through the extensive grounds of the resort.
There are also more luxurious hotels around, but location, location!
We found the staff very accommodating and friendly especially Sompong the food and beverage manager. As others have mentioned some staff had limited English, but as my Thai consists of a few words I don't find it fair to complain about young people who work hard and are trying to improve their language skills.
Food was good with plenty to choose from at breakfast time.
We loved Ao Nang and enjoyed our stay at Golden Beach Resort

Room Tip: No lift so choose ground floor if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 days and all in all enjoyed our stay. I find the current ranking of the hotel surprising and definately think that the hotel deserves a higher rank.

Pros:
1) Location, Location, Location: Beach Front property which one would not get for most other properties on Aonang beach, krabi..
2) Rooms were very spacious and well done. The bathrooms were clean and large. We had a very pleasant experience with the rooms and the sleep quality was good during our stay.

Cons:
1) No free wifi in the rooms. They provide free wifi which is restricted only to the lobby area. I find this most surprising since its a decently expensive hotel and nowadays even budget hotels are giving free wifi in rooms. SOmebody has to put their heads together on this !!!!
2) Not a big negative but would like to point out that the Front desk staff seemed very lacklustre and tired.. They seemed to be bogged down with tonnes of paperwork which they were going about doing... One should try to smile more and create a better impression on guests ....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumbai_Traveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for a week on the ground level with the balcony facing the pool. The room itself was very spacious and clean. However the TV is 30 years old model, 20" small (time to change). They do provide a mini bar, a safe and 2 beach towels which you can bring it to the beach.
A very nice mid size swimming pool.
They have a relaxing opened air restaurant over looking the beach. Nicely lighted up in the evening. Food is OK and very reasonable priced. Enjoy the dinner with sound of the wave.
The beach is just a lane away from the resort.
The resort is 150 metres away from the main road where there are shops, restaurant, tour agent, bike rental.
Main problem is the wifi......There is NO wifi in the room (have to paid for wifi). They only provide free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#28 of 108 in Ao Nang
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#36 of 108 in Ao Nang
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#71 of 108 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort

Property: Golden Beach Resort
Address: 254 Moo2, T.Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Golden Beach Krabi
Golden Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing